REYNOLDS COLLECTORS' WORLD


LINCOLNSHIRE POST OFFICES ALPHABETICAL ARCHIVE

 

Historical information relating to Lincolnshire Post Offices has been compiled.  The data contains names of people who were Subpostmaster/Subpostmistress/Receiver/Postmaster, the locations of the Post Offices and the services provided.

This archive is being gradually improved if you don't find the information you require or can offer any new information or photographs. Unfortunately due to a lack of web space I have had to remove some of the photographs and details of mail collection times.  If you are interested to know whether we have a photographs of a particular office or are interest in collection times please contact us.

A more up to date version of this site can be found at LINCOLNSHIRE POST OFFICE ARCHIVE



 Email to SONIA-AND-ANDREW-REYNOLDS@bigfoot.com or send by Royal mail

or email to a.reynolds551 at btinternet.com


We can possibly provide additional details as much information has yet to be entered. 

For a comprehensive history of a typical Lincolnshire Post Office see the entry for North Somercotes.

 

Site first posted on 24th April, 1999. 
Site last improved  September, 2013 information on Hogsthorpe, Burgh Road Skegness, Pincushion and Wyberton added.
April, 2013 more information on Old Leake
December, 2012 information on Grimsby Post offices being added.
13th  November, 2011 new information on Cherry Willingham, Fish Docks Grimsby, New Clee.
July, 2011 Revised/new information on Bardney, Brook Street Grantham, East Halton, Laceby, Rippingale, Skegness offices, West Keal. Extensive information on the Grimsby offices gradually being added.
November, 2010 New information on Anderby, New Bolingbroke, Old Bolingbroke
September, 2010 New information on Bardney, Edenham, Old Bolingbroke, Silk Willoughby
March/April, 2010 North Somercotes history updated, new information on Aby Binbrook, Ludborough, Withern
November, 2009 new information on Gedney Hill, Honington, Horbling, Horkstow, Lutton, Whaplode Drove and Yarburgh.
March 2009 new information on Eaudykes Friskney, Fosdyke, Friskney, Great Carlton, Huttoft, Markby, Sloothby
February, 2009 new information on Barrow Haven, New Leake with Eastville, Old Leake.
December, 2008 new entries for Benington, Deeping St. Nicholas, Fosdyke, South Reston, Tongue End, Welton Le Wold. Additional information on Coleby, East Kirkby, East Common Lane, Scunthorpe, South Reston, South Somercotes, Threekingham, Thurlby, Walesby.
December, 2007 new entries for Threekingham, Thurlby and additional information on Bardney, Barkston, Belton, Branston, Brant Broughton, Castle Bytham, Claxby, Corby Glen, Folkingham, Great Hale, Heckington, Lutton, Rippingale, S. Witham, Swayfield, Washingborough, Wybers Wood
June, 2007 entries for Elkington, Fotherby, Freeman Street. Deeping St. James, Utterby and additional information for Authorpe, Gosberton Risegate, Legbourne, Market Deeping, Moulton and Surfleet,
March, 2007 entries for Bardney, Horncastle, Saleby, Somerby, South Thoresby, Southrey, Strubby and Swaby and additional information for Victor Street, Queens Parade and Fotherby.
July, 2006 entry for Newton on Trent, Winterton and Wintringham added
April, 2006 entry for Bitchfield, Ingoldsby and Kirkby La Thorpe completed. Information on Louth area offices extended.

We apologize for any spelling or other errors, some of this information has just been typed at time of acquisition.  It is being continually checked and corrected. It should be noted that the Business Directories only list mail times until 1913. Lack of web space has meant that we have had to remove most of these times. Please contact us if you are interested in mail collection times. Offices are listed alphabetically but Town Sub Offices are listed under the appropriate town or city. For the latter quarter of the 19th Century and most of the 20th century the term Subpostmaster or Subpostmistress has been used to describe someone who runs a post office that is not a Head Office/Crown Office and was paid on a scale payment system. Earlier in the 19th Century the directories use the term receiver or postmaster instead.  Both terms seem to refer to the same appointment although generally speaking Postmaster tended to be used for the larger offices where the sole income of the appointee was derived from the Post Office business. Receiver would be more appropriate for small offices not offering Money Order or Savings bank business who mostly just received and dispatched their village mail. In the late 20th Century the term Postmaster has also been more widely used instead of Subpostmaster. In modern times the word Agent is also used as the Subpostmaster is not employed by Post Office Limited but is only appointed as an agent. There are also agents at offices, usually formerly directly managed /crown Offices where a franchise has been offered to the new owner 

return to menu page.

Go to letter E

Go to letter G

Go to letter L

Go to letter N

Go to letter R

LINCOLNSHIRE POST OFFICES ALPHABETICAL ARCHIVE ABY TO DYKE

ABY

POPULATION 1841 285, 1851 394, 1861 407, 1871 450, 1881 352, 1891 315, 1901 267, 1911 253, 1921 278, 1931 240,

1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1893 to Aby probably to cancel these, although orders could only be issued but not paid. This is probably the year the Post Office opened in the village but there is no reference to a Post Office in the Kelly's Directories for 1892 and 1896. The 1900 Kelly's Directory lists Inman West as Subpostmaster,baker, draper and grocer. A basic range of Post Office services was provided and mail was received from and dispatched to Alford. (D) Mrs. West ran the P.O. But Mrs. Brown thinks a Mr. Wallis owned the properties of Aby and S. Thoresby Post Offices. The Post Office was sited at the corner of the East side of the South end of New St. (B) The 1905 Directory lists Mrs Maude M. West as Subpostmistress with Inman still running the retail business. As with most basic offices by 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid at the office. I am not sure why the appointment was transferred from Husband to wife but possible Maude had run the Office since it was opened and this just formalised things. (D)

Mrs. West had the Post Office until 6th May, 1922. A brief typed letter from the Postmaster Louth (interestingly not from Alford) was sent to Mrs. Brown advising her of the transfer of the Post Office on that date and advising her that an official would be sent form Louth to affect the transfer. A Photograph was taken shortly after the transfer - shows Browns mother, Mrs. Kidd shop assistant, Edgar Featherstone bakery boy and Mr. & Mrs. Brown. Mrs. Brown ran the Post Office from 1922-1956. Mrs. Browns daughter thought her father had been offered Aby or S. Thoresby P.O. after the bankruptcy of Mr. Wallis? A basic range of Post Office services was offered except that there was a telephone kiosk in the shop. (B) The 1926 Kelly's Directory confirms that Mrs Annie Brown was Subpostmistress and H. Brown was a baker. By 1930 a Telephone call office facility was provided. (D)

Mr.& Mrs. Brown's three daughters were bringing up families so were not interested in taking over. The appointment passed to Mrs. Tabor who was born Miss West, daughter of Inman West. At that time the Post Office was sited in New Street at Chapel Cottage. Mrs. Tabor ran it until her death in 1977. Her husband Len Tabor, recently retired from the railways continued for a short period. The office was closed for a time c1977 (B) The office then passed probably in 1977 to N. G. Thompson. (R). Mr. & Mrs. Barrett then ran it for 3 years on the final site a general store situated in New Street. Mrs. Holness took over at present site c1983. The owner decided to close the Post Office and shop in 1990. (D)

 Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D) Mrs. Brown (B) NFSP RECEIPT 22/10/1977 N. G. Thompson (R)

ALFORD

POPULATION 1921 2,258

According to Post Office Records the office opened by 1770 with mail received from and dispatched to Boston. An undated circular datestamp was provided on 3rd June, 1841.  Money Order and Post Town status was granted on 6th November, 1844.

1849- Market Place, letters from London, Bishop Stortford, Boston, Cambridge, Ely, Harlow, March, Newport Pagnell, Northampton, Oundle, Peterborough, Stamford and Wisbech, arrive by rail 4am despatched 9pm. Box closes 8pm 1d late fee to 8.30, 2d late fee to 8.45. Money orders granted and paid 9-6 not Sunday. Messengers at 6.30am to Beesby, Huttoft, Trustthorpe and Withern and return 7pm

(OB95) allocated

Post Bikes in Alford museum. Present site at 123 West Street, just east of museum. 1933 Kelly’s lists a POST, M.O., T. & T.E.D. OFFICE owner as E. CARTER Postmaster and Distributor of Inland Revenue Stamps. Originally a Crown Office with a sorting office at the rear. It was moved to this site in the 1920's and was rented until 1950's. Colin Raithby was the first Subpostmaster, having previously been a P.O. clerk in Grimsby. He was appointed in 1980 or 1981. Mr. Jeremy Webb then took over on 28th August, 1987. The sorting office was moved to a purpose built office on the industrial estate c1991/1992. Three position office also selling stationery and cards. MVL and data post office, and also resets franking machines. Anglian Water area but on northernmost part of East Midlands Electricity area (but not the agent) but also sells Yorkshire Electricity tokens as demand from surrounding villages to north. Uses Capture computer system and self inking date stamps from 23/11/1994. Took on the lottery outlet for the town when the local newsagents went bankrupt in 1996. Closes on Thursday PM but lottery terminal in retail area of the shop open to 19.30 on Wednesday and Saturday.

 

ALKBOROUGH

POPULATION 1921 432

Early site in Front Street at the S.W. corner of Cross Lane. In 1927 Frank Drinkall was Subpostmaster having taken the business over from his employer Matthew Car. His sons Arnold and Billy (William) worked in the business.(L) 1933 Kelly’s lists a POST, M.O., T. & T.E.D. OFFICE, letters from SCUNTHORPE, owner as  J. DRINKALL Draper & Post office. Arnold took over the joinery side of the business and Billy became Subpostmaster, probably by 1945. Frank died c1957(MO-WH) Billy resigned by 1959, his son Roy not being interested in the business. At this time the Post Office was sited on the corner part of the building, but one of the subsequent owners moved it south to the other part of the building.(N) He was replaced by the Tomlinsons, then by Mrs. Wells who left to go to Harrogate. Mr. & Mrs. Settle were next to own it and were there in 1980 and ran it for quite a few years. Mrs. Pratt was the next Subpostmistress assisted by her daughter and her family. They ran it for c2 years before handing it on to a N. Humberside couple Wilma (who originally came from Uganda) and Sid. The final owner Mrs. Blanchard who had it for 2 years replaced them. Carol Cox appointed Subpostmistress in January, 1990. Post office moved to the existing Caranda Craft Shop at 5 Cross Lane to avoid it being closed. Also sold cards and stationery. Opened as a C/A Community Office open 9-12.30 TUE, WED, FRI, 9-12.30 1-5.00 THUR. When the only other Shop in the village closed in 1994 the shop area was extended to the rear and groceries and sweets added.(C) Office closed 5th November, 2005. (D)

INFO Mr. Leeson? old resident (L), W. Drinkalls niece (N), Mrs Cox (C) Own information/Directories/Ken Smith (D)

 

ALLINGTON

POPULATION 1921 217

An undated circular datestamp was provided on 6th May, 1847.  The office closed between 1867 and 1885 and a rubber datestamp was provided in 1889 (S). Probably from 1885 and certainly by 1914 the office was located at the present site on the green (A). 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grantham C. Handley Shopkeeper & Post Office. A telegraph was provided (Code AUI) on 1st February, 1934 (S). Peter and Margaret had the office in 1990 (M). By 1992 Mrs. Jackie Bell had been appointed (D). Melanie Asquith was appointed Subpostmistress in March, 1999.  Opening hours in 2003 were 09.00 –17.45 MON-FRI except WED 09.00-12.00 and SAT 09.00-12.00.  Normal post office services are provided plus National Lottery Instants. Together with her husband Raymond they have completely refitted the shop and Post Office and provided a facility that the village can be proud of and should make every effort to support (A). In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Information myself (A), Ken Smith from P.O. Records (S), M. Asquith (M)

 

ALTHORPE

POPULATION 1921 689

According to Post Office records the office opened on 24th November, 1845.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post M.O. & Tel Call Office Letters From Scunthorpe Miss A. Stratton Grocer, Draper & Post Office                                                                                                                                                            Later Community Office

 

ALVINGHAM                                                                                                                                                              

POPULATION  1851 317, 1861 350, 1871 353, 1881 267, 1891 251, 1901 249, 1911 260, 1921 225, 1931 203,

According to Post Office Records the office opened in 1868. The first entry relating to the Post Office is in the 1872 White’s Directory with Mr. P. White being listed as blacksmith and Postmaster. Mail was delivered from Louth. About 1892 Mrs. Eliza Ann White was listed as Subpostmistress, probably Mr. P’s her husband(?) had died.   A Rubber datestamp was supplied in 1897 to enable postal orders to be franked when issued. By 1900 Charles Dowse had been appointed and as he was also a blacksmith this would probably be on the same site. A resident recalls that by 1910-1920 Mr. & Mrs. Dowse had the Post Office in a cottage with room down step. It was sited on the east side of the road, opposite some council houses coming from Yarborough. By 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid at the office. By 1933 the office could also be used as a telephone call office. Mr. Dowse continued until at least 1937. Later it was situated what was the one village shop. Mr. Bob Trafford was the Subpostmaster at his General Stores. He was the son of Percy Trafford the brother of Charles Owen Trafford who ran Saltfleet Post Office. When he closed the office moved to Alvingham Pottery in 1997, Mr. Dominic Duffy was the Subpostmaster until it closed on 14/1/1998

Info Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith.

 

AMBER HILL

POPULATION 1921 502

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1885.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Boston no owner listed

Sited in the one shop in the village. There by 1959. Was later closed for a period but reopened by 1999.

 

AMCOTTS

POPULATION 1921 292

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1894.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Scunthorpe J. Chapman Tailor & Post Office

Later Community office

 

ANCASTER

POPULATION 1921 566

According to Post Office records the office opened on 29th September, 1846.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham E. Hiley Grocer & Post Office

GJC Creedy Subpostmaster from 10/1990

info GC

 

ANDERBY

POPULATION 1921 364

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1880.  Mail was received from and delivered to Alford. (D)

The location of the above picture is at TF53006 75670, on the north side of Sea Road, just east of a bungalow which used to be called 'The Apiary'. (N) Later the Post Office was located in a large shop/house building next to a large cottage house opposite to the telephone box. In 1990 still filled with 'N' shaped counter in wood with many shelves and square wooden draws for various drugs. Used to have large glass bottles and tea containers. Mr. Ward had P.O. and then Mrs. Ward who was c80 in 1920. In 1920's Mr. Frank Hill came from Alford in a motorcycle with sidecar box to deliver mail. 2nd lot brought in afternoon to P.O., had to be collected. Not a mailwork office. Mrs. Ward not Subpostmistress for long after Mr. Ward died. Was a chemists by then. Then Mrs. Clark, Mrs. Wards niece Subpostmistress. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office, Letters From Alford Mrs. E. Clark Shopkeeper & Post Office Then Mrs. Clark's daughter Mrs. Epton. Mrs. Epton there c1940-c1970. She had a grocery, sweets and cigarettes shop. Mail came from Skegness - after 2WW? Then Mrs. Crow Subpostmistress in Jasmine House. She had helped Mrs. Epton in latter years first to balance on Friday and then also to help on Thursday. Mrs. Epton not too god at responding to the bell in the shop, she came when she was good and ready. At Jasmine House front door used at first to gain access to front dining room, then door put directly into front dining room and part of room partitioned off with bandit screen. Non C/A office but at end P.O. asked her to go C/A and have NSB and Girobank, so gave her notice. Had been F/T hours. There 11 years. P.O. now at separate room of bungalow at E. End of village. Subpostmistress Mrs. S. Owen since 2/8/1982. Closed all day WED and SAT PM. Also a caravan site and does B&B. Since closed. (D)

 

Die E7/42

 Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith. (D) N. Sisson (N)

ANWICK

POPULATION 1921 248

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1870.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office, Letters From Sleaford Owner not listed

Mrs. Anderson ran Post Office from a house in Church Lane, across the road and to the west of the church. Mrs Doreen Preston then took over P.O. at the thatched blacksmiths in Main St. to east of present site. She moved the P.O. to its Present site at 1A River Lane in a shop purpose built in 1983 originally as a lawnmower shop to west of Blacksmiths. Carol McCabe Subpostmistress and her husband moved from Bedfordshire to take over P.O., by then converted to a general stores in 1986. Mrs. McCabe had had some experience working in a P.O. before they moved. Shop opens from 0730-1900 daily and SUN 9.00-1300. They didn't want to open on a Sunday but as it is on the road to Skegness it can sometimes be the best days takings. The shop is therefore quite tying. They sell groceries, confectionery etc and also do fast food, cheeseburgers, sandwiches and the like. As the one shop in the village they can pick and choose which reps they deal with. Newspapers are supplied to order. An off licence is operated and from experience they sell a limited number of basic lines and take orders at Christmas. Nearby is a Padleys poultry-processing factory and the many employees patronise the shop. Shop was clean and welcoming and they have an exterior neon sign to let passers by know that they are open. P.O. is a F/T C/A office in the Peterborough District. When Carol took over it did not operate a savings Bank. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

 

info Mr & Mrs McCabe.

 

APPLEBY

POPULATION 1921 768

According to Post Office records the office opened on 10th January, 1846.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Scunthorpe Owner not listed.

Closed after 1977.

 

ASHBY-CUM-FENBY

POPULATION 1921 205

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1902.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grimsby Miss. M. Pearce Shopkeeper & Post Office. (D)

On corner of main road/w side post office Lane until c1960 now demolished. Two ladies were involved in business. Post Office moved to Woodlands, bottom of Chapel Lane. May have been as early as 1955.  The Subpostmistress died in 1983 and her nephew Robert helped to run it while she was in hospital and for a period after she died.  Margaret Parker the daughter in law of the former Subpostmistress was appointed initially at Woodlands but by the time I visited in 1989 the office had moved c1985-1987 in Chapel Lane to a new bungalow . Mail work office but by 1996 mail work had been moved to Waltham from Immingham, probably about 1985. The post office operated in the front room with the Horizon Keyboard and screen on a moveable counter with air mail and “potato” type weighing scales. (P) Final opening hours were Monday 09.00 – 13.00. Tuesday 09.00-12.30, 14.00-17.30, Thursday 09.00-1300 introduced just before introduction of Horizon.. Proposed for closure in October, 2007 as part of the closures plan and closed shortly about February, 2008. (D)

 Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith. (D) M. Parker

ASHBY-DE-LA-LAUNDE  See Digby Aerodrome

 

ASHBY PUERORUM

POPULATION 1921 118 

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1888.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Original post office in cottage in front garden of present site. This cottage was demolished in the early 1960's and the present post office house was constructed. The post office is thought to have been on the present site by 1914. The Sandall family ran it. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Horncastle but no Owner listed. By 1940 Mrs Sandall took over and ran it until 1956 when her daughter Mrs. Jackson took over. Mr. Jackson the current 1990 Subpostmaster took over when his wife died in 1983. Situated in an isolated agricultural community which has seen a decline in population over the years and is probably one of the smallest communities to have a P.O. Mr. Jackson converted it from a full-time to a community office opening 10-12 on MON, WED and FRI in c1988.

 

ASLACKBY

POPULATION 1921 354

According to Post Office records the office opened on 5th September, 1846.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Folkingham E. Bates Boot Repairer And Post Office.

Closed 05/04/1993

 

ASWARBY

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1872.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed by 00/02/1966

 

ASWARDBY

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1946.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Mrs. Davey thought to have set up the P.O. probably after 2WW. Mr. Bassaires Subpostmaster 18m or 2 years. Then Mr. Brian Pinnion Subpostmaster from August 1987. Hours 9-1 M-F P/T up to AUG 1987. Then reduced to 9-12.30 Community Office but actually opens 9-5.30 by Subpostmaster by voluntary agreement with Post Office. Premises used to be 2 cottages. P.O. now in original kitchen with wall knocked into other kitchen for other part of stores. Despite only 39 voters in an isolated rural location a full range of general stores items is offered. This continued until c1997 when the Pinnion’s children had grown up.  Hilary Haynes then ran the office for a further two years from the north-west most cottage of a row of three.  She decided to close the office in 1999 and work as a supply teacher.

 

AUBORN

POPULATION 1921 274

 

Auborn post office opened later than many other post offices and probably didn't open until 1894 or 1895.  A rubber hand stamp was provided in 1896 so the new postal orders could be sold and endorsed.  Kelly's directory of 1900 lists the owner as T. Wood, Subpostmaster, grocer, butcher and carrier (a carrier was someone who took goods in a cart or van to the local town probably once a week).  Letters came from Lincoln at 7.50am and were despatched at 5.10pm.  The office was at the entry level just selling stamps and issuing postal orders.  Other offices paid P.O's, did Savings Bank, and paid Money orders etc.(AR)  A Mr. Reynolds may possibly have taken office in 1900 after the directory was published.(JR)  No owner is listed in Kelly's 1933 directory but a telephone call facility has been installed by then. I went into the post office when it was open.  It used to be in the small general shop right in the middle of the village.  It faced north on the south side of the one-way section of road with the traffic flowing west to east.  The office closed on 30/01/1992.(AR)

Information Myself (AR),  Jane Rogers (JR)

 

AUNBY

By 1875 closed between 1888 and 1890

 

AUNSBY

POPULATION 1921 108

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1931.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post And M.O. Office Letters From Sleaford, Owner not listed

Closed 20/07/1988 

 

AUTHORPE

POPULATION 1842 121, 1851 126, 1861 134, 1871 186, 1881 159, 1891 119, 1901 125, 1911 130, 1921 110, 1931 112,

By 1882 pillar box installed. According to Post Office records as Post Office offering basic services was opened in 1888. By 1892 Harry Sharpe was listed as Shoemaker, Coal Merchant & Subpostmaster. Site was originally a Chapel and Sunday school room(R). Coal taken on a round from yard at station by horse and Dray (F). Mail from Louth in 6.30 out 7pm. Week days only. By 1896 in 6.45, out 6.55pm. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1897 to cancel these and this may well be the date they commenced sale here but they could not be paid. They were on sale here by 1900. Mention in 1905 that no delivery of letters on Sundays P.O.'s being Issued and paid and of him being an overseer. By 1909 mail in 6.45, out 7.20pm.. By 1926 referred to as a shopkeeper only. By 1933 P.O. and Tel. call office and by 1937 Mrs Sarah Jane Sharp his wife listed as Shopkeeper and Subpostmaster.(R). She was a Sunday school teacher and died before 2WW. (F) Postman used to cycle from Louth via Cawthorpe and Mukton and have a hut near the piggeries (F). Their daughter Mrs. Maud Craft nee Sharp became Subpostmistress.(D,F). She continued to run shop and sold paraffin until she died in August 1967. Shop then closed (D) Drewery's had been looking for a cottage to do up in their native Nottinghamshire but most of the places they saw had already been converted so Lincolnshire considered. Elaine not keen on the idea of a P.O. but bought the place because the gardens were floral and she bought the place because she fell in love with the stables.(D) Roy Drewery Subpostmaster from November 1967 until 4th August 1974 when Elaine took over following divorce. Xmas mail deliveries first 3 years. Non C/A office to Louth. Stamps P.O.'s and dockets only. Elaine freely admits to being hopeless at adding up and not paperwork minded. Her first love is her 'Dogs Haircuts' parlour and the hedgehog rescue centre she operates. She would have closed the P.O. years ago if it were not required as a service by the villagers, though the income does help to pay the bills. A lozenge and name has been provided but the office has that unkempt countryside feel about it and Elaine doesn't feel that the P.O. deserves any better treatment than the rest of the premises. Following requests the P.O. serving area has been separated from the dog parlour, at first only by paper. The small area now partitioned off by a wooden screen was considered by Angela Hewitt (at the height of her bulk) to be too small. Elaine wrote back that it was big enough for her and her relief and he should test it with someone of normal size! Office closed 22nd May, 1999.  (D)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (R) Elaine Drewery (D) and Mrs Forman. (F) Check gravestones.

 

BAINTON

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1883.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed 31/01/1983

 

BARDNEY

POPULATION  1801 703,  1881 1,393, 1891 1,378, 1901 1,417, 1911 1,302, 1921 1,373,

 

The 1842 Post Office Directory lists a William Cockett as a grocer and draper. (R) William was born in 1795 in March, Cambridgeshire and married Rachael (born c1798) from the same area. Their son John was born in Potterhanworth in 1838 so they must have moved to Bardney between then and 1842. (G) Mail was received from and delivered to Wragby but a Post Office is not mentioned as such.  According to Post Office records an undated circular datestamp was provided on 13th August, 1845 with Lincoln as the dispatching and receiving office, so this may well have been the date the Post Office formally opened here. On 1st March 1849 the dispatching and receiving office was altered to Wragby, though in practise it appears that mail was sent by this office from the outset. The 1849 Directory lists Cockett as a grocer, draper and receiver of letters. Mail was received from Wragby by mailcart, although by 1855 the Directory mentions that mail was being brought by footpost.  Perhaps the mail cart originated in Lincoln and went via Wragby but from March, 1849 the mailcart stopped at Wragby or continued to a different destination and Bardney’s mail was then brought by foot. A new undated circular datestamp was provided on 15th October, 1857, possibly because the existing one still mentioned Lincoln.

The range of services were extended beyond that of a basic post office when Money Order business could be conducted from 2nd April, 1860 from 9th December, 1861 Savings Bank business which is about the time this type of business was first introduced. By 1868 John Cockett (D) (the second eldest son of William (G)) had been appointed as Subpostmaster. (D) William had died on 7th May, 1865 so that may be when William was appointed. Rachael, William's wife died in 1869. (G) By this time the business was that of a grocer, draper and dealer in linseed oil and cotton cakes. (D) The location of the office may have changed between 1842 and c1900 but personally I think this is unlikely. However, the name of the street does alter and none of these street exist now. Records show that in 1851 is was in Witham Street, in 1861 Ferry Road, 1871 Ferry Road, 1881 High Street, and 1891 Ferry Road. (G) As the ferry was replaced by a bridge in the 1890's Ferry Road may well be what is currently known as Station Road. John and Thomas were both involved in the business (D) and were both sons of William with Thomas being born in 1834. There were 8 children in all. John married Maria Elizabeth (nee Brown) and they had nine children. (G) In 1870 the mail arrangements were again altered and mail was received from and dispatched to Lincoln. According to Post Office records Bardney was added to the list of towns using obliterators when No. 161 was allocated in 1874.  Five Lanes a small village in Cornwall had formerly used this number. Another postmark researcher though does not think Bardney used No. 161 until 1885.  The range of services was further enhanced by 1882 when a telegraph was installed.   

By this time only John was involved in the business, now just a grocer and draper although by 1885 he was also an Agent of Gilbey’s wines and spirits. In common with other Savings Bank Offices Annuity and Insurance Business could be conducted by 1889. By 1896 the range of services was further extended to include Telegraphed Money Orders and Express Delivery. (D) Florence the daughter of John and Maria born 1879 was also involved with the Post Office. She was listed in 1901 census as being a telegraphist so she may have continued to be employed by the new Subpostmistress. Family recollections are that “Auntie Flo was not only a beauty but a genius!  So I can understand her grasping the new technology so quickly.  I mean, she was only 22!” (G)


The 1900 Kelly’s also list as at most offices Parcel Post (introduced in 1883 and probably conducted here from shortly after that date). Also by that date Miss Mary Ann Richardson had been appointed Subpostmistress. As she was also listed as a stationer it is likely the location of the office changed when she took over. (D) John Cockett died in 1907. (G) By 1909 Miss Richardson had become Mrs. Pottinger (D) and Mrs. Chapman confirmed that she had been Subpostmistress. She remembers her as Subpostmistress and that her son was also there. Mrs. Chapman thinks Mr. Frank Holmes was Subpostmaster by the 1920's.  The office was located at site of present butchers in Silver Street. A telephone exchange had been installed by then. The directories list Mrs. Pottinger in the 1922 edition and that by 1926 Telephonic Express Delivery was being offered but no owner is listed.  The 1930 Directory lists Holmes as a stationer but no specifically Subpostmaster.  It is not until 1933 that F. Holmes is listed as Stationer and Subpostmaster. Holmes was still in charge in 1937 and the telephone is listed as TN1. (D) Mr. Jubb then Subpostmaster for 2 years.  He  moved P.O. to a rented site in Station Road opposite the Catholic Church. Mrs Gresham then Subpostmistress  for 2 years. (C)

Mrs. Chapman appointed in 1945 and was Subpostmistress for 27 years. Mr. Gallup HPM at Lincoln interviewed her. She bought the present site, 2 & 4 Silver Street in 1947, and after P.O. had inspected premises to see if they were suitable the P.O. moved. At first P.O. in present middle part of shop formerly a cobblers. Sorting office was in kitchen. Then when lease on butchers in part of her premises expired Mrs. Chapman took this over and made one large shop with P.O. counter at present site where the butchers shop was. 4 mail rounds were undertaken on bikes including to Southray. Mail and parcels were taken by barrow to be put on a train at lunchtime and night or on Sundays on the 4pm bus. Extra barrow borrowed to cope with Christmas parcels, many more parcels that at present. Open Sunday to 10.30 at first, mail delivered on Xmas day but not Boxing Day. Extra mail brought in from post boxes for date stamping at Xmas. Sugar factory employed a large number of Irishmen, which was good for NSB business as they saved their money up to take or TMO home. NSB cross sheet for books not from home office. 4 transactions per page more information recorded on cross entry than on normal sheet. Telegrams delivered. Mrs. Chapman remembers delivering an urgent telegram concerning some potatoes in the snow to a farm. When she arrived the people were standing round drinking and asked her if she would like a cup of tea. To her horror it was presented in a filthy billy can! Some telegrams had to be taken across by chain ferry at Southray. When Wragby was closed half-day telegrams could be delivered to Apley. Telephone boxes used to be emptied including the one at the airfield. This later became an American Rocket Base and Mr. Todd had to be given special permission to deliver mail there. P.O. burgled twice during their time once there was a tip off and police were waiting. Mrs. Todd, Mrs. Chapman’s daughter Subpostmistress 1972- June 1986. Mrs. Pat Deaton was the current Subpostmistress from 1986 until 2004 By 1990 the services available had been extended to include MVL’s and the office also offers datapost. 3 mail rounds 2 ladies on bicycles and a van for outlying areas and Southray. Mail from Lincoln at 6.50. Kitchen knocked through to provide additional shop space and sorting office provided in a room behind counter. Pat retired in 2004 to be replaced by Irene Hewitt who had been involved in the business for some years. On transfer the half day and lunchtime closing were removed.  By 2007 a cash machine had been installed and in February, 2007 Euro’s on demand were offered.  Chemist probably has photographs.

 SID’s bought about 2002.

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (R) Mrs Chapman (C) Ms Tara Gill (G)



 

BARDNEY R.A.F. P.O.

Opened in 1943, mail dispatched to and received from Lincoln.  The office closed 30th November, 1945.

 

Information Ken Smith

 

BARHOLM POPULATION 1921 189

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1907.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Stamford Owner not listed.

Closed 1966

 

BARKSTON(e)

POPULATION 1921 409

According to Post Office records the office opened on 29th December, 1841.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grantham Mail To Syston Owner not listed.

Office located in a general stores at 5 Church Street (the west side) probably much longer than 1990. In 1992 the Subpostmaster was R J Pimperton. (D) In 1995 Mave Streeter was appointed. (S) Opening hours in 2007 were 08.30-13.00 14.00-17.30 MON-FRI except TUE 08.30-17.00, SAT 08.30-13.00. The one position counter is located in the N.E. corner of the building.  The office floor is higher than the shop floor and parcels and packets are accepted through a hatch under the counter. In December, 2007 office being considered for closure as part of the 2,500 closure programme.

 

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). M. Streeter (S)

BARNACK

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

 

BARNETBY

POPULATION 1921 1,626

According to Post Office records the office opened on 21st July, 1855 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied..  Mail was received from and delivered to

(OB932 1885) Mails office Sited at N.W. Corner of (Old) Post Office Lane and East Street (now Queen St.)(L,H), run by Moss Family (H), Sited there at start of 1WW and moved by 1924(L). During or shortly after the War the Husband or Mrs. Annie Davis returned from the war with ill health (gas poisoning?) and was advised to get a job with fresh air. He became the manager of the COOP at Barnetby. This proved too much for him and Annie needed to secure employment. He brother was at the Head Post Office in Grimsby and either suggested her becoming a Sub postmistress or knew a vacancy was occurring/ assisted her to gain the appointment. Initially the P.O. was sited in the front room of No. 69 Silver Street (the last house on the east side of the terrace) but by c1920 had moved to No. 12 Kings Road (on the east side just N. of what was then the level crossing. The office had a telephone exchange on one wall and a telephone kiosk. By c1933/34 Mr. (Charles) Herbert Davis her son had taken over a Subpostmaster. The 1933 Kelly’s directory lists Mrs. A. Davis as Stationer & Post Office. The services offered were Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D.  Mail delivery to Somerby is specifically mentioned.

The P.O. was again moved to a flat roofed extension to No. 18 Victoria Road. During the war years mail was handled from Elsham Airfield. His wife Alice took over as sub postmistress, possibly when the telephone exchange was taken away and Herbert worked as a telephonist at Scunthorpe c1964. He died in January, 1966. Susan Herring daughter of Herbert and Alice and Sister in law of Greta Herring at Scothern took over as Sub postmistress c1972. She remembers in earlier years her mother or father suddenly finding her mother or father saying they were going to the toilet to look up and find there was someone who they knew would require a difficult telegram transmitting. She remembers doing one in Welsh, doing telegrams from a man who used to place bets. The horse’s names being so unusual they had to be spelt letter by letter. There was also a Southern Irish Gentleman who used to send telegraph money orders. She found him difficult to understand, had to write out the forms for him and the names were unusual and difficult to spell. She bought the former COOP building and moved the P.O. to it's present site no long after. Four postmen employed. Two starting at 04.50 to sort the mail then round in village, round to Melton (cycle?) and cycle round to villages Bigby to Grasby. Parttime post woman worked at Grasby. The 4th postman collected from Grasby in the afternoon. The incoming mail was sorted, the local mail sorted out and all hand franked. A specially constructed had cart (narrower than usual to gain access at one of the sites) was used to take the mail to the station. Telephone exchange was moved across road to adjacent to No.15 Kings Road and it had to be manned continuously. (A) Mrs. Alice Davis and Mr. Herbert Davis had P.O. at 18 Victoria Road. (A) P.O. moved to 27 Victoria Road (G)

Mrs. Gillian Adair (known as Jill because a twin - Jack and Jill) appointed in November, 1976, she took the title because her husband was still completing his time in the army. He then worked the office with her. If the office got short of money they would borrow it from the butcher. In 1976 £300 was the maximum allowed in the safe on Saturday night, money in excess of this had to be sent off. Duty started at 05.15 at first and later at 05.45 (earlier than most offices) Mr. and Mrs. Adair used to alternate the getting up. She used to carefully check the registered letters as per instructions - she thought many other offices left the postmen to get on with things and hope nothing would go wrong. The postman started at 04.45 to go to station to pick up mail. Mail Rounds at that time were 1. Bicycle Round in village, 2. Moped Round to Melton Ross, New Barnetby, Kirmington Vale, Quarry and Stonecroft Cheshire Home, 3. Van round to Bigby, Somerby, Searby, Owmby and Grasby. Her post lady was attacked one day. One sealed bag of mail was dispatched to station and later Telephone Bills and packets also had to be kept in separate bags. There were sometimes problems with the midday mail towards the end as the guard sometimes refused to accept it claiming he had nowhere to keep it secure. The mail then had to wait until the evening or a van had to attend from Brigg. Mail ceased to go by train c1990. Mrs. Adair enjoyed running the P.O., though things got less friendly and more difficult towards the end. One day the REM got lost and ended up in Hull. (A)

Barry Greenwood appointed Subpostmaster in January, 1992 and runs office with his wife Sue. Two position office issuing MVL's and YEB tokens. (G) Phone cards were withdrawn in 1993 they had only been selling the odd £2 card. (A) Also sells greetings cards and stationery and Sue will do you a sketch of your property. During 1993 the Spar Stores opposite has been expanding and has put other general grocers in the village out of business. They have also started selling cards and stationery and this has affected the P.O. sales as well.(G) They do though pay their takings in and this has boosted units.(A) Mail work ceased in September, 1992 concentrated onto Brigg. They were though paid compensation (£4,000(A)) as they were allow to continue on appointment.(G) By January, 1999 Andrew Pickard Subpostmaster.

INFO local (L), Susan Herring (H), Mrs S.Adair (A), Mrs. Greenwood (G)

 

BARROW HAVEN

The 1876 Directory does not list a Post Office and Post Office records indicate that the office was opened in 1880 By 1882 Mr. Robert Brown had been appointed Subpostmaster and was also a shopkeeper and joiner.  Mail was delivered from and dispatched to Hull. Basic Post Office services were provided.  Between 1889 and 1892 Mrs. Mary Ann King was appointed she was also a shopkeeper.  The office location probably did not change during the whole of the time the office was open. John Cocking in turn replaced Mary.  A rubber datestamp was supplied to the office in 1898 probably to enable Postal Orders to be issued although they could not paid.  John to held the position for a relatively short time as by 1900 he had been replaced by Thomas Cocking.  I am not sure if Thomas was John’s son or brother? By 1900 rather later than many offices, however, by 1905 they could be issued and paid. (D) Thomas would walk to Barrow first thing in the morning to collect the mail, and deliver it on his return. He would then open up the Post Office around 9.00am. The office was situated on Ferry Road, near the Railway Halt. (B)


Thomas Cocking

Between 1922 and 1926 (circa 1925 (B))William Haddock was appointed and by  from 1st August, 1925 mail began to be delivered from Barrow-On-Humber. (D) The office was though operated by his wife Edith Emily Haddock (nee Burgess)(known as Emmy). She was the granddaughter of Thomas Cockin (Sometimes spelt Cocking). The 1930 Directory mentions Haddock but not the Post Office. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office but the owner is not listed. (D) William “Bill” Haddock, then bought the corner of a field on Ferry Road next to the Chapel and had a house built which included the Post Office accommodation. This I believe was in the 1934. (B)


New 1934 site

The 1937 Directory does mention Haddock and the Post Office so he obviously owned it the whole time.  The telephone number was 16. (D) Emmy continued to run the Post Office from the new location until her death in 1959. (B) The office was closed in 1979. (G) 

Information Richard Bays - Grandson of W. Haddock, via his mother Eva Bays (nee Haddock) (B), Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). P.O. Gazette 12/12/1979 (G)

BARROWBY

According to Post Office records the office opened on 6h May, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied..  .  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Directory lists - P.O. Trolley -shop, letters from Grantham in 9am out 5pm (D).  Early site was in a wooden hut in Church Street. Post office on present site, No.5 High Road by 1926.(L)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham G. Kirk Shopkeeper & Post Office.(D)

Sited in stores with newspapers, confectionery and cards. A lady was Subpostmistress from c1964.  Here niece Mrs. Dreda E. M. Swatton was appointed c1979. Barry Ladds Subpostmaster from July, 1994 (L).

Information Business directories (D), B. Ladds (L)

 

BARROW-ON-HUMBER

POPULATION 1921 2,959 (Incl. New Holland)

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1835.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Directory lists - P.O. postmaster letters from Barton 10.45am out 2pm.

(OB386 vacant 1874)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office A. Houghton Stationer & Post Office.

Mailwork office Mrs. L. Clark Subpostmistress in 1992. Office located in High Street.

 

BARTON-ON-HUMBER

According to Post Office records the office opened by 1789.  Mail was received from and delivered to

POPULATION 1921 6,330

(OB51) 1849 P.O. Directory lists-Morley Postmaster and auctioneer High St. letters from London and all parts in 10am out to all parts except London 12.40pm and to London and all parts 4.50pm. Money order dept 9-6. Charles Marris was one of the letter carriers here in 1851.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office at 32 Burgate

 Crown Office until 1988. Then Mr. Bolton, possibly previous HPM appointed as Subpostmaster. He was replaced by Albert Hall who ran office until Mr. Mike Clafton appointed on 4/3/1978. Mailwork office closing Wednesday pm. 16 Postmen and 3 vans delivering to Goxhill, South Ferriby and the Low Villages. Had been asked to do National Lottery, but didn't think opening to 7pm on Saturday worth the costs involved. Mail work ceased at the office c1999 and is now conducted from a unit on the industrial estate. Mairi Wingate was appointed Subpostmistress on 21st May, 2005 having previously been Subpostmistress at Winteringham.  Office has four positions and in addition to the basic range of services also offers Datapost, DVLA, Passport and Driving licence checking and on demand foreign currency for Euros and Dollars.  Greetings cards are sold and there is also a retail till.  Opening hours in 2007 09.00-17.30 MON-FRI, 09.00-12.30 SAT

 

BARTON-ON-HUMBER, FLEETGATE TSO

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1925.  Mail was received from and delivered to Barton

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office 48 Fleetgate N. Anderson Shopkeeper.

By 1939 Mr. Frank Sanderson may have been Subpostmaster or may have taken over later. He was there for many years. Then his daughter Rosalie took over. The business was a sweet shop and a "traditional post office". The people who took over were a scruffy lot. (C) At some stage the office moved to 75 Fleetgate on the west side of the street north of Newport Street as this building has an old stamp machine and wall post box.  After April, 1986 the Post Office moved to a former beer off in the north side of Newport Street (40-42). In 1989 Mrs. Jackeline Chessell appointed Subpostmistress partnered by her husband who was a Major in the army. The present site was a two-position office sited in a general stores (C).  Mr. Lee Robinson appointed Subpostmaster in 2003. They converted the business into a hairdressers run by his partner. (R) Counter located on east side of building.  Euros on demand offered in 2007. Opening hours in 2007 09.00-17.30 MON-FRI, 09.00-12.30 SAT.  In December, 2007 office being considered for closure as part of the 2,500 closure programme.

 

INFORMATION Mrs. Chesell (C). Mr. Robinson (R)

 

BASSINGHAM

 

POPULATION 1921 606

According to Post Office records the office opened on 5th November, 1846 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln J. Morshead Grocer & Post Office

 

Subpostmistress Stella Knight died 1998. Took over c1968 after her husband died. Mailwork office, mail from Lincoln at 6.25.

 

BASTON

POPULATION 1921 560

According to Post Office records the office opened by 1847.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Peterborough A. Pickering Grocer & Post Office. (D)

Located at 16 Main Street on the south side of the road.  George Parker was Subpostmaster from c1970 to c1980.  He was replaced by Dora who was Subpostmistress until July, 1990. Jonathan Walker was then appointed. One position Post Office, has not conducted mailwork in recent years. The counter is in the S. E. corner of the building.   When Jonathan took over he refurbished the premises filling holes in the floor etc.  Has conducted DVLA work since the last batch of offices was added about 2002.  Business operates as a convenience store and has been an office licence for many years.  Since 2005 the business has operated under the Premier franchise. (W)

Information Jonathan Walker (W)

 

BAUMBER

POPULATION 1921 396

According to Post Office records the office opened on 27th November, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied..    Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Horncastle M. Brown Grocer & Post Office.

P.O. sited in the third house on the north side of Chapel Row with green garage. Miss Brown was the Subpostmistress there in 1956, her sister was a teacher. The office then moved to the Old Police House on A158 on S.E. corner at junction with road to church. Mrs. Stevens was the Subpostmistress here until the office closed.

BECKINGHAM

POPULATION 1921 437

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1844 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied. Mail was received from and delivered to

(5 miles east of Newark) By 1904 P.O. in house on left hand side of the road looking towards village school at end of road.(PPM) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln Miss S. Crosby Stationer And Tobacconist, Tea, Minerals &Co Late Sub-Postmistress

Information Photo P.Postcard Monthly. 11/99 (PPM)

 

BEESBY/BEESBY-IN-THE-MARSH

POPULATION 1841 157, 1851 168, 1861 174, 1871 159, 1881 145, 1891 127, 1901 117, 1911 126, 1921 120 1931 109,

According to Post Office records the office opened on 28th June, 1845 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied. Mail was received from and delivered to Boston. However, this was short lived as according to Post Office records the office closed in or after 1845 and was not re-established until 1881. The 1849 Post Office Business Directory lists a post office offering basic services with no other business with Mrs. Sarah Cartwright as receiver. By this date the mail arrangements had been altered and mail was received from and delivered to Alford. How long the office stayed open after 1849 is not clear but certainly by 1856 there is no directory listing.

Surprisingly the 1885 Directory does not mention a Post Office but the 1889 Edition lists a post office offering basic services with Charles Reed appointed receiver. He was also listed as a shopkeeper. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1889 to Beesby, probably to cancel these, although orders could only be issued but not paid.

Mrs. Powell ran P.O. travelling from Strubby to do it. Mrs. Lily Raithby took over P. O. either on moving to the village in 1925 or shortly after. P.O. was sited in the eastern of the two adjoining cottages near telephone box on main road at T-junction in the village. Her husband J.T. Raithby was Subpostmaster and shopkeeper. The 1933 Kelly’s directory lasts a  Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Alford. She continued to run it until after 1947, probably until c1949. Mr. Sutton then took over. He worked for a local farmer and his daughter Min Sutton ran it. P.O. shop in front room small general stores. Suttons not such a wide stock, more sweets/confectionery only. They struggled with accounts and didn't particularly like the P.O. work. P.O. moved to first red brick bungalow on north side of the road coming from Maltby, now called Pringle. Mr. William Edward Morton was sent a letter on 1st December, 1953 informing him that he would be installed as Subpostmaster and that his appointment would commence sometime in January, 1954. Louth also inquired about the progress in building the extension to the bungalow, which would house the P.O. The wall post box at the old site was replaced by a pedestal box at the gate which was then emptied by the Alford postman rather than the Subpostmaster. Office was a Non cash account office to Louth on a Thursday selling National Savings Stamps and Insurance stamps. Shop run at P.O. until Mr. Morton retired in 1970 aged 65. The office conducted mail work the mail arriving from Alford at 6.45. The bicycle round included Beesby, part of Strubby, Maltby and to Earls Bridge. Mr. Reed delivered it at first and then Mr. Morton took it over himself until he retired in 1970. The mail was then delivered from Alford. The shop sold tea, coffee, biscuits, confectionery, tobacco, Sunday newspapers etc, much to the nearby Strubby aerodrome. Everything had to be accounted to the last penny. Auditors returning an extra 1/2d. to the Suttons they found extra when the office was transferred. The Morton enjoyed the job, things seemed more relaxed then, customers would expect you to complete postal orders etc. The money was kept under the bed of the bolted bedroom at night and taken with you if you went visiting. It was just a plain flat counter. The pay was not much when they first took over but improved towards the end. Mrs. Morton hated cutting a gumming/writing the amendments to the rulebooks. Mrs. M. used to find that the Branch Office were quick to make the most of her mistakes but when they sent an extra £80 in insurance stamps they wanted them returned under plain cover so that an error wouldn't show up. Office closed when Mr. Morton died of pneumonia having suffered with bronchitis for some time. Mrs. Morton's daughter persuaded her that she shouldn't continue it herself and the next day the P.O. cleared the office. Another lady did consider taking it over and Mrs. Morton gave her some advice but the P.O. wouldn't approve her. Info Mrs. Betty Morton 2 Temple Close Alford. Photo shows Betty, her sister at left with best man and father retraining small boy at back. closed since 1977,

 

BELCHFORD

POPULATION 1921 303

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1865 Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Horncastle E. Yorke Grocer & Post Office.

Sited in shop with now black painted GR box (empty kitchens shop 1991). Old couple ran if for many years. (MA) Young couple bought it, she Barbara Lister(MS) a teacher and he would run shop and take children to local school.(MA) He was killed in a car accident before they took over. She ran it for a while but heart not in it.(MA) Difficult with the locals and tending to buy the wrong things and not having basics of bread and milk in stock.(MA) She gave a weeks notice and P.O. closed (MA) in November, 1985 Mrs. Morag Shaw Subpostmistress from 12 May, 1986. Sited to east of Bell Inn. Was a butchers shop (hooks still in timbered ceiling). Was earlier the Wheatsheaf Ale House. Now Called Rimmer House. F/T C/A office mail from Horncastle. Half day changed from Wed to Fri in April, 1992. Hours were reduced from 28th October, 2002.  Office now closes on Friday and Saturday. (MS) In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Datestamp 9/33

(from Maritime Antiques MA) Mrs. Shaw (MS)

 

BELTON Doncaster

POPULATION 1921 1,528

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Doncaster. A. Birtwistle (Exors Of) Tobacconists & Post Office. (D)

Original site in Church Town opposite church, the left end of row of four houses, later in 107 High Street prior to being relocated by 1992 to Grey Green sited in a General Stores. Mail office 3 rounds including to Beltoft, Mr. Raymond T. Matthews Subpostmaster in 1992. (M) Mr. Nim Mattu appointed in 1997 probably taking over from Mr. Matthews. In 2004 the office was moved to a new Londis stores located at 55 High Street on the east side of the road. A two-position counter was provided in the NW corner of the building. Six mail rounds are now operated, 5 bicycle rounds and one van round. (N) A P739 mail collection service is offered. Services include the National Lottery and a Money Box ATM. By 2002 Euros/U.S. Dollars offered on demand.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith, own information. (D) Mr. Matthews (M), Mr. Mattu (N)

 

BELTON PARK CAMP

 

BELTON Grantham

POPULATION 1921 145

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Grantham F. Skinns Blacksmith & Post Office.

 

BEN(N)INGTON

POPULATION  1841 539, 1851 603, 1861 588, 1871 620, 1881 542, 1891 488, 1901 475, 1911 440, 1921 498, 1931 524,

 

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1830 with, unusually a penny post delivery service operating in the village. Few villages had this service of local delivery of letters.  Mail was received from and delivered to Boston. On 27th September, 1847 an undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office. The 1849 directory has no listing but the 1861 Post Office Directory lists and post office offering the basic range of services with William Overton as Subpostmaster. He was also a grocer and draper.  The mail was delivered by mail cart. The 1872 directory also lists his activities as a farmer and Royal Fire and Life Insurance Agent. 

Between 1882 and 1885 William Twell was appointed and was also a grocer so probably the office did not move. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1887 probably to cancel these, although orders could only be issued but not paid. Records indicate that the second “N” was not used in Benington from 1888. The 1889 Directory also lists Twell as a draper and the 1892 Directory lists the business as that of grocer, draper, provision merchant, buyer of mustard seed and wine and spirit merchant. The retail business was also conducted at Old Leake. By 1900 the business was listed as Twell and Rodgers and by 1905 William had been replaced as Subpostmaster by Harry Matthias Twell. I am not sure of the relationship but probably father and son. By 1905 in common with other offices Postal Orders could be issued and paid. By 1909 Rodgers had been dropped from the listing and the business was just described as a grocer. By 1926 “motormail” had replaced the mail cart. Harry continues to at least 1933 by which time the Kelly’s Directory lists a Telephone Call Office facility had been installed. Between 1933 and 1937 he was replaced by Arthur Albert Wilson, the telephone number was Butterwick 11. (D)

 More recent memories are that the final location was originally three separate units thought to date back to 17th Century.

I was shown a postcard bag from the 1940's printed with A.A. Wilson General Stores and Post Office. Mr. King probably replaced him and was appointed Subpostmaster from c1958. Mr. George was then Subpostmaster c1972 and Mrs. Elizabeth Natteris Sub Postmistress c1982. The location is Main Street and in the 1990’s there was also a butchers and P.H. in village. The business operated as a General stores and off licence. Mr. E. John Clarke has been Subpostmaster since 1992, ex engineer. Half day in the 1990’s was Wednesday. Taking over a rundown business he took on a Spar deal but found they expected a lot and the buy in price was high resulting in high selling prices. So he later switched to Londis, which improved the viability of the business. (C) Towards the end the business had been for sale for a long time. John’s wife was in poor health and needed hospital treatment and recuperation. They also suffered an armed raid using a knife. He being ex-Army and capable of some belligerence told the robber to b-----r off and grappled with him badly cutting his hand. This also was going to require later hospital treatment. A genuine buyer then came along. The two parties struck the deal then went to POL. POL in their infinite wisdom proceeded to lay down the conditions they wanted, new counters, screening etc. etc. The buyers said you must be joking when POL persisted they said Bye we don't HAVE to buy. This of course did not please the Subpostmaster. John continued to operate until they had made their alternative arrangements, opened on a Monday morning until 12 noon then simply closed and didn't re-open. Didn't even tell Cash in Transit. First POL knew was when the phone calls started to come in.  The office closed 14th November, 2005. The property was then offered for sale, probably in two parts. (B)

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith, own information. (D) J. Clarke (C), Local Information. (B)

 

BENNIWORTH

POPULATION 1921 290

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Lincoln H. Chapman Smallholder & Post Office

Miss Nicholson last Subpostmistress. P.O. was on S.E. corner of crossroads. listed 1964,  Closed between 1973 and 1977

 

BICKER

POPULATION  1841 925 1851 819, 1861 ?  , 1871 751, 1881 724, 1891 661, 1901 668, 1911 664, 1921 674, 1931 728

The Post Office is thought to have opened in 1860, quite late for a village of this size.  The 1861 Post Office Directory lists Mrs Mary Barnes, an existing schoolmistress as Subpostmistress with mail arriving from Spalding. Between 1868 and 1872 Mr. George Pacey Bishop had replaced her.  The location of the office also probably also changed. From 1st June, 1886 mail was delivered from Boston. In 1891 a rubber datestamp was provided to datestamp the recently introduced postal orders.  By 1896 Mrs. Eliza Bishop had been appointed Subpostmistress.  As she was not in post for many years she may well have been the husband of George who had possibly died.  On 1st January, 1902 the range of services was extended with Money Orders and Savings Bank transactions being made available which also included Annuity and Insurance business.  Eliza was in post in 1900 but this may be the date she was replaced (R) It is thought that the Bishop’s had the office in one side of a semi-detached house in Church Street looking west towards the church north east of the current site (S).

 

The 1st April, 1901 census states that the office was in the hands of Philip Lambert who was also a shopkeeper and draper. Phillip has been born on 4th March, 1852 in Long Sutton and married Sarah.

Philip and Sarah Lambert 1

 Jane Hales on 25h June, 1878 in Bicker.  His shop was described as being located Market Place Bicker (T) The Slaughters have a photograph of the drapers shop prior to it being a post office and this confirms that the Post Office moved to the current site at this time. No Street is now named Market Place in Bicker and the location is now known as Gauntlet Road.  From 8th September, 1908 a telegraph service was inaugurated at the office (Code JKR) (R). By 1919 Alfred Lambert had taken over (R), he was Philip and Sarah’s son, born in 1881. His father Philip died in 1935 (T). Lambert used a horse and cart to make deliveries (S). However, by 1922 Alec George Chapman had been appointed and he was also listed as a grocer so presumably by then the drapery had been discontinued. By 1926 the office was also offering Telegraphic Express Delivery and by 1930 a telephone (Donnington 20) had been installed.

 

Between 1930 and 1933 Cecil George Martin was appointed, the same telephone number confirms the continuing location  (R).  He continued to the 1950’s. Mr. Mintoft a bachelor from Halifax was then appointed. He had spent time abroad working as a buyer in the tea plantations.  Mr. Drew Harrod and his wife and then John Dunlop followed him.  Of the possible 32 years from 1950-1982 Martin did c5years, Mintoft 10, Harrod 5or 6 leaving about 8-11 years for the Dunlops but the exact dates are not known.  Mailwork was conducted.  Len Limb and later Graham Warrington conducted a bicycle round from a shed at the rear of the building.  In c1979-1982 Terry W. Thomas was appointed Subpostmaster and ran the office with his wife Cherry. Mrs. Sandie Slaughter was appointed in September, 1994 and she and her husband Rod continue to run the business as a general stores with newspaper deliveries in 2005. The opening hours in 2005 were 09.00-13.00 14.00-17.30 except Tuesday 09.00-13.00 and Saturday 09.00-12.30 office closed on Tuesday afternoon. Over the years the shop has gradually been extended.  Originally the shop was just a square at the door with the P.O. counter on the North wall.  After Martin’s time the shop area was extended northwards and the counter moved with it.  Later the shop area was further extended westwards.

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories,  P.O. records via Ken Smith. (R)  Sandie Slaughter (S), Kerry Templeman (T)

 

BIGBY 

Population 1841 133 1851 ?, 1861 249, 1871 294, 1881 255, 1891 265, 1901 239, 1911 235, 1921 251, 1931 222

 

According to PO records the office probably opened on 3rd April, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office. The 1849 Directory list the P.O. Receiver as G. Havercroft with letters arriving from Brigg. The office closed in 1866 (no entry in 1868 Directory) and did not reopened until 1898 when a rubber datestamp including Brigg was supplied. Kelly’s 1900 lists the Subpostmaster as J. Bratton with mail still delivered from Brigg. The rubber datestamp would probably have been supplied to issue postal orders (they could not be paid at this office). No other business is listed and I am not sure if this office would have been at the same site as the earlier office, probably not. The mail delivery arrangements were changed from 1st November, 1903 when mail started to be delivered from Lincoln. By 1905 George Bratton had taken over from J but I am not sure what relation he would be. Postal orders could now be issued and paid.  Mail arrangements again changed in 1909 when mail was delivered from Grimsby. When Barnetby was upgraded to the status of a post town late in 1914 Bigby started to receive mail from there rather than Grimsby from January, 1915. The Directory of 1919 shows George still Subpostmaster but he had either died or resigned in 1918 as official records show that the office was temporarily closed from 1918 to 1920. (D) By 1920 the P.O. was located in 'The Old Post House' (first house on north side of road coming from the west) (R).  The Directory of 1922 shows Mr. John Ross Smith as the Subpostmaster at this site.  He was also a carpenter and joiner.  By 1930 a telephone call facility had been provided. John continued at the office until at least 1937. (D) Mrs. Annie Watson was then the Subpostmistress for many years. The P.O. was in left hand front room before being moved to back porch. Mr. Leslie Robinson took over as Subpostmaster from Feb 1979. Born 1914 he became Subpostmaster after he retired, having been in the navy for many years. He later re located the office at Blacksmith House, Smithy Lane. Situated in front hall. It operated as a non C/A office to Louth and did not deal with telephone bills. It was a Full-time office but Mr. MacLauchlan talked him into converting it to an 11 hour community office in the 1980’s.  The office was open 9-12 MON, THUR, FRI, and 9-11 TUE. Mail still came from Barnetby. The office Closed April, 1992 (see EVG TEL 24/4) as Leslie was unable to find a replacement. (R)

Datestamp  DIE 11/1974 issued on Humberside County change.

INFO Mr. Robinson  (R). P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. Ken Smith (D)

 

BILLINGBOROUGH

POPULATION 1801 537 1841 999, 1851 1048, 1861 1149, 1871 ? , 1881 1189, 1891  1123, 1901 1108, 1911 964, 1921  989, 1931 996

The Office is thought to have opened on 29th November, 1843 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office. The P.O. directory of 1849 lists William Frederick Smith and Subpostmaster and also Chemist, Druggist, and Agent for Phoenix Fire and Life Insurance. Mail was delivered from Folkingham. By 1855 the Directory lists William Foster Smith so either the 1849 Directory is a misprint or another relative had taken over by then. From 1st December, 1855 the office was authorised to conduct Money Order Business, from 9th December, 1861 Savings Bank business and by 1868 Annuity and Insurance business could be conducted. A telegraph had been installed at the office in 1870 (Code BGP0. The 1889 Directory lists the location as High Street (probably the original location) and the business also handled the Stamford Mercury – the term newsagent was used in 1892.  By 1896 Edward Essam had been appointee as Subpostmaster.  The location probably didn’t change as the business was still that of a drug stores, wine dealer, optician, Phoenix Fire and Life Office and newsagent. Telegraphed money orders and Express Delivery services were also now on offer. By 1905 the listing also refers to Agent of Gilbey’s wines and spirits.  By 1909 William Rufus Creasey had replaced Edward as Subpostmaster.  A telephone exchange and Telephone Call Office were operated.  From 14th June, 1920 the status of the office was raised to a Post Town receiving it’s mail directly. By 1926 the office telephone number was listed as TN1.  Creasey continued to at least 1926 but the entry for 1930 lists him as a chemist but not as a Post Office and no owners names are mentioned in the 1933 and 1937 Directories either. From 9th November, 1936 mail started to be delivered from Sleaford though mail would still be sorted and delivered in the town to the villages of Horbling, Pointon and Spanby (D).  The Creasey Family may well have continued to run the Post Office as the POCL telephone Directory of 1992 locates the office at 40 High Street with the Subpostmaster as Graham Creasey.  Half day at that time was Thursday.  

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D)

 

BILLINGHAY

POPULATION 1921 1,226

 

Francis Gilbert was Subpostmaster c1850 on present site, a leased building. His son took over from him. Subpostmaster on 25th December, 1899 was A. C. Atchinson (C) By 1930's P.O. owned by Mr. Atchinson.  The 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln C. Atchinson Grocer & Post Office. He died and his daughter May Atchinson took over as Sub postmistress. Frank Ingram married May quite late in life and after she died he became Subpostmaster and was allowed to own the property in his lifetime. When he reached 70 about the time the Girobank was due to be set up Frank decided to retire. Ralph Faulkener was therefore appointed as Subpostmaster in 1968 and took over the lease of the property. He had previously lead a pump installation team which had been taken over and he would have had to move. By chance he had been born in the current Post Office premises of 32/34/36 Victoria Street. 34 was the original Post Office site and his father had a grocery shop with rounds at No. 36. On appointment a condition was that date stamping of mail would be removed at some time and this was done so (shortly after?). The salary in 1968 was £1,700 and the business was nearly all P.O. with a limited sale of dog food and other limited items. The rent was £300 p.a. Mail work and a telegraph was operated. In 1968 the mail came from Scopwick by van, the driver of which helped to sort and then deliver in South Kyme and fen. Two other people did rounds on cycles to North Kyme and Fens, Billinghay and Billinghay Dales, Digby Fen, Ruskington Fen, and Walcot Fen but not Walcot as they had their own deliveries and two ladies did rounds in the village on foot. In the afternoon a sealed bag of mail came by bus from Lincoln to Hicklings Corner. A postman would meet the bus and bring the bag and Subpostmaster would open it. Mail was delivered in the village itself on an established round from years previously to which nothing had been added. A bicycle then went to South and North Kyme P.O. and boxes along the way to collect the afternoon mail. Later mopeds replaced the cycles and trolleys were used on the foot rounds but they were not popular so were dispensed with. C1981 the rounds were revised and vans were introduced. The income was less than Ralph had been earning but he though he could expand the retail business. He decided to convert available area into a self-service store and move P.O. counter further back into rear of premises. At the time there were a number of small traditional shops in the village and it was the village way to travel from shop to shop purchasing some items here and some there. At first the locals were suspicious about the novelty of self-service but business improved after some offers. Also gradually some of the other shops closed as the owners retired and no one wanted to take them over. About 1976 Frank Ingram died and the lease passed to May's niece in South Africa. She wanted to dispose of it and after a deal of wrangling with the estate agents Ralph bought 34, having already bought 36. The property wanted a lot of work doing to it and the income didn't match a high asking price. Ralph's daughter Susan later became a counter clerk at the office and later in life started doing relief work for other offices. About 1984 Ralph decided that he was not going to make a fortune at the Post Office but that the value of the business lay in the capital appreciation that had come with inflation so he put it on the market. He could offer the possibility of adding an off licence and increasing the income by extending the evening opening hours, which was the current trend. In 1986 Barry Hollis who had a pub in Dalham Cambs. bought it and was appointed. He was approached by estate agents who could point to the increase in capital value so Barry decided to let them get on with it. He sold it c1993 and bought a villa in Spain.(RF) sited in large VG convenience store, present site many years old postal telegraph office sign on wall, mailwork office mail from Lincoln 6.40. 5/89. New Subpostmaster c1991/1992. John Scott Subpostmaster by August, 1999.

INFO R. Faulkener(RF) C. Gilbert (C)

 

BILSBY

POPULATION 1921 313

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

The P.O. was sited at Vine Dairies with Mrs. Beattie Barnes the Subpostmistress. Sited there by 1922 and continued there until after the 2WW. Probably until her death. The 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office (Tel. Dispatched Not Delivered) Letters From Alford  but no owner listed. After a few months in someone’s front room the P.O was sited at Shinns Bakery for a period, the grandfather of the present owner running it.(S) The P.O. was then sited in Sunnyholme, an old style bungalow (see below), set back, opposite the maintenance garage between c1948/1949 and 1st March, 1961.(C)

Mrs.Francis White was Subpostmistress there until she moved away and her husband Mr. Charles William White became Subpostmaster in 1955. Their daughter Audrey took over the actual running in 1955. The office was at the rear of the house. You came to the back door, climbed a step and rang the bell. Mr. White had built a wardrobe like structure in the rear outhouse with a hatch to open and serve the customers. The office was a non savings bank and dealt with stamps, pensions, National Insurance Stamps, National Savings Stamps and National Savings Certificates.  Mr. White had built the model windmill in the garden himself from scrap materials. Every Thursday a Bluecoat from Butlins at Skegness would arrive on a motorcycle and sidecar to assist campers on a treasure hunt and check none had got lost.  They had to buy a penny stamp from the office and some were none too patient or pleasant about it. Mr. White gave 3 months notice when Audrey wanted to get married and she got married in 1961 with the last day on 1st March, 1961. (C) As no one wanted to take it over, Mr. Darker (Parker-(S) the HPM at Alford persuaded Mrs. Steel to take it over, and she agreed initially for a 5 year period. So Mrs. Agnes Steel became Subpostmistress at Yew Tree Cottage from 1961. Sited in back porch with a window flap to open and serve customers in the porch, from inside the house. Mail was delivered from Alford except at Christmas when it was sorted at Bilsby. Mrs. Steel was paid 2/6 a month to keep telephone kiosk clean. (S) Every Thursday, the busiest day, she was continued to be besieged by people from Butlins camp Skegness coming to her on the treasure hunt. They were often impatient and rude. So she had to write to Butlins to ask them to change the day and preferably the clue as well.(S) P.O. Then moved to new bungalow (now Bella Vista) adjacent and to west of Yew Tree Cottage(S&M). The bungalow was built in 1970 and fitted with security locks. P.O. was sited in sun lounge in back.(S) When her husband Norman retired it became a tie so she decided to retire. The Post Office did consider closing the P.O. at that time but agreed to let it move. Mrs. Gill Marsh appointed Subpostmistress in May 1984 (M) moving office to the other side of the OAP bungalows to existing Bilsby Filling Station, Alford Road. F/T C/A office. Sited in a modern building comprising a petrol/car wash garage and a Spar Stores. Marsh's also owned the adjacent maintenance garage as well but later sold off.

Datestamp 7/25 old screw on head. New SID datestamp by 2001

INFO Audrey Cargill (nee White) (C) Gill Marsh (M) Norman Steel (S)

 

BINBROOK R.A.F.STATION

 

BINBROOK(E)

POPULATION 1921 796

According to Post Office records the office probably opened on 22nd March, 1841 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office.  Mail was received from and delivered to Spital. William Richardson was appointed as receiver, offering a basic range of mail services including the acceptance of registered mail. He also acted as a registrar. On 24th February, 1844 a second undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office which probably coincided with a change in mail delivery arrangements from Spital to Market Rasen. Spital had until then been a mail coach route intersection point. Mail was brought by a foot postman from Market Rasen. The 1855 Directory clarifies Richardson's activities in addition to the Post Office as Registrar of births, deaths and marriages and land surveyor. The range of services at the office was extended in the 1860's. From 1st January, 1862 Money Orders could be issued and paid and from 2nd March, 1863 Savings Bank Business could be conducted.

I am not sure if Richardson was still receiver when these changes were made as between 1861 and 1868 James Sumpter was appointed to replace him. The office may have remained on the same site and he was also a surveyor and assistant overseer. In 1870 the range of services was further extended when a telegraph service was inaugurated at the office (Code BGY) . 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-.By 1882 the White's Directory was listing James as a land surveyor, overseer, rate collector and agent for the Commercial Union Assurance Society. In common with other similar offices the range of Savings Bank services was extended to include Annuity and Insurance business by 1889 and by then Sumpter was just listed as Subpostmaster and CU agent. (D) James Sumpter died in 1898 and the 1871, 1881 and 1891 censuses confirm that the office was located in Market Place. (O)

Prior to James's death and between 1892 and 1896 Thomas Bowker Dawson was appointed as Subpostmaster. The office remained in Market Place but as Dawson was an existing grocer, draper and agent for W&A Gilbey Ltd wine and spirit merchants in 1882 the site would have changed. By 1896 Telegraph Money Orders and Express Delivery were available services at this office. The 1900 Directory also lists Parcel Post as one of the services available but this would have probably been offered as soon as the national service commenced in 1883. From 1912 maid delivery arrangements were again changed and mail was delivered from Lincoln. Thomas possibly died between 1909 and 1913 as the 1913 Directory lists Miss Edith Dawson as Subpostmistress. She was probably Thomas's daughter as at that date the grocer and Post Office were listed in the name of Mrs Amelia Jane Dawson. By 1919 Telephonic Express Delivery had been added to the range of services. No shop is listed in the 1919, 1922 and 1926 Directories but Edith continued to run the Post Office.

Between 1926 and 1930 the office appears to have again moved to another location in Market Place. The 1930 Kelly’s lists Job Edwin Fletcher as Subpostmaster. His Drug, Grocer, Provisions and, Tobacconist shop had already been trading in 1926. Mailwork was conducted and delivered to Kirton-Le-Mire and Swinhope. Job continues until at least 1937, the date of the last available Kelly's Directory. (D)

More recent information is that Clarice Bantoft ran the Post Office from before the war to at least 1947. She married into the Fletcher family. They had the two adjoining shops (S) The current Office is located in Market Place and has probably been on this site since 1930 (old metal sign). Mrs. Clarice Fletcher Subpostmistress (same as Clarice Bantoft?). The office continued to conducted mailwork but not sure when it ceased. She was succeeded by her niece Mrs. Rachel Atkinson c1984. Mail now delivered from Market Rasen, probably since 1995 and certainly by 1998. Hours 09.00-13.00 14.00-17.30 MON, TUE, THUR, FRI, 09.00- 13.00 WED, 09.00-12.30 SAT. Mail collected at 09.15 and 16.00 later 17.00. British Gas Quantum machine and APT machine since 11/1998. MVL office, no franking machines reset. Just post office with no ancillary business.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D) J Sargeant Leadenham (S) Jane Ogden (O)

BISHOP'S NORTON

POPULATION 1921 358

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Miss L. King Draper & Post Office.

Sited opposite church in house and shop building. Jim Butler Subpostmaster c1968/69-1984 Fred Wassell Subpostmaster c1984-1988 Diane Evans Subpostmistress from October, 1988. Community office with C/A from when she took it over open 9-12 TU, TH, 9-11 WED, FRI. Mail from Normanby until centralised to Market Rasen

 

BITCHFIELD

POPULATION 1921 95

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1882.  Mail was received from and delivered to Grantham. The first Business Directory entry is 1885 which lists a Post Office offering basic services operated by R. Rimmington who as well as Receiver was also a carpenter. A rubber datestamp was supplied to the office in 1897, which would have been used to datestamp Post Orders on issue.  This service probably commenced then although the directories do not confirm it until 1900. Between 1895 and 1900 J. Parkinson replaced Rimmington. He was also a carpenter so probably on same site. By 1905 Mr. C. Howitt had replaced him as Subpostmaster.  The office probably moved when he took over, as he was a cowkeeper and parish clerk. In common with other offices the facility to pay Postal Orders was introduced at this office by that date.  Between 1913 and 1919 Bert Osborne who was also a cowkeeper possibly on the same site replaced him. He continues until at least 1937 by which time a Telephone Call Office facility had been installed. Mrs. Osborne replaced him date unknown and continued as Subpostmistress  to 1947/48. At that time the office was  in Little Cottage opposite telephone box. Then Mrs. Wakerley for c4 years. Then Mrs. M.J. Wakerley (sister-in-law of former Subpostmaster) Subpostmistress from April, 1955. She had the office in No. 6 council house on main road until 1966.  Office then moved to Bitchfield House on main road until 1973. Now down side road at Homefarm. No outer roundel. Just non C/A P.O. only. Situated in entrance room with small customer area and full P.O. Screen. Office closes Tuesday afternoon (L).

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D). Local residents (L)

 

BLANKNEY

POPULATION 1921 600

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Miss E. Sharp Shopkeeper & Post Office

Estate village. P.O. sited on corner of Sleaford Road and Metheringham Road. Mrs. Edith Reily Subpostmistress by 1966 but there before then. Her aunt is thought to have run it before her. Edith died in service aged 85 in January, 1987. P.O. was in front room with a counter, desk and clock.(J) temporarily closed by-.4.1987. Mrs. Edith Joyce became Subpostmistress on 1/8/1986.(J) P.O. reopened as community office on 3.8.1987 MON 2-5.30, TUE 9-12.30, THUR 2-50,(AM0). Non C/A office under Louth dealing with Tel Bills, TV licences & green giros. Mail from Metheringham. Office now located at back of house with a screen. At first Edith tried to sell a few things and keep open most of the time but villagers now really interested.(J) So from 18/12/1989 hours amended to MON 2-5 and TUE/THUR 2-5.30(AM0) and not open at other times. Sells wood turned items produced by her husband.(J)

INFO Edith Joyce(J)

 

BLYBOROUGH

POPULATION 1841 197, 1851 199, 1861 209, 1871 210, 1881 249, 1891 213, 1901 200, 1911 178, 1921 190,

In common with many other offices Blyborough opened following the increase in mail usage following the introduction of the universal 1d postage in 1840. The office probably opened on 22nd December, 1845 when an undated circular datestamp was provided to datestamp outward mail. The office was served by Spital which was opened in the late 1820's serving the cross traffic between two intersecting coaching routes only to then wither and close in 1850 with the advent of the railways. The 1849 P.O. directory lists Mr. Thomas Haycocks as the receiver at the post office with mail arriving from Spital at 11.00 and being despatched from there "in the same hour”. No other trade is shown for him which is unusual as the Post Office income would be unlikely to offer sufficient remuneration on it's own. From 6th May, 1850 Kirton Lindsey took over the mailwork and payment of money orders from Spital and by 1855 mail was arriving at Blyborough at 10.00 and despatched at 4.00pm. By 1867 control of the office was transferred to Hull and from 2nd February, 1874 to Lincoln. By 1861 mail is shown as arriving again at 11.00 but by 1868 it reverted to 10.00 and by 1872 10.30. The afternoon despatch varies from 4.00 to 4.10. By 1876 Mrs Sarah Haycock was Subpostmistress and would either have been the wife or possibly the daughter of Thomas. Mail arrived at 10.10. From 1st July, 1876 control of the office reverted to Kirton Lindsey as on that date Kirton became a Railway Sub Office which meant that it received it's own bags of sealed mail from all over the country rather than just from Lincoln. By 1882 Blyborough P.O. had passed, according to Whites Directory, to Mrs. T. Troop but it was probably Mr. as the 1885/1889 Kelly's list the Subpostmaster as Mr. Thomas Troop. Morning mail times again vary from 9.45 by 1885, 9.50 by 1889, 10.00 by 1892, 9.45 by 1896 and 9.35 by 1900. In 1896 a rubber datestamp was provided to datestamp the recently introduced postal orders. By 1905 Mrs. Ann Troop had taken over presumably from he deceased husband. Mail was now despatched at 5.40pm and it is specifically stated that there is no delivery of mail on Sundays. Also the facility to cash as well as sell postal orders had been extended from a limited number of offices to nearly all including Blyborough. Mail times then again altered to 9.15 received and 5.40pm despatched by 1909 to 8.30 in and 6.20 out by 1913. The office closed in 1918 the most likely reason being the death of Mrs. Troop and, with people involved in World War One, no one was prepared to take over the responsibility.

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith.(village has a local history group)

 

BLYTON

POPULATION 1921 807

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Directory lists BLYTON WITH WHARTON P.O. & tailor, shopkeeper. letters from Gainsborough, (K) C1900 resited into former joiners shop on the corner of Church Lane. Mr. Walter Selby Subpostmaster printer and stationer. Was a small office at front of building only room for 4 or 5 people. Joiners continued at back. Kept as a lock-up,

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. W. Selby Shopkeeper & Post Office. (D)

Mr. Selby used to keep 2 Airedale dogs in shop at night. After his wife died Miss Blow acted as housekeeper and assisted with business. In 1945 Mr. Selby retired and sold property to Mr. William Hunsley who had returned to country after being a prisoner of war. He altered layout of building and extended shop. Money order and Telegraph Office. Mr. Hunsley sometimes used his car to deliver telegrams. Two mail rounds starting at 6.30 delivering to top and bottom of the village. Mail work ceased during his tenure. Also robbery, cordite used to blow safe with a wire from a fridge. Sacks of flour and bags used to muffle sound so it made a mess. No one disturbed and safe was blown enough to open door with a crowbar. Escape made via Churchyard, cash only taken and stock etc dumped over the area. (W)

Robert & Annabella Rhind bought the general store/sub post office July 31st 1981 from Mr & Mrs .W. Hunsley. Their first priority was to modernise the shop, which they did by having the storeroom wall removed to double the size of the shop, and introduce self service with a delicatessen and daily fresh bread and cakes from Scotter bakery. There was an attempted armed robbery at lunch time on the 23rd September 1983 which was thwarted by Mr Rhind and his staff, resulting in a commendation for bravery award for Mr & Mrs Rhind which was presented by the chairman of the post office, Mr Ron Dearing ,at a special reception in London. The business was sold to Mr & Mrs Aldred August 1st 1986. (R)

The present Subpostmaster Roy Aldred.(A) He and his wife live in adjoining house. Business now has a general stores and newspapers. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Information Directories (D) Sam Waring (W) Mrs Aldred (A) Mr. & Mrs. Rhind (R)

BOLINGBROKE See  Old Bolingbroke

BONBY

POPULATION 1921 305

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

From 1889 to1913 my g.g.grandfather MARK GRAY was first the receiver and then sub postmaster at Bonby, this is in the Kellys directory throughout these dates.(D) Miss Emily Morley Subpostmistress by 1913. P.O. was sited in a lean to at a house now demolished at the S.E. corner of Main Road and Sheepdyke Lane.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Brigg Owner not listed.

Mrs. Marshall (born 1901) then appointed in 1949 ran P.O. until she retired in 1969 following the death of her husband.(M) P.O. sited on a smallholding (still farm buildings at rear) Deeds mention Bonby P.O. and garage(B) Stamp and postal order P.O. only. Datestamped outgoing mail, much at Christmas. Sorted letters for and controlled one postal round. Postman Mr. Jakes. Scunthorpe was Head Office. Door used to be in N. wall. P.O. had a counter and started to stock sweets and grocery for customer requests. Sold the 'new'? national savings stamps which boosted her units, customers would then go to the then crown offices at Brigg or Barton on Humber to purchase their certificates etc. (M) Mrs. Marshall enjoyed her time as Subpostmistress, she met many people she would not otherwise have done so. P.O. Sited in Main St.(B) Wall post box in brick pillar outside P.O. since Mrs. Marshall's time. Mrs. Rolfe Subpostmistress (M&B) 1969-c1981. Her husband was an engineer and increased shop area into a former living room, made a 1st floor partition area at rear and put loft room and new roof on property. Miss Paddy Horn Subpostmistress with Pam Stevenson from c1981/1982. Mrs. Susan Boulton appointed Subpostmistress in February, 1989 runs the P.O. and General stores (also another general stores/newspaper shop and a P.H./fish & chip shop). Mail from Brigg and stock came from Hull, then Grimsby and now Sheffield. F/T C/A office. They have further extended the shop area and moved the P.O. counter from the front N.W. corner to a new area in the S.E. corner. Ann Nightingale Subpostmistress by May, 1999. Office changed hands c2002.

info K. Boulton(B) Mrs. Marshall(M) Karen Deeley (D)

 

BOOTHBY (PAGNELL)

POPULATION 1851 120, 1861 112, 1871   , 1881    , 1891    , 1901    , 1911    , 1921 136, 1931   

The office is thought to have opened when an undated circle datestamp was supplied on 8th January, 1845. By 1849 - P.O. Mrs. S. Bullimore Receiver letters from Grantham in 10.30am out 3.30pm.  She continued until at least 1855.  The 1856 Whites Directory shows  mail being despatched via Colsterworth, but the P.O. Directory of 1861 again shows Grantham with mail in at 10.30am and despatched at 4pm. By 1868 Mrs. Elizabeth Foster had been appointed receiver and the mail was despatched at 4.15pm.  By 1872 Mr. Thomas Foster had been appointed as Subpostmaster.

Later Mrs. Souter ran P.O. at Witham Cottages - 2nd house in School Lane, By 1933 Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Mrs. A. Exton Shopkeeper. Mrs. Exton was Subpostmistress for 36 years in a house on corner of School Lane and Grantham Road then called Glebe Farm. Then her daughter in law took over in 1966. Was a F/T office but then had to go into hospital for a major operation. P.O. had to be reduced to community hours and P.O. would not allow a return to F/T hours. Still a C/A office. Now sited in Grantham road to north of Glebe Farm, opens MON and THUR am.

 

BOSTON

POPULATION 1931 16,597 (+ Skirbeck 1201)

(OB94) 1849 P.O. Directory lists- P.O. R.E. Creasey bootmaker, postmaster, newspaper agent and agent to Alliance Fire and Life Assurance, Strait Bargate. Letters from London, Peterborough, Spalding, Lynn and the S. & W. of England in 2.51am delivery 7.45am. letters to London, Peterborough, Spalding, Lynn and the N. S. & W. of England out 10pm box closes 9.30pm. letters from Wainfleet and the intermediate villages in 8.36pm delivery 7.45am out 6am box closes 10pm. letters from Spilsby, Louth, Grimsby and Hull in 10.30pm delivery 7.45am letters to Spilsby, Louth, Grimsby and Hull and N. of England out 2.30am box closes 10pm. letters from Horncastle and the intermediate villages in 9pm delivery 7.45am. letters from Wisbech, Holbeach and the N.S. & W. of England (day mail) in 7.25pm delivery 8pm. letters to Wisbech & Holbeach out 10.30am box closes 10am.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office at Wide Bargate

Selected as a office to sell Gold Medal Next day stamps and open 09.30-12.30 on Sunday for the three Olympic weeks.

 

BROTHERTOFT ROAD

Sited at No. 33 on the S.E. corner with Sydney St. Here at least since 1944. Mr. Peter Walmsley Subpostmaster to c1989. Then Mr. Stuart Keeble and his Subpostmistress wife Janice ran it until 10th March, 1994. She ran the P.O. until she had children when he ran it. He then did relief work. Mr. Ivor Roberts now Subpostmaster with his wife Diane assisting. They had a shop previously. Shop sells sweets, cards cigarettes and a few packet groceries. New self-inking datestamps in 1999.

INFO IR

 

EASTWOOD ROAD

 

FREISTON ROAD

Closed between 1946 and 1949

 

FYDELL STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post And M.O. Office D. Lenton Grocer & Post

Office No.15,

Closed 10/5/85 (ODeRH)

 

HIGH STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post And M.O. Office. C. Craven Confectioner & Post Office No.34,

Craven Family ran it. INFO M COY & A C

 

HORNCASTLE ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post And M.O. Office H. Dann Baker & Post Office No.31,

Mr. Baumber was later Subpostmaster info M Coy

 

KINGSWAY

Located at 18 Kingsway. Post office opened here in April, 1996 with business being transferred from Mount Bridge. Located in existing Mills Newsagents and Convenience Stores. Opening hours 08.30-17.30 MON-FRI, Sat 08.30-12.30. Mail collected at 12.50 and 17.00, Saturday, 12.15. Subpostmaster Richard Linsell the nominee for Mills Newsagents. Two position office with addition- al third person on Mondays. APT and British Gas Quantum. Not a data post office and no franking machines reset.

info Manageress

 

LONDON ROAD

Front of building was built in 1749. At the riverside, road has been built up as a quay now, but once there were just wooden planks down to the boats. Area was called the Skirbeck Quarter and post office was originally named this. Alice Mary Smith has a sweet shop on the site. She took it over when she was about 40 and her children had grown up. Her father set up in business. She was approached to sell stamps and though she had had no schooling her father taught her what was necessary and a post office opened. Other services such as postal orders and savings bank followed later. Alice continued to run the office until she died at age 84 having broken her leg. She ran the office c1890- 1938.(MC) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post Office with Mrs. M. Smith as Subpostmistress and Shopkeeper. (D) By then the office was now called London Road and sited at No. 16. Her granddaughter Joan Smith ran the office for 4 or five years. Then in 1943 her sister Minnie Coy(nee Smith) who had helped in the post office previously became Sub postmistress. She ran the office until 1987 when Mrs Sheila Janice Smith (not a close relation) was appointed. Minnie still continued to help after her resignation, and even now pops in for a cup of tea and spent some time behind the counter. Office is a post office only with two positions. Counter has been altered over the years, was on the south wall and now on the west wall. SJS in post May, 1999 (MC). Office closed by 25th April, 2003 under reinvention procedure (I).

info Minnie Coy (MC) , Bryan Ingham (I)

 

MAIN RIDGE

Closed between 1907 and 1908

 

MOUNT BRIDGE

Previously sited at 120 Skirbeck Road Mr. & Mrs White early owners. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post And M.O. Office Mrs. M. White Subpostmistress and Shopkeeper Mount R?idge. Then Mr. Baggerley and the Mr. and Mrs. Walls. Was sited next to the COOP and was a little shop selling sweets, wool with some food and groceries. P.O. was here in 1957 and didn't move before 1962. Post Office then moved from one side of road to the other to it's present site at 75 Skirbeck Road at the N.W. corner of Alfred Street. This had been a turf accountants and P.O. was fitted into existing fittings. Mrs. Rippin Sub Postmistress there by 1969 and she was replaced by Mr. Norman and Mrs. Margaret(Peggy) Padley(nee Creswall). Ann Coy daughter in law of Minnie Coy was appointed in May, 1977. Office has two positions, used to have a stamp machine and conducts post office business exclusively. (AC) Office closed April, 1996 and business transferred to Kingsway.

INFO AC

 

MOUNT RIDGE

Was/is the sorting office INFO MC

 

PINCUSHION

Replaced Wyberton by October, 1952

Located at 32 Granville Avenue, Wyberton. (D) One former Subpostmaster was Mayor of Boston. Jeanette Smith appointed Subpostmistress c1996. She was replaced by David Heslop on 8th August, 2011 assisted by his brother Mark. They had a mail order business and thought it would be a good idea to combine it with a post office. Has on demand Euros but not MVL or Travel Insurance. Has a Paystation terminal behind the counter and a National Lottery terminal. Has a Your Cash ATM formerly HANCO. Post Office opens 09.00-17.00 Monday to Friday and 09.00-12.30 Saturday. Used to have a paypoint. Counter is on north wall but curves round to also face west. Convenience store but also has a book exchange.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D).

SKIRBECK

Closed between 1908 and 1914 to London Road

 

SPILSBY ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post Office F. Baumber Fruiterer & Post Office No.5,

Closed between 1949 and 1955

 

THE DOCKS

Closed 1923

 

THOROLD ROAD

last TSO to closed prior to 1990

 

WEST STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post And M.O. Office (& T.C.O. Office) F. Fuller Grocer & Post Office No.93 (D)

Robert Kirton Subpostmaster for many years, mother also involved, possibly ran it before he did. Then Mr. Kenneth C. Brown appointed in 1980, his wife O. V.? Brown also involved. Just P.O. with four positions. Sells East Midlands Gas and electricity stamps. Also a foreign currency office. One self inking datestamp for use by a member of staff with a weak hand. info KB & staff. Later moved across road to COOP

 

BOURNE

POPULATION 1931 4,889  

(OB103 BOURN, BOURNE 1874)- 1849 P.O. Directory lists P.O. T. Gatliffee master, toy warehouse, hairdresser & perfumer Market Place. letters from London by mail cart by Peterborough in 4.30am delivered 7.30am second delivery by coach from Stamford delivered at 7pm. letters from Sleaford arrive by mail cart at 9pm out 4.30am. Box closes for London at 8.30pm and despatched by cart to Peterborough at 9pm. (dir) The corn exchange and public hall was built on the site of the old Post Office in 1870 (DC) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office sited in North Street.

Info David Cuppleditch (DC)

 

BOURNE-EASTGATE

Closed between 1970 and 1973

 

BOURNE WILLOUGHBY ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office G. Bett Grocer No.?

 

BRACEBOROUGH

POPULATION 1921 150

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Stamford Owner not listed.

 

BRACEBRIDGE HEATH

POPULATION 1921 1,848

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel. Call Office Letters From Lincoln G. Dyson Shopkeeper.

Located in Grantham Road LN4 2LD. Situated in Cooperative Supermarket and Subpostmaster secretary of COOP. Open each day, not a datapost office.

 

BRANSTON

POPULATION 1921 1,275

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Directory lists P.O. Dir. P.O. Receiver J. Hardy and tailor. Mail from Lincoln, received 3.30pm and then dispatched to Stamford.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office G. Applewhite Tailor. Office located at 27 High Street Branston at the corner of Station Road. Not sure for how many years office has been on that site. (D) Miss Applewhite was Subpostmistress in 1960’s. Nora Bell and husband Tony replaced her, although the Stancer family may also have held the appointment. (L)

Nora died in post and Mr. Sam Robinson was appointed in1998. (D) He was assisted by Elaine. In October 2001 Christine King was appointed. (S) Diane Nadaser was appointed on 31st August, 2006.  Her husband EJ hails from Malaysia and she from the Isle of Man.  Prior to Branston they had a retail business in Newark. EJ holds the appointment for The Forum Post Office. By 2007 two positions were being operated on Monday and Tuesday morning. Counter in N.E. corner of office. (N) Office opening hours are 09.00-17.30 Monday-Friday, 09.00-12.30 Saturday.  Mail is collected at 11.15, 15.00 and 17.30 MON-FRI, 12.00 SAT and 13.00 SUN. Business operates as a convenience store with newspapers and National Lottery. Euro’s on demand offered from April. 2007.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D). Local resident (L) D. Nadaser (N), Sylvia Smith (S)

 

BRANT BROUGHTON

POPULATION 1921 515

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Directory lists P.O. Receiver Mrs. Cuthbert. Mail from Newark, received 10.00am, dispatched 4.00pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed

Mrs. S. D. Timmis new Subpostmistress by May, 2001. (D) This was probably the white house on the west side of the High Street, later about 2003 the office was moved to The Forge on the east side of the High Street. Mr. Goodale was the owner.  Pam Dunning who had worked for Mr. Goodale was appointed in January, 2007.  A combi till counter is sited in the N.E. corner of the building, which also operates as a florist. Opening hours in 2007 were 09.00-13.00 MON-FRI. In December, 2007 office being considered for closure as part of the 2,500 closure programme. Mrs Dunning was not told about the closure programme when she was appointed. (P)

 

INFORMATION P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, own information and P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D) P. Dunning (P)

  

 

BRATOFT

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Receiver T. Parish and farmer. Mail from Spilsby, received 9.30am, dispatched 4.00pm.

 

BRATTLEBY

POPULATION 1921 108

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Mrs. M. Heath Grocer.

Closed at least by 1980 (V Scam)

 

BRIGG

POPULATION 1931 4,019

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to   

(OB129) 1849 - (or Glandford Brigg, P.O. W. Cressey bookseller, stationer & Printer Wrawby St. Money orders granted and paid letters from London and all parts via Lincoln in 9am out 4pm box closes from Caistor, Limber and villages 8am.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office sited at 1 Wrawby Street. Jack Childs was postmaster in c1950's, brother of Chapman at Winterton. Crown office in purpose built building with sorting office. Then converted to MPSO before being resited to shop back in Wrawby Street. Opening hours 2007 08.30

 

BRIGG-Woodbine Avenue

1933 Kelly’s lists a Sub-Post Office, Mrs. L. East Grocer & No.?

 

BRIGHAM

1873 ONLY REF

 

BRINKHILL

POPULATION 1921 84

From the 1840’s the Post Office had been in the nearby village of Harrington but for reasons as yet unknown the office moved to Brinkhill. According to Post Office records the office opened here in 1881. Mail was received from and delivered to Spilsby by foot messenger (about 7 miles each way!) Mail was delivered and dispatched by foot until at least 1905.

The 1882 White’s Directory lists Mr. T. P. Thornley as Subpostmaster grocer and draper. In 1888 a rubber datestamp was supplied to the office, which would have been used to datestamp Postal Orders when issued; so this would be the date this service was first offered.  Between 1892 and 1895 Mrs. J. Thornley, who was presumably his widow, replaced him. By 1900 she had been replaced by Mr. W. Burnett who was also a grocer and draper (D). Her father told Miss Baumber that it was Mr. Burnett who set up bakery, but he was not Subpostmaster for long (B). Mr. R. Baumber was Subpostmaster by 1905 and was listed as a grocer and baker.  The bakery appears to have replaced drapery. By 1905 in common with most other offices Postal Orders could be issued and paid. From 12th May, 1907 Alford replaced Spilsby as the mails dispatch office. However, from 1st April, 1933 Louth replaced Alford as the dispatch office  (D). Mr. Baumber always distributed mail in village from the Post Office.   He continued as Subpostmaster until he died in 1934 (B). The 1933 Directory lists him as a baker and the 1937 Directory still lists the business as R. Baumber. By 1937 a Telephone Call Office facility has been installed. Ellen Baumber his daughter was Subpostmistress until she died in 1974. Ella Baumber her sister then took over assisted by her other sister. Xmas mail was delivered until some years ago. The business was a general stores which baked it’s own bread until 1952. Never a Savings Bank office, the postbus used to call until it was rerouted. Post Office hours used to be 9-5 with half day WED & SAT. By the 1990’s converted to a community office at Miss Baumbers request opening 9-11 5 days a week closed SAT. Miss Baumber has photo of Mr. Baumber’s first day. Closed by September, 1998.

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D). Miss Ella Baumber (B)

 

BROCKLESBY

POPULATION 1841 180, 1851 269, 1861 232, 1881 262, 1891 281, 1901 273, 1911 225, 1921 188, 1931 234,

Office is thought to have opened by April, 1893, until then mail had been delivered from Ulceby.  Prior to that date a private Telegraph wire linked Brocklesby Hall to Ulceby, although by 1919 this connection was altered to Keelby.  Kelly’s 1896 Directory lists the postmistress as Jane Marshland.  The office was designated as a S.O. with sealed bags of mail being delivered directly to the office. Postal Orders could be issued but not paid.

On 6th February, 1900 the office was re-designated as a Railway Sub Office. Between 1900 and 1905 Mrs. Selina Marshland had replaced Jane but what their relationship was I am not sure. Postal Orders could now be issued and paid. On 1st August, 1905 the office was re-designated as a S.O./Post Town The office closed on 30th November, 1922. Mrs. Marshland was still in charge in 1919 so was probably there in 1922.

BROCKLESBY FORMERLY BROCKLESBY VILLAGE

When this office opened it was named Brocklesby Village. The village is the Estate Village of the Earl of Yarborough, which would could account for the fact that a village of less than 300 people was accorded the status of having two post offices.  According to Post Office records a rubber datestamp was supplied to this office in 1898, which may be when it opened. However, the office might have already have been open as these datestamps were usually supplied so that Postal Orders could be issued.  The first Directory entry is not until 1905 when John Holway was listed as Subpostmaster.  Mail was delivered from Brocklesby R.S.O. Postal orders could be issued and paid. By 1913 Fred Holway had replaced John but the relationship is not known. By 1919 the office had again changed hands and John Johnson was in charge. The office was renamed Brocklesby on 1st December, 1922 and from that date mail was delivered from Habrough.

Later memories were that the office was situated at the house at the telephone box. “There was a Post Office at Mrs. Dawson’s House. You went into her kitchen and asked for what you wanted and she’d open a drawer and get it. There weren’t many other things, just stamps, postal orders and notepaper.  Then Mrs Bark had it and they made the pantry into the Post Office and you went to a little window out of the back kitchen but she still; didn’t sell any extras.” (V) Kelly’s directory confirms this as by 1922 Charles Edmund Dawson was listed as Subpostmaster. No owner is though listed after 1922.  By 1933 a Telephone Call Office facility had been provided.

Mrs. Coulson also feels that Mrs. Dawson was worked the office and then Mrs. Dorothy Bark who ran it c1957-1967. She was definitely there in 1962. Then the P.O. moved to Whipps Lodge (right hand side) and Mrs. Nancy Chapman was Subpostmistress c1967-1973. The Post Office there was in a separate outhouse linked to house by a passageway. Mrs. Chapman used to have to come out of her back door to go into P.O. The office was then moved in April, 1973 to the current site situated at 10 Main Road. Mrs. Dorothy Coulson was appointed Subpostmistress. At that time it was a Non Cash Account Office, sending the paperwork to Louth, does Telephone bills. Sells newspapers sweets etc. Worried about business rates 10/91. Mr. Coulson had painted a very old looking name board to go with P.O. (C) With the advent of the Horizon computer system all offices now offer the basic range of facilities and produce a cash account. In December, 2007 office being considered for closure as part of the 2,500 closure programme. The planned closure date was 31st January, 2008.

 

 Information Frances Vaughan born 1909 Keelby Remembers (V). Mrs. Coulson (C)

 

BROUGHTON

POPULATION 1921 1,744

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 - P.O. Mrs. M. Bones Receiver letters from Brigg in 11.30am out 3pm, Mitchell Subpostmaster in 1930's. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. T. & Tel. Call Office Letters From Brigg E. Mitchell Stationer & Post Office

 Mr. Hurst Subpostmaster c1973 until he died c1982. Property was one unit until split in April, 1993. Mrs. Hurst then Subpostmistress until 1988. Graham took over on 28th June, 1994. Gas Keys, then Quantum, YEB tokens, also sells cards and stationery.

 

BRUMBY

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed c1923

 

BUCKNALL

POPULATION 1921 258

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln A. Applewhite Grocer

Temporarily closed Tuesday 29th August, 1989 sited in general stores, eastern side of village since c1972. In Gansfield Bungalow opposite school prior to that having been moved there from present site by Subpostmaster when he semi retired,

 

BUNKERS HILL

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Sited in North Greetwell. Just a small counter sited in a porch- Closed in 1998. Subpostmistress had been ill and died after office closed.

 

BURGH-ON-BAIN

POPULATION 1921 151

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Via Hainton H. Kemp Grocer, Carrier. (D)

Mrs. R. Kemp had Post Office on north side of the road opposite the present site. As well as the Post Office it was also a shop and a carriers to Louth. Then P.O. moved to present site. Titley family ran it, possibly before it was the P.O. There were two different families of Titleys who had it. One of which the wife died. The Titleys extended the premises at the back. The property was three two up and two down cottages, two of which have been knocked together. Then Mr. and Mrs. Moore had it again possibly before it was a P.O. Then their daughter Christine Moore was Sub postmistress from c1980 for 5 years. Then a young couple with two children and a young baby had it. They were only there a short time; and being unable to cope with the business, let it run down. Douglas and Vera Miles (Sub postmistress) since 21/10/1987. Building built 1839 part of William Fox village Estate now partly sold to an Oxford College. Office is non C/A but F/T, sells YEB tokens. Situated in the one general stores in the village, has some passing trade from the main road. They specialise in baking, Mr. Miles baking his own bread and cakes in a modern purpose built bakery situated to the rear of the premises. Office suffered a robbery on 16/6/92. (M)

Datestamp to 16/6/92 then used Bucknell until new datestamp supplied in 9/1/93 (Lincoln spelt incorrectly) . Closed by 2000.

INFO  Mrs. Miles (M)

 

BURGH-IN-THEMARSH/BURGH/BURGH-LE-MARSH

POPULATION 1921 897

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Receiver John Smith and grocer, draper and druggist. Mail from Spilsby, received 10.00am, dispatched 3.30pm.

Post office was sited at 33 High Street on the SW corner of the junction with Orby Road. Mr. Mackinder was Subpostmaster for many years possibly even before 1918. During that period the adjoining property was also part of the post office and was run as a grocery shop.(DS) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office G. Mackinder Grocer.(D) Years ago the mail used to come to Burgh Station and be taken to Skegness in the days before Skegness developed. In 1951 Mr. J.W. Jinks came from Peterborough to be Subpostmaster. He appointed a manager to run the grocery shop and later sub let it. Mr. Chafers sister became involved. In 1953 Mr. Jinks returned to Peterborough to run another post office and Desmond Ernest Chafer was appointed. His sister was concerned about what would happen to the grocery shop and persuaded Mr. Jink's to sell the whole site to the Chafer's. Mr. Chafer had no experience of the Post Office but had done some auxiliary work on the mails and when Mr. Jink's was considering selling was able to spend enough time with him in the office to be successful at the interview in Skegness. Mail work was a substantial part of the business. Four mail rounds were operated. A van brought the mail from Skegness and then the driver would sort out his round and deliver to the S.W. parts of the village and to Bratoft and Irby. The sorting office was behind the counter area. There were 3 bicycle rounds - the village round, the Station Road Round and the Orby Round. Later the village part of the van round was split off and a fifth round delivered by cycle to that part of the village. Local mail was taken to a bus stop in the village and a key was used to put the sack in the back of the outside of the bus at 9.30. Mrs. Chafer usually used to do this as the postmen would not have finished their round and a special agreement with the union was agreed to permit her to do this. At 2.45pm the bus would arrive at Burgh from Skegness and a post woman would bring a sealed bag to the office from the bus for 3.15. She and another postman would then sort and do a second delivery. She would deliver in the village and he would do Station Road and to Orby Post Office and return emptying the boxes on the way. All the outward mail would then be sorted into bundles and put in a sealed bag for collection at 17.45 by a van from Skegness which would take it to Burgh Station. The bag/s would then be unsealed at Peterborough and the bundles checked from the dispatch docket and sorted into the appropriate destinations. As well as the supervision of the Postman and ensuring their uniform etc was ordered the Subpostmaster was responsible for any Registered mail and prepared the items for the postmen to sign for  each round. At Christmas mail would also be prepared for the 12.00 train from Burgh with the bags being taken there by the Mr. Chafer's own transport. Mr. Chafer also remembers getting a call one Sunday from Skegness whether he would be in that evening. A large mail van arrived and a large quantity of mail and parcels was delivered. This was more than enough to deliver the next day so what came in on the Monday had to be sorted on overtime when the days morning deliveries had been done. The mail work was concentrated on Skegness c1984-1986 with just one village round remaining. This round didn't last much longer. The office was a telegraph office for Burgh and also Welton-Le-Wold. Messages were often delivered by Mr. Chafer himself or by a postman when he had completed his deliveries. Datapost or franking machines were never handled. Mrs. Chafer would help out if things got very busy. The office started doing MVL's about the mid 1970's. One date stamp was used on the counter, one in the sorting office and a parcel stamp.(DS)

In August 1996 Mr. Chafer retired and the Post Office Moved to an unoccupied shop further east down the High Street on the South side opposite the Public House. Mrs. Denise Johnson was appointed Subpostmistress, new to post office work. A two position brick faced counter was built on the west wall and the shop was fitted out in three weeks.(DJ) The office sells greetings cards and stationery in addition. No machines are used but quantum gas was provided at one stage. The hours of opening are 9-12.30, 13.30-17.30 MON, TUE, THU, FRI, 9-13.00 WED and 9-12.30 SAT. Mail is collected at 11.00 and 16.30

Info Desmond Chafer (DS),  Denise Johnson (DJ), Directory (D)

 

BURNHAM

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed/renamed Low Burnham 1877

 

BURRINGHAM

POPULATION 1921 706

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Scunthorpe Mrs. B. Tock Draper. (D)

Office sited at 88 High Street (west side of road).  Located at this site since at least 1940. It used to be a tailors shop and the property is three cottages that have been merged. Mrs Newstead was Subpostmistress for quite a long while prior to when Trevor Bakewell was appopinted c1982. Prior to Newstead someone with surname J? Trevor move to Westcliff and Mrs. Edna Errington appointed 24th October, 1988.  Business is a general stores with one position Post Office located in S.W. corner. The basic range of Post Office services are offered. New self inking datestamps about 2002.  Hours 2004 MON-THUR 9-12.30 13.30-17.30, FRI & SAT 9-12.30.New applicants being sought July, 2004.

 

Post 2004 – despatched 10.45 and 16.15

Information E. Errington

 

BURTON (Lincoln)

POPULATION 1921 257

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Once situated on hillside but then moved to the main road and sited in a row of three properties. Two ladies in first house, then Post Office and Mrs. Fairchild in third. Mrs. Elizabeth Baldock Subpostmistress. LLife 12/98. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln Mrs. L. Baldock Grocer.

 

BURTON COGGLES

POPULATION 1921 192

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grantham Via Corby J. Moulds Shopkeeper

By 2003 opens MON, TUE, THUR, FRI 09.00-12.00,

 

BURTON STATHER/BURTON/BURTON-ON-STATHER

POPULATION 1921 1,214

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Receiver Thomas Wood receiver and blacksmith. Mail from Barton received 3 pm, dispatched 10.00am.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Scunthorpe Owner not listed.

Mailwork office Mr. M. T. Usher Subpostmaster in 1992.

 

BURWELL

POPULATION 1851 153, 1861 153, 1881 159, 1891 164, 1901 143, 1911 163, 1921 128, 1931 119,

According to Post Office records the office opened on 5th July, 1849 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  Mail was received from and delivered to Louth. The first Business Directory entry for an office is though not until 1861. This lists a Post Office operating basic services, operated by T. Robinson, who was Receiver at the Stags Head P.H. By 1868 the Post Office had moved and  J. Dewhurst was Receiver, shoemaker and shopkeeper, (Mr. Robinson had died? as Mrs. at Public House).

A rubber datestamp was issued to the office in 1894, which would have been used to datestamp postal orders on issue. The 1895 directory mentions the introduction of this service. Mail still came from Louth but by the Postman from Authorpe.

By 1900 the Subpostmaster was Mr. J. Briggs who was also a blacksmith and cycle repairer. In common with most other offices, postal orders could now be issued and paid. By 1905 the cycle repairing had been taken over by John Henry Briggs. By 1919 Briggs was also listed as a cottage farmer. By 1922 Mrs. B. Briggs was listed as Subpostmistress, blacksmith & cottage farmer (presumably she would be the widow. By 1926 Mrs. Briggs just was just listed as Subpostmistress and John Henry now the blacksmith instead of cycle repairer. The 930& 1933 Kelly’s Directories list a Post Office but give no details.

 

By 1937 a  Telephone Call Office facility had been provided and Miss E. Headland was listed as stationer and Post Office  The office probably changed locations again(D). Mrs. Wilkinson remembered that the office was in The Rise, a big House opposite the garage probably where Miss Headland was. Mrs. Baldock delivered mail from there to Burwell and Authorpe. Then the office moved to the Stags Head again. Pearsons had it there by 1954. Then Margarsons had shop and pub there. Then Maidens took over c1962. They didn't have P.O. at pub long before moving it to the Old Forge Bungalow and ran it there in a porch/old coal house for 10 years. Mrs. Wilkinson did holiday relief for them and then when Mrs Maidens was ill. Eventually they gave it up. Mrs. Madge, Winnifed Wilkinson appointed Subpostmisttress from 25/8/1973. The office was sited, after special permission granted, at a council house, later bought outright. P.O. was situated in a former coalhouse and storage place. It had a door from street into customer area for about 3 or 4 people, full P.O. Screen provided with a parcel hatch. Originally access to serving area gained by coming in through the back of the house via the customer area but door later fitted between hall and counter area. Non cash account office to Louth, P.O. only(W). Following a particularly distressing raid by four masked raiders on Tuesday 17/04/1996 the office closed (LL 17&24/4/1996) The Datestamp used was engraved in July, 1933

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D). Mrs. Wilkinson (W).

 

BUTLIN'S HOLIDAY CAMP/HOLIDAY CENTRE

See Skegness

 

BUTTERWICK

POPULATION 1841 579, 1851 625, 1861 605, 1871 619, 1881 533, 1891 473, 1901 473, 1911 523 1921 498, 1931 ?

 

According to Post Office records the office probably opened on 22nd May, 1846 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  Mail was received from and delivered to Boston.

The 1849 Post Office Directory lists a Post Office offering basic services run by Miss Harriett Ann Bas(Z?)lington. Whites 1856 Directory lists the owner as Mr. John Shepherd Baslington but the 1861 Post Office and subsequent business directories list Harriet. Between 1876 and 1882 Miss Mary Brooks Bazington was appointed, clearly a relation but no sure where she fits into the family. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1891 to cancel these. Between 1892 and 1896 Mr. Joseph Barnes was appointed. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office J. Richardson Motor Haulier. (D)  Mrs. Epseba Barnes then Subpostmistress c1933-1946/47 in House in Old Post Office Lane.(F) House covered in white flowers.(C) P.O. was in the dining room, reached via the kitchen. It had a big white table, which the telephonist had to clean daily. Stamps etc kept in a bureau and the telephone exchange was in the same room. The exchange was made automatic c1948. Then Miss Pegg Subpostmistress from 1948.(F) Certificate seen for Miss V. B. Pegg for 33 years service to P.O. presented in 1963. Mr. Noel Curtis Subpostmaster from c1970.(F) Mr. Curtis appointed in 1960's taking over P.O. from old site into existing shop at 5/7 Brand End Road. Office did mail work including mail to Benington. all Mr. Edward Castle appointed Subpostmaster in December, 1990, ex banking. Counter was on east wall but wall to stock room at west end demolished and counter re-sited in S.W. corner after 1990. General Stores and newspapers. Sells stamps to a local garage which sometimes sends outs 2,500 promotional items and to a firm which send out sticky labels.(C) Mr. Castle still Subpostmaster in 2011.

1849 letters from Boston in 9am out 5pm.

 info Lady Freiston (F) Mr. Castle(C)  Directories (D)

CADNEY

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed between 1915 and 1918. No P.O. in village since at least 1979. Mrs. 'Granny' Wright had a shop at western end of main St. on S.W. corner of junction.

 

CAISTOR

POPULATION 1931 1,571

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. G. Copes Postmaster and chemist and druggist, tea and wine dealer.  Located in Cornhill. Mail from all parts via Lincoln and Brigg, received 11.15am, dispatched 2.45pm. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln T. Hewson Sub-Postmaster And Stamp Distributor Market Place. (D)

Sited in Chemists shop on corner of square opposite present site. Mailwork office. Mr. Philipe last Subpostmaster there. Moved to present site c1975. Edward Jones second Subpostmaster there until there was a dispute between himself and the Post Office.(E) Mike Grant then appointed c1990 with his wife Heather. Mailwork ceased at the office c1992.   Russell Farrar appointed on 28th August, 2002 having been a production manager at a Yorkshire biscuit factory.  Shop also sells stationery cards and gifts including Caistor souvenir pottery.  Russell’s partner Jill’s main responsibility is to look after the shop.(F) DVLA office with three positions to serve a sizeable market town with a number of shops and a National Westminster Bank.

 

Three self inking datestamps in use in 2003, “A”, “B” and newest “C” with the older “M” datestamp held in reserve

INFO Mrs. Edith(E), Mr. Farrar (F)

 

CALCEBY BECK

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed 1856

 

CANDLESBY

POPULATION 1921 189 

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. W. Ward Postmaster and bootmaker. Mail from Stamford, received 8.30am, dispatched 5.00pm. (D)

Early site of P.O. opposite Atkinsons shop in cross roads end of row of 3 cottages now demolished. P.O. there by 1930 and to c1945 Mrs Padley Subpostmistress. (E) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Spilsby Owner not listed. (D) Mrs. Kime Subpostmistress from c1945 in east end of row of cottages opposite church. May have been there only 2 or 3 years. Mrs. Johnson Subpostmistress c1952 behind Croft House. Mrs. Jones Subpostmistress at Hill Crest on Skegness Road. Then Mrs Coward Subpostmistress from c1960 in Brathey, a house opposite the final site. Then Mrs Margaret Epton, niece of Mrs Coward. Subpostmistress since c1970 in 'Ronymar' a house, hatchway from hall in front lounge until the office closed in February, 1994.

Information I & M Epton

 

CANWICK

POPULATION 1921 239

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed. (D)

Small office closed c1980. Information Tony Judge

 

CAREBY

POPULATION 1921 225

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Stamford Owner not listed

Situated in M.O.T. garage on south side of road just east of railway bridge. Mr. and Mrs. Pick ran it for c20 years until c1991/1992. David and Ladine(Subpostmaster?) Hardy then ran it until it closed in May, 1994. Community office at end.

 

CARLTON-LE-MOORLAND

POPULATION 1921 407

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed.

Alan and Pam Chard owners with Alan being the Subpostmaster since 1983. He decided to retire in 24th December, 2010 as at age 67 he wished to retire.

 

CARLTON Louth/ CASTLE CARLTON see Great Carlton

 

CARLTON/CARLTON SCROOP

POPULATION 1921 271

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham A.Came Shopkeeper & Post Office.

Closed between 1941 and 1946

 

CASTLE BYTHAM

POPULATION 1921 470

According to Post Office records the office opened in. 

1849 Post Office Directory. P.O. J. East and free schoolmaster. Mail from Stamford, received 9.00am, dispatched 6.00pm. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham Miss B. Baines Shopkeeper. By 1992 the office was located on the North side of Pinfold Road at Nos. 19/21. (D) Prior to 1992 Mr. & Mrs Hudson ran the business and Mr. and Mrs Grayson followed them.  Mr. & Mrs. Hardy replaced them and then Mrs. S. A. M. Collison was appointed, assisted by her husband. (L) She was the Subpostmistress in 1992. (D) She continued to c1997 when Vickie and Roy Dennis replaced her. Nicky Lyons was appointed in August, 2006 and operates the business with her husband Mark. (L) The business operates as a general stores. By 2007 opening hours were 09.00-12.30 13.30-17.30 MON-FRI 09.00-12.30 SAT. The counter was located in the west side of the rear annexe of the shop.  In December, 2007 office being considered for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme with an outreach service being provided. The owners have campaigned hard to try to keep the office open.

 

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). Nicky Lyons & Staff (L)

 

CAYTHORPE

POPULATION 1921 764

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. Hackett receiver and grocer, draper and farmer. Mail from London via Grantham by mail coach, received 8.45am, dispatched 4.30pm. Mail from Lincoln, received 4.30pm, dispatched 8.45am.

Photograph taken on occasion of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee shows post office located in a shop to N.W. of present site now No. 67 High Street. Later P. O. located to S. W. of present site near the old Cooperative Store, now called The Mews. Mrs. Wilcox was Sub Postmistress there for many years until she died in old age. She handled telegrams. P.O. then moved to present site at No. 58 on the east side of High Street.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Owner not listed and not sure where sited.

Mr. (Sandy) Swiffin became Subpostmaster c1960, with his wife May assisting. He had previously worked for the post office (counter at Grantham?) but with the onset of arthritis he was forced to look for a less demanding position. Then in 1976 Mrs. Janet S. was appointed, her husband looked after the shop. The building, built of Ancaster Stone is quite small with one position. The shop sold tinned fruit, sweets cards etc until Mr. S. retired at 65 and now it is a post office only. Opens standard house closing Wednesday and Saturday. Mail work was conducted until c1982. Three rounds were handled. 1. walking round in Caythorpe. 2. walking round to southern part of village and adjoining hamlet of Freiston. 3. bicycle round to Caythorpe Heath area and agricultural college. Received £2.50 pa to clean telephone box until BT took over. Became a MVL office c1984. Office is busier that first appearance might suggest as it also serves villages such as Bredon, Carlton Scroop, Fulbeck, and Normanton which have no office. There is also above average amounts of foreign mail from forces personnel in the area and from overseas students attending the agricultural college who like to send parcels home. No parcels were being date stamped in office. Recently appointed in 1994 to sell foreign currency but cost is making it uncompetitive with the Girobank Travel Service. In July, 1994 business was up for retirement sale.

 

CHAPEL HILL

POPULATION 1921 145

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1853. PO appointment records list that Samuel Harvey was appointed on 24th March. An undated circular datestamp was supplied in August.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Lincoln Via Dogdyke Owner not listed.

Closed July, 1988 last site in shop E. side of road opposite toilets at this site from Jan 1980. Subpostmistress Mrs. Shirley Allen. Previous site in shop building inside road on west side of main road opposite last site. At that site by 1941. Subpostmistress Mrs. Grace Lamyman. Mail office to c1965 3 postmen delivering to village and Holland Fen, mail from Coningsby, Reopened September, 1990 in new. Spar shop on west side of road in a former car show room. Subpostmistress Miss Teresa Searl, daughter of Subpostmaster  Holland Fen. Community office opening community hours 9-12.30 M-F except 8.30-100 Wednesday. Full girobank C/A office with full counter and screen provided. No problems reopening, just asked when shop opened. Taking time to persuade the locals to re support them.

 

CHAPEL/CHAPEL ST. LEONARDS

POPULATION 1921 491

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Skegness G. Stow Grocer.

Sited at Chapel Point in S.W. corner of 'T' junction just over dyke bridge. Subpostmaster  Eric? George? Belton, his brother having the adjoining garage. Mail work office, shop sold sweets and stationery. Sited there in 1951 and prior to that. (J)

Later office moved south to centre of the village.  c2001 office moved to a purpose built annexe of the Cooperative Store in South Road.  Four positions have been installed and in addition to the normal range of services MVL discs are issued.  Office opens 09.00-17.30 Monday to Friday and 09.00-13.00 Saturday. 

info Mrs. Jubbs Upton (J)

 

CHERRY WILLINGHAM

POPULATION 1921 265

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

P.O. sited in cottage to N.E. of present site. Frank Thompson cousin of E. Speed Subpostmaster  Fiskerton Subpostmaster  for many years. There for many years, reluctant to leave. He was there by c1932. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed.

 Located at 4 Croft Lane, previous site was in house of Corner of Croft Lane and High street. The present site was purpose built on the same owned plot of land. His daughter Anne then took over. Thompsons had present P.O. built (C) Daughter of original owner replaced by Michael and Maureen Downey c1989/1990. (G) The Downey's thought they owned the Post Office for 9 or 10 years. They previously ran Langworth Post Office (M) Jan Glazer appointed Subpostmaster 8/1998. His wife Claire also serves. Two position office, some greetings cards and stationery sold. East Midlands Electricity, British Gas Quantum, manual 3 part receipt machine. National Lottery Instants, Moneygram office. No franking machines, Data post or 24 hour parcel facility. Self inking date stamps from August 1998, no rubber parcel stamp. In 1999 introduction of Diamond Cable TV will probably reduce BT business and also a Pay Point in the local newsagents. (G)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). I. Clarke Fisk. (C), Jan Glazer (G) Maureen Downey (M)

 

CLAXBY

POPULATION 1921 313

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln, Mail To South Owersby, S. Bristow Blacksmith. (D)

Miss Gladys Smith Subpostmistress in 1930's in what is now the old Smithy opposite Jack Shepherd's former shop. She also sold tobacco and cigarettes and her father was the blacksmith. (B) She married a Mr. Bristow. She was one of the very few women to own and drive firstly a motorcycle then a car, which she needed to do, to collect and deliver the mail from the Railway Station (which was 1.5 miles outside the village). This she did twice daily until 1960 when the Station closed. She was the Subpostmistress until 1961 when she retired. The post office then moved to Bill and Kath Thompson’s shop in Boggle Lane until they retired in 1973. (A) The counter was located in an old wash house/outhouse. Conducted mail work until then. Mrs. Brumpton reopened the Post Office as Subpostmistress since 1981 until closure. Located at semi-detached house 4 Cherry Lane at first. Then located at 2 Chapel Bungalow since 1989. Operated as a non-cash A/C office located in the kitchen with shelf at doorway into the hall. Despite pressure from Area office she very reluctant to display a roundel or name of office when closed. Name board put into garden when open. Decided to close after coping through a major operation. (B) See map of sites. Reopened 1990 but closed by 1998.

 

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). Mrs. Brumpton (B) Alan Bristow (A)

 

 

CLAYPOLE

POPULATION 1921 547

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. T. Smith receiver and grocer. Mail from Newark, received 8.45am, dispatched 4.15pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Miss E. Ireland Stationer. (D)

Closed April, 2001 (G)

Info T. Gardner (G)

 

CLEETHORPES

POPULATION 1931 28,624

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office sited in Yarra Road.

 

BLUNDELL PARK

Sited at 201 Grimsby Road on corner of Fuller Street. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, T. & M.O. Office sited at 201 Grimsby Road E. Torry & Son Gents' Outfitters.(D)

In a men's haberdashery shop. Mr. Woodliffe Subpostmaster then Mr. Frank Barker Subpostmaster 1958-1964. Mr. Robert Hardaker Subpostmaster for 15 months but he died suddenly and Mrs. Hardaker has run since. Her father used to be a Subpostmaster in Bradford. Two position office. Near to Grimsby football ground and until c1976 used to be open to 4pm on a Saturday. Able to take Cleethorpes Poll Tax but has to charge fee. Near to YEB showroom so no tokens.(H) Office closed 2nd September, 2003 under reinvention initiative, customers directed to Cleethorpes main office 0.9 miles and  Clee Park 0.5 miles.

Info H Mrs. H.

 

CLEE PARK

The Post Office probably opened on 2nd September, 1895 as CLEETHORPES ROAD GRIMSBY when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office.

The office was renamed CLEE PARK CLEETHORPES on 1st December, 1897. By 1900 the office closed at 1pm on Thursday.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office

Kevin Davis now Senior Asst. Sec. N.F.S.P. was appointed in 1977 having taken over after the sudden death of his father in law. Office used to be on the South side of the road, now a second hand furniture shop (Mrs.H.) RECEIPT 17/2/1981 J. Heppleston. Later moved to Ramsdens.

 

GRANT STREET

run by Hudsons. Closed when B.O. Yarra Road moved to High Street (BP).

 

GRIMSBY ROAD 43 and  63

The 1900 Kelly's list a Post Office and fancy repository at 43 Grimsby Road. The owner was a Mrs. Laura Albeck. By 1905 office had moved to 63 Grimsby Road and the business changed to a stationers. The Subpostmaster was William J. Brumpton.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office 63 Grimsby Road R. Goffin Stationer.

 

GRIMSBY ROAD  431

Sited at 431 Grimsby Road, probably the original site. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office sited at 431 Grimsby Road Miss R. Skinner Confectioner.(D)

Two elderly ladies ran P.O. during war, counter was totally open on the west side of the office. Then Haslet's ran it and then Drayton from 1968. Mr. James Kerr Wallace Subpostmaster since 1971 who runs Post Office with Mrs. M. Wallace. They are parents in law to Allison Wallace former Retail Network Manager at Grimsby. RECEIPT 21/3/1977 J.K. Wallace. Grimsby Bus Tickets, Gas Keys and YEB tokens sold. Close to former YEB showroom, now closed, they used to sometimes run out of tokens and send customers to them. There were open each afternoon but after a fight to get permission they were allowed to close on Wednesday afternoon, now altered to Friday afternoon. 2 position office and corner shop.  Office closed 2nd September, 2003 under reinvention initiative, customers directed to Cleethorpes main office.

info Mrs. W.

 

HIGH STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, & M.O. Office sited at No.43 High Street C. Sheardown Stationer. Now closed.

HIGH STREET 29-31

Selected as a office to sell Gold Medal Next day stamps and open 10.00-14.00 on Sunday for the three Olympic weeks.

KINGSWAY

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office sited at No.19 Kingsway Mrs. H. Smith Draper. Now closed

PARK STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office under Grimsby section. (D)

In the 1930's office was located at 136 Park Street. A mother and daughter team from London ran the office. Unfortunately they had some accounting problems and took their own lives using a gas oven in the back of the premises. The Post Office moved to another location and was used by the U.S. Military during the 2WW as a lock up for AWOL soldiers etc. In 1945 it was converted into a newsagents. Mr. And Mrs. Brooks ran the Post Office at the new location. Kevin Davies married the daughter of the family and later took over the Post Office. (M)

According to Post Office records it was closed on 13th March, 1992.

Information Directories (D), Max Immingham (M)

 

QUEENS PARADE

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, & M.O. Office. Sited at 8 Taylor's Avenue Miss L. Green Confectioner. This may refer to Old Clee.(D)

Office moved in 1997/1998 from Taylor’s Avenue to Tate’s Spar Store at the west side of Hardy’s Road, at the north corner of Pearson Road. An Alliance and Leicester ATM was installed c2002/2003.  The National Lottery and a Payzone terminal are also operated in the shop area. The counter is situated in the northeast corner of the store and has three positions.  Three datestamps have been provided for the staff involved.  On Christmas Eve, 2005 youths set fire to some rubbish behind the store and extensive smoke/fire damage was caused to the shop and Post Office. The Post Office was therefore temporarily closed until 11th August, 2006.  By 2007 the office was able to offer a passport checking service and offer euros and U.S. dollars on demand. (H)

Information Debbie Hall (H)

SANDRINGHAM ROAD

This office was opened to serve the needs of a new Grimsby and Cleethorpes Corporation estate.  According to Post Office Records it was opened in 1959, probably when a single ring datestamp was issued on 2nd July, 1959. (D) When the offer of a Post Office was made the only person who was interested was Cyril Clayton who had rented no 36 in the parade of shops on the estate to open as a pharmacy.  Margaret his daughter thought the dispensary might have been open as early as 1953. Cyril was therefore appointed as the first Subpostmaster at the office.  He continued in post until when he retired in 1968.  His daughter Margaret Townend nee Clayton then took over and acted as Subpostmistress until 1968.  A couple from Scunthorpe then took over the business (T). By 1993 Mrs. R. Masharani had been appointed (AR)

 

Information- Information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D) Margaret Townend (T)

 

WARD STREET

Closed by 06/06/1923 to Blundell Park

 

CLIFT ROW

Grantham, penny post 1841 only ref.

 

COBB

Spilsby 1892 only ref

 

COLEBY

POPULATION 1921 352  

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Early site in first pointed roofed house in Church Lane to west of church. Run by Mossman 1WW period. Then moved to Bentley House, 19 Blind Lane. Situated in wooden annexe built onto N. side of house, fitted with post box. Run by William Shepherd Jeffery with help from his mother Harriet Elizabeth.(JB)  1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln W. Jeffery General Store. (D) Slump after war and Bill had to think what enterprise he could turn his hand to so set up the P.O. Bill married Lill in 1926 and they moved the P.O. and opened a shop in premises in Church Lane opposite church. Bill delivered the mail before they opened up. Janet remembers Lill always had a little paraffin stove going in the P.O. and a pan of boiling water to melt the sealing wax. They retired c1961/62 and P.O. moved to 9 Church Lane. Noreen Foster had a purpose built bungalow and shop built on site of former blacksmiths yard. She was there in 1974 and probably to 1975 to be replaced by Locks who lasted c2 years and then Lancaster’s there in 1976. (JB) Mrs. Carol Myers then Subpostmistress with her husband assisting. (JB,PB) They ran it for c5 years until they closed it (PB). Mrs Myers continued to run the office for a period after her original resignation date until Pamela Boura reopened it in her dining room at 5 Far Lane late in Novemer, 1983. In 1986 Pamela and husband went out to Australia for a year to see relatives and he worked. During this time Angela White appointed as temporary Subpostmistress. New section built onto house in 1988. Mr. Boura an engineer and Pamela an architect were able to design and build it themselves. Garage customer area and P.O. counter provided, building faced in local stone laid by Pamela. C/A girobank office. Was unable to do overseas parcels when she first took over (not a M.O. office?) but since origin numbers abolished in 1991 has started doing them. The Post box in village it situated at the entrance to the village and not at the P.O. Royal Mail don't like providing new wall boxes because of problems if P.O. moves and as P.O. is at the end of a no through road, Pamela decided it was best not to have the box at the P.O. It also helped to keep the neighbours happy who were concerned about increased use of the road following the P.O. being provided.(PB). Office closed when Pamela resigned in September, 2001(PB). Pamela became Subpostmistress at Barton Mills, Suffolk.  The office reopened in village hall at Easter 2002 but was only open for a few months (PB) It is thought to have closed following a burglery at the site. (D)

Information from Pamela Boura (PB) , Janet Baggeley (JB), Own information (D)

 

COLLYWESTON

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

By 2007 office located at 26 High Streer and opening 09.00-15.30.

 

COLSTERWORTH

POPULATION 1921 764

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

(OB215)

1849 J. Abbott Postmaster. letters from London and the S. per mail cart from Stamford in 6am out 8pm letters from the N. in 8pm out 6am.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham Mail To North Witham A. Skillington Stationer.

 

CONINGSBY

POPULATION 1921 1,031

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Miss S. Artindale receiver. Mail from Boston, received 9.45am, dispatched 3.30pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln C. Rickard Grocer High Street.

Located at 38 High Street, Coningsby, LN4 4RA. Bookshop and P.O., Mail work office.  Mrs. R. Sharples Subpostmistress in 1992. Mail from Lincoln via Horncastle and Woodhall Spa arrives at 6.35.  Martin Rickard Subpostmaster from c2001 with Ros Rickard. From 14th February, this became one of the 2,500 additional offices to be given the facility to issue euros on demand.

 

CORBY GLEN

POPULATION 1921 664

According to Post Office records the office opened in.

1849 (CORBY) P.O. R. Willerton Receiver, grocer & draper Market Place was received from and delivered to Colsterworth in 10.00am out 4pm,

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham F. Porter Stationer.

Prior to 2001 located for many years in a private house in 2 Market Place. In 1992 Miss P. A. Musson was Subpostmistress and office closed on Thursday afternoon. By c2001The office moved and was located in the Fighting Cocks P.H. open 10.30-15.00 MON-FRI. (D) Mrs. Dalloe was Subpostmistress but she died in 2003.  In November, 2003 Helen Dunn was appointed Subpostmistress and the office was relocated to the former smoking room of the village hall. The counter is located at the north end of the building. (D) Opening hours in 2007 were 09.00-13.00 14.00-17.30 MON-FRI except 09.00-13.00 THUR, 09.00-12.30 SAT.

 

CORRINGHAM

POPULATION 1921  546

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

from "Saved by the Bell P.M. Greatorex" - In late 1800's letters and parcels first sent to Heapham then delivered on foot for a further fee, this could vary from 4d. to 6d. dependent on the size of the package. Mr. Hanson ran first P.O. in front room of his house in High Street opposite the blacksmith's shop. (Houses opposite the present garage with the Police House next door {Mrs. Hill}). His son Albert became the postman delivering mail in Corringham and the outlying district. After Mr. Hanson's death Miss Ellis took over on same premises ably assisted by her uncle Mr. Skinns. When she retired the P.O. transferred to the present site in Middle Street and Mr. John Harrison ran it in conjunction with his grocery business. He was also an offal merchant and dealer in livestock. Arrangements were made with the postal authorities for transactions to be made on his behalf by his wife and son Arnold who was also the postman. In later years, John was solely a farmer and Arnold and his wife Kathleen conducted both businesses until their retirement in 1966.”

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Gainsborough A. Harrison Grocer. (D)

 Many owners since then, now a mini market.(PG) Previous postmasters were Harrison 20 years, (to 1966 PG?) Garlic 6 years, (*more?) Patrick 6 years, Kirk two years.(W) RECEIPT 25/5/1978 D. Patrick. (N) Tony and Thelma Whitby took over Post Office in 1988. (W).  They continued until July, 2002 when Patricia (Trish) Hardwick was appointed and the business moved to the existing butchery business of A. H. Hardwick and Son at 7 Middle Street. The Post Office operates from 08.00 to 13.00 Monday to Friday.  The horizon equipment is at the eastern end of the shop building, which forms an annexe to a house, next to the glass counter which faces north. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.  

info Directories (D), National Federation of Subpostmasters (N), P.M. Greatorex  (PG), T. Whitby (W)

 

COVENHAM 

 POPULATION  1851 468, 1861 494, 1871 434, 1881 406, 1891 347, 1901 285, 1911 271, 1921 265, 1931 253,

The Post Office is thought to have opened when an undated circular datestamp was supplied on 10th July, 1850. Whites 1855 list Subpostmaster as Henry Baker. He was also a grocer and by 1861 also listed as a draper. Mail was delivered from Louth. By 1882 Mr. John Spence, an existing blacksmith in the village had been appointed Subpostmaster and continued as a blacksmith and was also a grocer and draper.   A Rubber datestamp was provided in 1897 to enable postal orders to be datestamped when issued. By 1905 Miss Mary Ann Spence had been appointed, probably John’s daughter as he is still listed as grocer and blacksmith. Postal Orders could now be issued and paid. By 1919 there is no mention of John and Mary is now listed as a grocer. By 1933 the office could also be used as a telephone call office. Mary was still listed in 1933 but the 1937 directory mentions Ella Margaret Spence. (D)

More recent memories site the office in cottage opposite final site but it is not sure what date this was from and could be where the Spence’s had it. John Grundy was Subpostmaster, having taken over from his mother. It was a Post Office only with sweets and petrol pumps. He was interested in traction/stationery engines but later committed suicide. Roland Smith ex Subpostmaster Fotherby had shop. His father, a builder built the present building in June 1975 and general stores continued. His wife Carol took over from JG as Subpostmistress in 1980. Sold business in 1980. (RS)  John Mileman took over on 30/11/1984 and post office closed on 29/07/1998. (JM)

Information Directories (D), John Mileman (JM), R. Smith (RS)

COWBIT

POPULATION 1921 528

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Spalding Mrs. N. Higham Shopkeeper. (D)

Post office was sited in a shop owned by Mrs. Higham. She was Subpostmistress here from c1952-1992. Two attempts were then made to provide an alternative site. Firstly located at Five Winds Filling Station for approximately six weeks and then in Backgate for six months. An office was eventually opened again on 28th February, 1994 at Thorpe's Garage 102 Barrier Bank owned by D.A. & M. Thorpe (on east side of road, Northern end). A one-position cubicle office is provided on the eastern side of the shop area. Office opens morning only.

info Thorpes

 

CRANWELL

POPULATION 1921 2,191

Opened in the 1930's at a R.A.F. Officers training establishment. Originally sited in a shed in Cranwell Avenue. Mr. Stan Robinson was the first Subpostmaster. (PS) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., & T.E.D. Office R.A.F. College Mail To Baynards Leap.

 Then in c1978 Mr. John Robinson (no relation) was appointed and moved P.O. to the nearby shop in Cranwell Avenue opposite the guard room. In 1988 the NAAFI took over the shop, reduced the post office area from three to two positions and extended shop into a supermarket type store. By July, 1974 the nominee Subpostmaster for this and other NAAFI offices was Mr. Waite. The manageress since 1981 is Phyl Sutton. Office is a MVL office since 1980, but not datapost. Deals with a lot of forces mail and foreign mail.(PS)

info Phyl Sutton  (PS)

 

CRANWELL VILLAGE

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office G. Bristowe Shopkeeper.

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

P.O. sited on village green opposite Church in a building dating from 1800(M). Front part of shop built on later over former courtyard.(M) Barn on premises was a blacksmiths shop(M) Mrs. Munday ran it in 1950's she had extension built onto front of shop (LR). Then Mrs. Marriott ran it and then Mrs. Turner (LR). Peter and Mary Bates ran it (but not necessarily after the Turners).(M) Mr. Trevor Morley Subpostmaster from November, 1992.(M) General stores and newsagents but also a Spar shop in village. F/T Girobank C/A office closing TUE afternoon. Village heavily influenced by presence of Cranwell RAF establishment and other RAF camps in the area. Local population more transient than normal and home occupied by more working people than normal in a village. Also quite a few retired people who use to be in the forces. (R)

INFO Mrs. Morley(M) Residents(R)

Contacts

Mrs. Bristow 32 College Road - little girl in early photo of premises relation Brian Edwards 3 Harrington Rise, Mrs. Harris 8 Crane Close, Tom Copeland 35 Sleaford Road, John Dennis 14 Sleaford Road & Lady Sleaford Rd via P.O.

 

CROFT

POPULATION 1921 687

According to Post Office records the office opened in. 

Ernest Lusby was Subpostmaster and grocer until 1920 when he moved to South Thoresby Post Office

Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Wainfleet Owner not listed.

 Post office sited on west side of road south of the cross roads, opposite side road. John and Lynn had Post Office. Then Eve Newson was Subpostmistress from 1983-November, 1984. She was succeeded by Mary Chapman who closed the office c1990.

 

CROWLAND

POPULATION 1921 2,707

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. Sutton Postmaster. Mail from Peterborough received 8.30am, dispatched 5.00pm.

(OB041 KIRKBYTHORPE 1885),

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Peterborough Owner not listed

 

CROWLE

POPULATION 1921 2,833

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Miss M. Tong receiver. Mail from Bawtry by mailcart, received 10.30am, dispatched 2.30pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office sited in High Street. Letters From Scunthorpe T. Smales J.P. Stamp Distributor.

 

Mailwork office Mrs. H. Garbutt Subpostmistress .

 

CROXTON

POPULATION 1851 114, 1861 122, 1871 124, 1881 120, 1891 96, 1901 118, 1911 119, 1921 99, 1931 99,

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

According to Post Office records a rubber datestamp was supplied to this office in 1893, which may be when it opened. However, the office might have already have been open as these datestamps were usually supplied so that Postal Orders could be issued. Mail was delivered from Brocklesby S.O.  The first Directory entry is not until 1896 with George Beswick listed and Subpostmaster and cowkeeper. Postal Orders could be issued only, but by 1905 they could also be paid here. When Brocklesby office closed on 1st December, 1922 mail was then delivered from Ulceby.  By 1933 a telephone call facility was provided at the office.  George was still listed as Subpostmaster in 1937 and probably continued until it closed between 1941 and 1946.  This would have given George the rare distinction of having operated the office for about 50 years and seen it open and close under his tenure.

CROXTON KERRIAL

In 2004 Post Office was located at 8 Main Street. Contact : Ms Pauline Campbell Telephone : 01476 870 088 also a food shop.



CULVERTHORPE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Sleaford, closed 1870

 

DAWSMERE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed by 2003

 

DEEPING ST. JAMES

POPULATION  1841 1733, 1851 1849, 1861 1763, 1871 1720, 1881 1648, 1891 1658, 1901 1513, 1911 1544, 1921 1536, 1931 1536,

Office is thought to have opened on 22nd August 1854 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  This is a late date for a population of this size but is probably due to the close proximity of Market Deeping. The 1855 P.O. Directory lists Thomas Merriman Cansdale as receiver and shopkeeper. Mail came from Market Deeping. According to Post Office records the office closed in 1855 or 1856 and was not re-established until 1874. The directories of 1856, and 1868 make no mention of a Post Office and the directories of 1861 and 1876 mention the mail collection times and say Post Office but do not refer to any specific owner. The letter sent from both parishes in 1867 to the Postmaster General, requesting a speedier delivery of mail from Lincoln shows the close link between Market Deeping and Deeping St. James (full details will be shown under Market Deeping).  

On 1st November, 1880 the range of services was extended to include Money Order and Savings Bank. Whites Directory of 1882 lists a post office in the High Street and the 1885 Kelly’s lists the owner as Mrs. Hannah Cansdale. By 1889, in common with other Savings Bank offices, Annuity and Insurance Business could also be conducted. By 1892 the office moved site to 14 Church Street and Mr. Samuel Morton was the postmaster at his grocery and bakery business. By 1896 it was noted that telegrams could be collected from the station. By 1905 telegrams were delivered to Market Deeping but could be despatched from the railway station.

From 1st August 1907 mail started to be delivered from Peterborough. By 1909 Mrs. Caroline Morton (Samuel’s wife?) was listed as Subpostmistress and between 1922 and 1926 Samuel Morton (his son?) took over. By 1930 the office also acted as a telephone call office with the telephone number Market Deeping 25.  From 1st June, 1934 a telegraph service was inaugurated at the office (Code DXJ). By 1933 the Subpostmaster was Arthur Edward Batt (Ted) who was also a grocer. (D) He assisted by his wife Helen and the came from Southampton. His son Alan is thought to have then taken over. (C) By then the telephone number was 225. (D) In 1969 the office was still at No.14 Mr. Compton is thought to have taken over from the Batt’s and he moved the office to the current site at No.12 Church Street.  Mr. Ron Samuel an ex Squadron Leader was appointed in 1977.  Mrs. Maggie Clack was appointed on 15th May, 1982 assisted by her husband. (C) A two-position office is operated with the counter at the eastern end of the building.  Mostly just a post office but also sells cards, stationery and paperback books. By 2007 opening hours 09.00-13.00 13.45-17.15 except 09.00-13.00 FRI, 09.00-12.30 SAT

Information- Own information/Directories/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith. (D) Mrs. Clack (C)

 

DEEPING ST. NICHOLAS (Littleworth)

POPULATION 1851 1098, 1861 1180, 1881 1364, 1891 1325, 1901 1255, 1911 1439, 1921 1540, 1931 1766,

Following drainage works and the arrival of the railway at Littleworth Station this village was established in the 1840's. According to Post Office records the office opened in October, 1852 and an undated circular datestamp was supplied to the office.  Mail was received from and delivered to Spalding by messenger. White's 1855 Directory lists a Post Office offering a basic range of services located in Littleworth Drove. The subpostmaster was Mr. William Pretty who was also the schoolmaster, surveyor and insurance agent. However, the P.O. Directory of 1861 indicates that by then the post office had moved to another site and was operated by William Snart who was also a blacksmith. He continues until at least 1882. A rubber datestamp was supplied in 1885 to enable postal orders to be franked when issued. 1881 had seen the introduction of these still familiar Orders. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. 1885 is probably the first year they were available here and they were certainly available by 1889. The 1889 P.O. Directory also lists that Robert Golding had taken over as Subpostmaster. I am not sure why Snart decided to resign as he continued to be listed as a blacksmith, but perhaps only briefly until he retired. Golding is not listed as being anything other than a Subpostmaster, his office is listed as being located in Littleworth. Between 1892 and 1896 the office again changed hands and Miss Charlotte Melbourne was appointed. In 1900 the range of services offered was greatly extended. From 1st October money order and savings bank transactions commenced and on 24th December a telegraph was installed (Code DPE). Prior to this transformation of the services offered Mrs. Mary Riggall had been appointed. By 1905 in addition to postal services Money Orders, Telegraph, Telegraphed Money Orders, Express Delivery, Parcel Post, Savings Bank and Annuity and Insurance business was being conducted. The 1927 Kelly’s lists Mary as Subpostmistress but as the business was solely a Post Office the Directories to 1937 do not list an owner. (D)

Mrs Seymour recalls that the early site of the office was opposite the Plough P.H. in Main Road. It had big long board on the front and a telephone switchboard. Mr. Riggall was the Subpostmaster for many years then Mrs. Spriggs. So that ties in with the Directory information. Mr. Riggall was probably the son of Mary Riggall. The office moved to 2nd house to north of Plough c1952. Mrs. DeAcorn was the first Subpostmistress at that site for c7 years. The Mrs. R. M. Seymour was appointed on 1st May, 1959, and had 2 days training. Mail work office, mail from Spalding until 1984/85. Bicycle round but postman had to reach farm cottages at the bottoms. He had to come back to main road to cross drains. Postman worked 06.45-10.30 and then did cobbling/saddling. Mrs. Seymour remembers sending pheasants registered post by the brace. Up to 30-40 brace to go all over the country. Each had to be weighed and wax sealed. Irish potato pickers were also sending money home registered. In 1959 the pension was £2.50 pre graduated pension days, 10/- widows. (S) When Mrs. Seymour retired the office was moved to The Plough P.H.

Information- Own information/Directories/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith. (D) Mrs Seymour (S)

 

DEMBLEBY

POPULATION 1921 52

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Sleaford W. Marsh Wheelwright.

 

DENTON

POPULATION 1921 565

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham Miss S. Geeson Shopkeeper

 

DIGBY

POPULATION 1921 368

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Mail To Rowston, W. Thorpe Shopkeeper. (d)

In general store eastern side of village, took over mail work from Scopwick c1979. Mail from Lincoln at 6.25. Mr. Thorpe was Subpostmaster c1960/70's, his son was later Subpostmaster at Woodhall Spa (HB).  Mrs. S. Chadwick Subpostmistress in 1992(AR)

info HB HB Tattershall

 

DIGBY AERODROME

POPULATION 1921 200 (Ashby-De-La-Launde)

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Digby J. Pearson Motor Engineer & Garage. (D)

Mr. Stuart Berry Subpostmaster c1969-1986 He extended premises, mainly house in 1976. Mr. P. Goddard Subpostmaster 1986/1987 Mr. Gene Giblett Subpostmaster 1987- Aerodrome had fighter planes during war, by 1991 Signals Station. General stores with newspapers. Used to have paper boys but Mr. G. and his wife now do it themselves. Petrol station on forecourt. Garage & car sales premises available for lease but empty in 1991. GR freestanding pillar box outside office. C/A office rem ex Lincoln. Problem that RAF personnel once they go abroad lose their weekly family allowances and can only have it monthly when then return INFO FROM GG

 

DODDINGTON

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Earlier site was in Main Street.  Located in a house which also had an antique shop and later a tea rooms.  Ros and Gillian Beale ran it.  Ros was a chef and decided to give up post office and open site as a restaurant. From c1975-1980 Post Office moved to 9 Lincoln Road.  Office was in the front porch of a bungalow served from the corner of the lounge. Mrs Margaret. It was a non C/A office to Louth Taylor was Subpostmistress.  The office closed in September, 2000.                         Information P. Howden. 

 

DOGDYKE

POPULATION 1921 178 

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to                                                                                                                                                                             

Dogdyke is an unusual parish being divided by the River Witham. The two sections of the parish being linked by a chain ferry. Then the railway from Lincoln to Boston was opened and a station was built at Dogdyke. The (First?) site of the Post Office was in a cottage in Sinclair's Mill Yard, which is now the Marina Restaurant. The Post Office then moved to Dogdyke House sited on the sharp corner of the road from Conningsby to New York. John William Derry became the Subpostmaster there in 1922 or 1923 having moved to the house from Lincoln in 1921. The business was that of a small holding with Mr. Derry working that while his second wife ran the post office and then being present to do the mail work supervision at morning, lunchtime and evening. His teenage son would also sometimes look after the office on a Saturday afternoon so that John could go to see Lincoln play football. Mail work was always an important part the work. There was a large table in the house for sorting mail and also another table, which folded out from the wall. The post box was in the window. Telegrams though were delivered from Tattershall Bridge and New York. In the 1920's the mail would be brought back from Holland Fen and Chapel Hill at lunchtime and the postman from Billinghay would also bring mail. It would then be sealed and put onto a Lincoln Train. In later years the evening mail would be brought back from Holland Fen and Chapel Hill and the postman from New York would also bring mail and it would all be despatched on the 6.20pm train to Lincoln. The business also rented out apartments and hired traps. In the late 1920's a telephone was installed and was available for public use. The operator would ring back to say how much the call had cost. Few people had telephones so only important calls were made. e.g. The local doctor or nurse would be called or use it themselves (the room was cleared in this event for privacy of the call). Also an agent who dealt with a firm selling new potatoes would ring his office to give details of the deals made that day re supplies etc. In 1939 John retired from the small holding and moved the P.O. to a house called Glenroy further east along the New York Road. The post box was in the window.

Mrs. Annie Derry appointed Subpostmistress from 1952. She was married to Mr. Derry, the son of John William. At this time the Post Office moved to the cottage to the east of Glenroy which is now called Butterflys. The post box was in the wall. The P.O. operated from a table in the kitchen and customers used the back door. By 1952 the railway was no longer used for mail and it was brought by motor van. In the 1950's the mail was delivered to Dogdyke by mail van from Conningsby arriving a 6.50, which was quite late as it was one of the last to be delivered. Two bicycle rounds delivered the mail in the village and to Hawthorn Hill and Scrub End. A further bicycle round took the mail across on the ferry to Chapel Hill which had a post lady round for the village, Holland Fen which also had it's own post round and then the Dogdyke round delivered to houses to the south of Holland Fen. The ferryman had for many years been paid 2/6d (12.5p) per week by the Post Office but this was stopped when the Head Postmaster at Lincoln discovered that it was not compulsory. One day though he was using the ferry to visit Chapel Hill and the ferryman man realised who he was, stopped the ferry in the middle of the river, told him what he thought of him and threatened to throw him into the river. The office paid pensions, sold National Insurance Stamps and National Savings Certificates but though a cash account was prepared it was not a NSB office.

The office closed in 1970, Annie's health was failing and the level of business was not such to attract anyone else. Mailwork was such a vital part of the business that it's loss drastically reduced the viability. In common with many offices the loss of sales of employees national insurance stamps to the local farms and the railway stations in the late 1950's also reduced income. During the very severe winter of 1962-1963 the Witham totally froze over. The postman was able to cross over the frozen ice but when the thaw came the ferry was washed away/damaged and the chain broke. For a time the postman took the mail via Tattershall but it had to be transferred to Tattershall. Later the two remaining bicycle rounds were replaced by a moped round and then all this remaining mail work was transferred to New York. Increasingly also new pensioners were tending to choose New York or Conningsby to collect their pensions rather than Dogdyke probably because they could also shop at the same time.

Information Mr. & Mrs Derry

 

DONINGTON/DONINGTON ON BAIN

POPULATION  1841 344, 1851, 489, 1861 552, 1871 485, 1881 473, 1891 432, 1901 343, 1911 325, 1921 320, 1931 312,

The Post Office Business Directory of 1849 lists a Post Office offering basic services with Mr. John Brumpton as Subpostmaster and also a tailor.  Mail was received from and delivered to Louth. According to Post Office records an undated circular datestamp inscribed “Donington” was not supplied until 5th October, 1851.  This possibly though may have been a replacement.  The 1861 directory lists Brumpton as Subpostmaster but the 1868 Directory lists him as tailor only.  This is because, according to Post Offcie Records the Post Office was closed for reasons unkown in 1862.  The office was though re-established in 1869 as “Donington-on-Bain and the 1872 directory again lists Brumpton as Subpostmaster and tailor.  The range of facilities at the Post Office was extended from 1st March, 1875 as the Office was authorised to conduct Money Order and Savings Bank Business. This may have been when Alfred Nixon was appointed as Subpostmaster to replace John Brumpton.  The 1876 Directory lists him as Subpostmaster grocer and draper.  John Brumpton was still listed as a tailor so the location of the office probably changed at this time (D).

Alfred does though not appear to have been Subpostmaster for long as a local resident stated that Mr C.H. Benton became Subpostmaster about 1880. Also that in 1881 Isabella Flintoff was the counter clerk and George Brumpton delivered letters. At that time the office was situated in a shop next to the Black Horse Public House (DC). The Kelly’s Directory of 1882 lists a Theophilus Benton as Subpostmaster, Grocer and Draper so the location probably did not change from Nixon;’s era. White’s Directory of 1885 still lists Nixon as Subpostmaster but I don’t think this is correct as he is not listed in the trade section. By 1889 in common with other Savings Bank Offices Annuity and Insurance Business could be conducted (D). In 1890 Mr. Benton moved the Post Office to the present site (DC). From 1st September, 1891 the mail delivery arrangements were altered and mail started to be delivered from Lincoln rather than Louth.  This arrangement only lasted until 17th November, 1912 when contol of mail deliveries for the office passed back to Louth (D).   In the late 1920's Mr Benton lost his sight and the Post Office was taken over by his daughter Molly (DC). He appears though to still have been Subpostmaster in name as the 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Telephone Call Office owned by T. Benton Grocer (D). Molly did not marry and ran it until 1950. In that year William (Billy) Atkinson bought it and was appointed. He ran it with his son John (and the rest of the family of course) until 1970. After being injured in WW1, John (Jack) Richard Hotchin became village postman. He retired late 1940's or early 1950's. His daughter Ada Hotchin took over from him until late 1950's.(DC)  In 1970 Mr. Hardiment was appointed. He was the father of the owner of the MPSO at Riby Square. At that time it was a mail work office but this arrangement was letter withdrawn when Doncaster sorting office was mechanised.  Mike Seward was the next Subpostmaster being appointed in 1975. He extended shop area into rear room and moved P.O. counter to former warehouse adjacent. Mr. Philip Thomas has been Subpostmaster since September 1987. (PT). Shop comprises a large floor area Spar stores and newspapers.  In 2010 the opening hours are 09.00-17.30 MON, TUE, THU, FRI, 09.00-13.00 WED, 09.00-12.30 SAT.

Info D. Coulam (DC) P. Thomas (PT)

 

DONINGTON (near Spalding)

POPULATION 1921 1,604

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. G. Dolby brazier, tin man, ironmonger. Mail from Spalding, received ?, dispatched ?.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Spalding Owner not listed.

 

Office sited at 9 High Street and Miss Hilary Baker Subpostmistress there by December, 1992.

 

DORRINGTON

POPULATION  1841 379 1851 443, 1861 467, 1871 495, 1881 398, 1891 366, 1901 357, 1911 360, 1921 410, 1931 368

The Post Office probably opened on 11th January, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was provided.  Mail was delivered from and despatched to Sleaford. The 1849 P.O. Directory lists Joseph Cartman as Postmaster and bootmaker.  However, by 1855 he had been replaced by Daniel Woulds as receiver.  Daniel was also a shopkeeper and Parish Clerk so the location of the Post Office also probably changed. Daniel continued as receiver until at least 1868 and by 1856 to c1861 was also offering a carrier’s service to Sleaford on Monday and Lincoln on Friday. By 1872 the site of the Post Office had moved to the Packhorse PH (now demolished) at west end of village on north side to west of school.

 Packhorse P.O. c1870-1890

John Tindall Junior was appointed Subpostmaster and was also a tailor.  His father, also John had been a beer retailer and victualler at The Packhorse since between 1842 and 1849; although until 1856 the pub had been known at the Black Horse. By 1876 John Tindall (junior) was now in sole charge as Packhorse owner, Subpostmaster and tailor.(R)  John Tindall’s wife Eliza was in practise the person who ran the Post Office. (JC) From 1st April, 1884 the Post Town for Dorrington was altered from Sleaford to Lincoln although the villages position between the two towns had always meant that mail was received from each, the bulk of the mail was now delivered in the morning from Lincoln. A Rubber datestamp was supplied in 1892 to enable postal orders to be franked when issued. (R) Later their son William was appointed and inherited the pub and tailoring business.  He died in 1914 but may have retired before then. (JC) (still listed in 1909) His period as Subpostmaster appears to have only been from after 1896 to 1900 as by 1900 John Picker Woulds had been appointed as Subpostmaster. He was also listed as a sexton. (R) At this time the office also moved to south side of road in a house to east of the garage. The Woulds family were relatives of the Tindall’s and were also joiners and carpenters (JC) By 1905 Postal Orders could now be issued and paid. By 1913 the location of the Post Office again moved to the site of Richard Feneley’s grocery and Bakery business.  The Subpostmistress was Miss Ada Feneley (his daughter?). (R) This meant that the P.O. moved to Kew Cottage opposite Methodist Church. T) By 1922 Ada had taken over the business and by 1926 she had become Mrs. Couling. (R) Later she went blind and had to retire. P.O. then returned to Woulds site c1931/32 to be run by Mr. A. Turner who died in 1935 and then by Mrs. Turner. Mail was delivered by Mr. Turner, and then after his death delivered by Mr. Cropper. (T) Unfortunately the directories do not indicate who was in charge of the Post Office.  By 1931 the telephone call facility had been provided and William Arthur Couling continued in business as a grocer. (R) The phone came to the village at the post office and the daughter in law of Mrs. Turner remembered that the local policeman used to wait at the P.O. until his call came. About 1947 the post office again moved to the 1990 site at Mr. Burns's shop on the north side of the road. Mail work was still conducted mail was brought to Dorrington by bicycle and later motorcycle and sidecar. In the 1950's Mr. Burns used to deliver the mail in his grocery van and sold a certain amount of stuff on the way. He had to tread carefully though as if he spent too long selling and not enough time delivering mail the local farmers used to complain that they were getting their mail late and called him the 'midnight merchant'. Mail was delivered to Bloxholme and the A15 but stopped during his time. Mr. Burns extended the shop area and built a new counter area and loading bay. In 1987 Mr. Catlow became Subpostmaster and extended shop area. Originally the post box (now in Museum of L. Life) was in the wall of the original small shop but a new pedestal box was provided. (T) Reopened 1990 but closed on 4th December, 1992.

 

 

Information Joan Colley (also photograph) JC, P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (R), Turner relative (T)

 

DOWSBY

POPULATION 1921 219

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Early site in cottage on E. side of N. end of village. Then owned by Meekle's in last house in Bourne Road to south. 1933 Kelly’s confirms that a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Bourne J. Meekle shopkeeper & Post Office.

Then since 1/8/1970 current Subpostmaster ran it from last house on s. side of Fen Lane. Converted to community office in 1990. (D) Thelma was the Subpostmistress. (P)

 

P. Paulfree (P)

 

DUNSBY

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

closed by 1985

 

DUDDINGTON

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed between 1961 and 1963

 

DUNHOLME

POPULATION 1921 298

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed. (R)

Office was located on the corner of Ryland Road and Lincoln Road in a now demolished first in a row of cottages. It was also a shop. Probably there after 1945. Then moved to present site across the road on the south side of Lincoln Road. Site was owned by Charles Hill and may have been the first Subpostmaster here. He later bought a hotel in the village and sold out to move there. Ann and Peter Crooks ran the office until c1987. They were replaced by Paul and Ann Rice. (A)

Mr. Alistair Taylor Subpostmaster from 10th November, 1993. Spar shop with Lottery. Originally just the central part of the building but flat roof extensions added on at western and eastern eands. Post Office counter was originally located at the western end near the postbox but in 1980's a two position counter was been located at the eastern end. Mail delivered from Welton. Dunholme was consider as the site for the replacement sorting office for Welton but the COOP didn't want to lose control and an alternative site was found on an industrial estate.

Information Rita Audis and husband (A) Own Information and Information from P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (R), Alistair Taylor (T)

 

DUNHOLME RAF

No details closed

 

DUNSBY

POPULATION 1921 260

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Bourne Miss M. Nichols Shopkeeper.

Closed 1982

 

DUNSTON

POPULATION 1921 532

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. Chapel Postmaster and mason. Mail from Sleaford, received 10.00am, dispatched 4.00pm. (D)

 

Mrs. Baldock Subpostmistress c1910-1945 situated in 'The Old Post Office' (N) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed. (D)

Mr. F. S. Hickson Subpostmaster from 1945 until he retired in 1986. P.O. and grocer and confectioner. One mailwork round. Present site in Middle Street Mr. Tickner Subpostmaster since August 1986. General stores.(N) By 1999 service provided in village hall by Metheringham P.O. 2 afternoons per week. (HB) info (N) neighbour, HB

Info Tattershall (HB) Directories (D) neighbour (N)

 

DYKE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

 

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office W. Mills Grocer. On present site at least by 1950. Mills family early owners. One Mills possibly followed by another Mills who wasn't there to long. Mr. Futter then Subpostmaster for 12 years. Then Mr. Pick Subpostmaster c1966- 1989. Mrs. Saddington Subpostmistress since NOV 1989, now community office. Not a mails office, mail came from Bourne.

return to start

Go to letter E

Email to SONIA-AND-ANDREW-REYNOLDS@bigfoot.com

Or Royal mail

return to address.