REYNOLDS COLLECTORS' WORLD


LINCOLNSHIRE POST OFFICES ALPHABETICAL ARCHIVE GAINSBOROUGH TO KNIPTON

   GAINSBOROUGH

POPULATION 1931 18,664

1849 - P.O. Directory.  A. Stark postmaster, printer and publisher.  Market Place. Also letters from London and all parts N.W.S. in 8.40am out 4.20pm box closes 3.3Opm. Money orders paid 10-6 not sun

(OB307) allocated.

 

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office

 

ACLAND ST.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office.  J. Rhodes Shopkeeper Office located at 2 Fawcett Street.

 

Closed 1967

ALBANY GROVE

May not have opened at all in 1894

ASHCROFT ROAD

Closed 1922

BRIDGE STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office.  C. Whelpton Stationer  No. 48,

Closed between 1963 and 1964

DRAKE ST.

Closed 1975

LEA ROAD

MORTON(see rural entry)

small one position office, tucked away in a side street,(R) When closing new people taking over premises not interested in keeping on business(Mrs. J. {ES}) Closed 19th May, 1993 (KS)

NORTH MARSH ROAD

Closed 1917

QUEENSWAY

Sited at 22 Queensway in a parade of shops built c1950’s? (R).  Mr. David Pattison appointed as Subpostmaster, c1985. Business operates as a Confectionery and Tobacco outlet.  Offers the basic range of Post Office Services plus the Lottery which was installed shortly after the game was introduced.  An internal link cash machine has also been installed. By 2005 a modern three position counter had been installed and is situated on the east wall at the rear of the premises. (P)

Inormation Mrs Pattison and Son (P), Myself (R)

ROPERY ROAD

Situated at No. 247. Probably there since 1914. Mr. Tinker Subpostmaster there for many years. He may have had it as a shop only before it was a P.O. (I) 1933 Kelly’s confirms a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office.W. Tinker Shopkeeper located at No. 247. (D),

He was replaced by Mr. Freeman who was there for about a year. Then Mr. H. Danby was appointed, though his wife mainly ran it.(I) In 1986 one position office with sweets, tobacco(R). Brian Ibbitson appointed in November, 1992 now sells YEB tokens and has successfully applied to Gas Board to sell Quantum Keys though he was not originally part of the network and was not considered by P.O. Counters. Since taking over the office is now open lunchtimes and from 0845-1730. Also now opens Wednesday afternoon, though with hindsight Mr. Ibbotson would now just open the shop and keep the P.O. closed. Business has benefited from the closure of Morton, just about a mile away. Now a two position office. Docket box on back wall with compartments for the different groups.(I) Hand stamps - oldest with the *, the other two about early 1993.

Info I Mr. Ibbotson D Directories

 

TRINITY STREET

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only And Telegraphed Money Orders Issued But Not Paid).  The owner of the office was not listed.  (D)

Office is located at 142 Trinity Street on the west side at the N.W. corner with Clinton Terrace.  Mr. Bill (Sydney?) Barrett Supostmaster by 1984.  Be was replaced in 1986 by Mr. Gary Kitching.  Business operates as a newsagents with confectionery and tobacco.  Office opens 08.00 to 17.30 Monday to Friday and 08.30 to 13.00 Saturday.  The office offers the basic range of post office services including YE tokens and bill payments for Anglian and Severn Trent Water.  In addition National Lottery Instants are sold and the office also conducts datapost. A modern three position counter had been installed by 2005 on the South wall of the building.  In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

 

 WASHINGTON STREET

Arthur Spicer kept the Washington Street Post Office in Gainsborough in the 1920’s. (PS) 1933 Kelly’s confirms a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office A. Spicer Stationer located at No.1 (D) Arthur owned several houses in Washington Street as well as the post office. He taught music and played the organ in several of the churches in and around Gainsborough; it was while he was doing this that he met his future wife, Florrie. Arthur was a small, jolly man with a ginger moustache and tinted glasses. His father, Henry Spicer kept a newsagents and tobacconist shop on Silver Street. When he died his mother, Hannah Spicer, lived in one of his houses across the road from the post office. They eventually moved to 313, Lea Road, Gainsborough. Arthur died in 1950 and Florrie in 1955. (PS) Closed between 1949 and 1955.

Information (PS) Peter Surgey

GARTHORPE

According to Post Office records the office opened in1871. Mail was received from and delivered to Hull. Early site at corner of High Street and Shore Road. Plaque on building states site of old P.O. 1769 but this is probably the date the building was constructed. The Post Office opened in the village by 1873 and probably not long before that. A rubber datestamp was provided in 1886. The head office was Hull until 1875, Goole by 1878 until June 1903 when the office became a railway sub office, which meant it received bags of mail directly by train from different parts of the country rather than from the head office. This lasted until at least 1915 but by 1918 the office was back under Goole. By 1926 Scunthorpe had been set up as the new head office of the expanding town and Garthorpe's Head Office was transferred. The P.O. moved (date?) to the present site in Shore Road. Miss Leason was Subpostmistress. She was the sister of the tailor who ran a six man business on the site. P.O. there during the 2WW. Then P.O. moved back to previous site Mr. Arthur Fillingham ran it as a P.O. and grocery business until he died. P.O. was on this site by 1950 to at least 1962. One of the older residents remembered the hand operated telephone ex- change that was at the P.O. but was not sure if this was at Leasons or Fillinghams (probably Leasons). Miss Stronach who was trained by Miss Leason worked for many years for the P.O. at Hull? and other locations before returning to run P.O. for Mr. Fillingham. When he died Miss Stronach arranged to operate the P.O. from lock-up premises in Island Road in front of Island cottage. Office was a mail work office with a van coming from Scunthorpe to sort mail and deliver it in the village with a lady delivering the rest of it in the continuation village of Fockerby. She ran P.O. there for c15 years until March, 1985. P.O. then moved back to Leasons site in Shore Road with Mrs. Jean Bullas as the Subpostmistress. She used to have a grocery shop before she moved to the village and thought she had retired from retail work until she was persuaded to take on the P.O. House used to be called White House but is now pebble dashed. Cash Account office selling sweets and cards. Altered half day closing from Wednesday to Friday. The office closed on 11th March, 1999.

Info mostly Mrs Bullas

copyright Andrew Reynolds The Post Office North Somercotes. Extracts may be printed if acknowledgement given.

GAYTON/GAYTON-LE-MARSH

POPULATION 1841 312, 1851 326, 1861 331, 1871 317, 1881 245, 1891 251, 1901 209, 1911 224, 1921 167, 1931 155,

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1886 and was known as Gayton.  Mail was received from and delivered to Alford. The 1885 Kelly’s Directory lists a Post Office providing basic services operated by the receiver and farmer Thomas Hewson. By 1889 the Directory mentions that as with most other offices Postal Orders could now be issued but not cashed. A rubber datestamp was provided for this purpose in 1886. By 1909 Postal Orders could be issued and paid. Between 1909 and 1913 Miss Constance L. Clarke was appointed as Subpostmistress and was also a grocer. According to Post Office records the office was known as Gayton-Le-Marsh from 11th February, 1913.  Between 1919 and 1922 Herbert Curtis Clarke who was also listed as a grocer replaced her. He also offered a carrier service to Louth on Wednesday and Friday.  I am not sure what relationship he was to Constance. By 1933 a Telephone Call Office facility had been installed. Herbert continued until at least 1937.

The Office was situated in small general stores, the one shop in the village.  This is probably the original site. Mr. F. V. Laing was Subpostmaster by 1993. It had closed by 2009.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories,/P.O. records via Ken Smith/own information (D).

GEDNEY

POPULATION 1921 1,048

According to Post Office records the office opened on 1st June 1839.  Mail was received from and delivered to Wisbech.

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Mrs M. Worn Postmistress. Mail from Wisbech received 7.30am, dispatched to Holbeach 5.15pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office Letters From Holbeach A. Cracknell Shopkeeper. Office located in Chapelgate

 

Proprietor c1950’s C. R. Wiseman

Closed 1990

GEDNEY DROVE END

POPULATION 1921 886

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1865.  Mail was received from and delivered to Wisbech.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Wisbech Via Long Sutton G. Markham Post Office.

Closed c2001

 

GEDNEY DYKE  

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1884.  Mail was received from and delivered to Holbeach.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office Letters From Holbeach. F. Piggings & Son Grocers, Drapers, General Dealers.

Sited in a General Stores on the south side of the road at a corner. One position office counter at the S.W. corner of the premises. New Subpostmaster by September, 2003.

 

GEDNEY HILL

POPULATION 1921 375

According to Post Office records the office probably opened on 11th December, 1851 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  Mail was received from and delivered to Wisbech.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Wisbech. Owner not listed.

Mrs Kay E. Taylor Subpostmistress here in 1992 assisted by her husband Michael. Office has been in family for a number of years and was a bakery. Office located on the west side of Hillgate in a convenience stores. Awarded a community shop development award in 1998. Martin McColls took over business in September, 2008 and Kay continued to run office until July, 2009. Opening hours in 2009 were 09.00-13.00 14.00-17.30 Monday-Thursday, 09.00-13.00 Friday, 09.00-12.30 Saturday. Euro and lottery office. (Z) McColls have a large convenience store here – bread, news, fresh food, off licence, fruit and vegetables etc. Paypoint outlet Counter located in S.E. Corner.

Information Zoe Manageress (Z) 

GIPSEY BRIDGE

POPULATION 1921 294 (Thornton-Le-Fen)

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office. Letters From Boston. E. Whitelam Grocer (D).

The site has been a shop since the early 18th Century. An early photograph shows the Owner as W. E. Rodgers and this may have been before Whitelam. Later the Myers family ran the business.  By 1953 Nancy D. Sallabanks had been appointed Subpostmistress and ran the general stores with her husband John.  Their son Andrew grew up in the business and when his mother died was appointed Subpostmaster in December, 1997.  By 1990 the opening hours were 08.00-17.30 except Wednesday/ Saturday 08.00-12.30.  The early opening hour was granted as a concession many years ago. In 1990 the counter was on the west wall of the shop but in 2005 the shop was being extended westwards and the counter was resited to the north wall of the new extension. (S)

Information Myself and business directories (D) A. Sallabanks (S)

 

GLENTHAM

POPULATION 1921 340

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln T. King J.P. Grocer.

Mrs. Susan Raines Subpostmistress since early 1989 until 27th March, 1992. She was replaced by Maxwell Buck.  Charmain McDermid appointed as Subpostmistress between January and May, 1999. Contact Dennis Knight Highfield Terrace.

 

GLENTWORTH

POPULATION 1921 257

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed and location not known. (D)

Post Office originally sited at the north side of the bottom of St. George's Hill, now No.2. Mr. Pacey ran it for many years until he retired, suffering with arthritis. Miss Edith Sharp Sub postmistress (also known as Miss Waite) by 1940, thought to have been a relative of Mr. Pacey. She ran a bit of a shop selling sugar, flour etc but it was not the only shop in the village. P.O. then sited in February, 1971, tucked away in the N.W. corner of the village at 34 Church Street. This was an existing grocery shop, which was built as an extension to the house in 1964. This replaced a wooden shop building on the other side of the drive. Mrs. Beryl Allen appointed as sub postmistress. Grocery shop continued until 1964 with Mr. Allen doing evening deliveries after he returned from work. Now just a P.O., Non Cash Account office under Louth with mail coming from Gainsborough. Does TV and TP bills, though Mrs. Allen didn't realise she could process TP bills until relatively recently. During one period her REMS kept getting stolen until a marking device was included to apprehend the member of staff at Gainsborough who was taking them. In 1990 size of shop area was halved with a wall being built across the middle of the area to reduce the liability for business rates. Datestamp E12/43.

INFO Mr. & Mrs. Allen.

GONERBY HILL FOOT

Opened by 1900 when a rubber datestamp was provided (S). Earlier site in Great North Road but further north in a cottage now demolished and replaced by an industrial site. (P) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office. (D) Present site built by a new Subpostmaster c1933, he was replaced by an ex forces man who in turn was replaced by Mr. Tallis. Mr. G. Pesche (JOE) was appointed in 1984 (P).  One position office with an internal Link cash machine, opening MON –FRI 09.00- 17.30 except THUR 09.00-13.00 and SAT 09.00-12.30. Accompanying shop is a Spar convenience store franchise (A).

Information (A) myself , (P) Mr. G. Pesche, (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records (D) Directory

 

GOSBERTON

POPULATION 1921 2,022

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. Bishop receiver at “Five Bells”. Mail from Spalding, received ?, dispatched ?.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Spalding Mrs. M. Marshall Sub-Postmistress And Registrar Of Births & Deaths And Vaccination Officer For Gosberton District.

Had a pillar box since 1857 the second oldest in England

 

GOSBERTON CLOUGH 

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Gosberton. Owner not listed.(D) Martha E and Alfred J Witherington ran the Post Office.  I have no exact dates, other than that Alfred apparently died on 12th November 1937.

Their daughter Clarissa (Cal) WITHERINGTON (born after 1901?) took over from them ran the Post Office from a room in the front of her cottage in the main street. She was there in 1953 and continued to run the office for a long time but not after 1970. (H)

Closed 1977

Information Myself and business directories (D) Peter Holmes (H)

GOSBERTON RISEGATE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Risegate Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Spalding Via Gosberton. Owner not listed

Early site at No5 a single house south side of road north of dyke opposite Duke of York PH. Then sited at cross roads at west of village. Subpostmaster Albens non Cash Account, Hickmans, there 12 years non Cash Account, Hewitt allowed to change over to Cash Account office, Williams final Subpostmaster here Cash Account Closed for about 3 months then moved, Mrs. Sheila Hardy Cash Account Subpostmistress since 1986 in General Stores opposite Black Horse pub. Also in 2010. Contact T. Warner at garage re photos.

 

GOULCBY

POPULATION 1841 347, 1851 379, 1861 344, 1871 302, 1881 250, 1891 198, 1901 166, 1911 167, 1921 136, 1931 ?

 

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1883.  Mail was received from and delivered to Horncastle. The 1885 Kelly’s Directory lists a basic Post Office with John Thomas Crow as Subpostmaster and also provision merchant, grocer and tea dealer. The 1889 Directory just lists him as a grocer and Post Office. In 1886 a rubber datestamp was supplied to the office.  Normally this was supplied to datestamp Postal Orders on issue but the Directories do not mention the addition of this service until 1892. By 1892 Mr. Samual Mawer (his first name appears to have been John) had been appointed. His business was listed as Samual Mawer & Son grocers and drapers. By July, 1892 mail commenced to be delivered from Lincoln. On 1st February, 1896 the range of facilities offered was extended to include Money Order and Savings Bank Business.  However, for some reason these facilities were discontinued on 2nd May 1898 and the office reverted to issuing Postal Orders only. The directory of 1896 list the business of that of grocers, drapers, provision merchants, boot and shoes, hardware and general dealers, patent medicines as well as the Post Office. The Mawer’s clearly had problems of some sort as by 1900 they no longer operated the Post Office only the store. Local contacts thought that Mawer’s site was also the final site. By 1900 it had moved to John Robert Strawson’s.  By 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid and the 1909 Directory lists Strawson as a farmer. (D) From 17th November, 1912 mail arrangements were again altered and Louth replaced Lincoln as the delivery office. On 12th October, 1915 a Telegraph facility was provided at the Post Office (Code GUY).  This was unusual for a village of this size and would possibly have been provided with some guarantee of use as neighbouring Scamblesby had had this facility since 1904.(D)  In 1919 Harriet Sanderson's Grandfather was miller baker and Subpostmaster (HS). This bakery, was run by Mr. Strawson. (HS) The Directories do not mention Strawson as having a bakery and the 1919 Directory already lists that Herbert Cotton had taken over as Subpostmaster, grocer and farmer. I am not sure if the office moved at this point. However, by 1922 the Subpostmaster had again changed and John Robert Crawford had taken over. He was also listed as a shop keeper.  The range of facilities offered had been extended to include Telegraphic Express Delivery. Later directories do not specifically mention an owner but it is likely that when the 1937 Directory was published Crawford was then in charge.(D) No actual information form then to probably the 1950’s.

 

 The next known fact  was that Mr. Ken Newsum was Subpostmaster in the back kitchen of  the Old School House. Just a desk for P.O., he had been in the army in India, run on military lines. Mail work ceased during his time, 2 p/t post ladies employed. He died of cancer. Post Office then moved to last site in P.O. Lane (Main Road, Bottom Lane, Donnington on Bain Road). Janet Patricia Windle Subpostmistress. This is thought to be Mawer’s old site. She and husband took over a closed shop and reopened it and took over P.O. in 1969. Full time non Cash Account office occupying a small part of the counter in a general stores with counter newspapers. No S/B Tel A/C's remmed to Louth, green giros cashed but not other banks cheques. P.O. also serves Asterby. No lozenge, no screen. Shop open 9-10 daily except WED 1-5.30., have not had a holiday while there. Older datestamp dated 6/33. Postbus collects mail from Louth.(JW) Closed by 30/07/1997, new owners of the shop had not been prepared to continue Post Office.(LL)

        Mawer’s Post Office site? Pre 1900                                                                                                                             Final site

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories,/P.O. records via Ken Smith/own information (D).  J. Windle (JW) Louth Leader (LL 30/7&6/8/97), Images Brian Varrell. Contact Harriet Sanderson in newish bungalow two back from road to pub.

GOXHILL

POPULATION 1921 1,202

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Prior to Mr. Draper the office was located in a detached house near the church.  Customers were served through a window. (J)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Barrow-On-Humber W. Porter Draper (D).

Mr. Porter moved the Post Office to Howe Lane in the one of the two former railway cottages on the south side of the road just west of the level crossing.  Mr. Draper built an extension to the Post Office between the cottage and the railway line. (now in 2005 the pet shop) (J) I am not sure if Porter was already a Draper operating at this site or both businesses started at the same time. (R)

Porters P.O. pre 1955.

When Mr. Porter died c1954 his niece came to an agreement with Mr. Claude Forrester and he was appointed as Subpostmaster.  The niece did though not wish to live in the westernmost of the two cottages as it was next to the Public House.  Mr. Forrester therefore moved into that house and continued to operate the Post Office on the former site.  He did though arrange for a new house, now called Evenlode, to be built behind the westernmost cottage and adapt the cottage to move the Post office onto that site. At a later date the other house was also converted to a shop and in 2005 is a fish and chip shop.  At that time mailwork was conducted with one round being delivered in the village.  This work is though thought to have ceased in 1984. 

Mr. Don Hurst was appointed late in 1984 or early in 1985 but he only lasted for 18 months. 

Taken about 1986

Taken about 2000

Mr. Alan Jones was appointed on 9th August, 1986.  He had taken early retirement from Boots. He and his wife operated the business as a Post Office with greetings cards and confectionery. From about 1998 Alan tried to sell the business without success.  In 2001 he decided to go restricted hours and open the office full days on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday only, with a half day on Thursday.  Eventually it was agreed to transfer the business within the village in 2003.  By chance the existing newsagent also wanted to retire and had arranged to sell his business to a vet.  Alan was therefore able to rent out the Post Office site to the new newsagent and continue to live in the house at the rear. (J)

In February, 2003 the Post Office therefore moved by agreement to an existing general stores on the eastern side of Westfield Road and Mrs. Caroline Foulston was appointed Subpostmistress. Her daughter Christine Creasey assists her.  The counter is located at the south end of the shop on the east wall and two positions are available.  The office offers the basic range of services and now opens Monday to Saturday. (C)

Taken 2005

 

Information C. Creasey (C), Directories (D), A. Jones (A), Myself (R)    

 

GRAINTHORPE

POPULAT ION 1841 ?, 1851 ?, 1861 738, 1871 774, 1881 622, 1891 627, 1901 647, 1911 616, 1921 659, 1931 605,

White’s directory of 1855 mentions William Sowby but the first mention of a post office is in the P.O. Directory of 1868, which describes him as a receiver, grocer and draper at the Post Office. The Post Office is thought though to have opened in January, 1854 when an undated circle handstamp was provided. Mail arrived from Grimsby. By 1892 William had been succeeded by Thomas Harrison Sowby (his son?) and as with most other offices Postal Orders could now be issued but not cashed. A rubber datestamp was provided for this purpose in 1886. From 31st May, 1898 mail was delivered from North Thoresby and on 27th May1902 the office was designated a sub office and received sealed bags of mail.  Postal Orders could now be cashed as well as issued. On 28th February, 1905 the office was redesignated a Railway Sub Office and on 1st August, 1905 classified as a sub office/Post Town. By 1913 Thomas had died and the office was being run by Mrs. Mary Sowby (his wife?).  The business was in the name of the executors of Mr. Sowby and as well as grocery and drapery they were also described as boot and shoe dealers, stationers and dry salters. By 1919 the office had had a telephone installed and could take telephone calls and offer an express delivery service.  By 1922 a telephone express delivery service was available.  From 28th June, 1926 mail was delivered from Louth. By 1930 Mary Sowby is not mentioned but the business continued to be owned by the executors of Thomas Sowby until at least 1937. Chris was Subpostmaster in the 1980’s/1990’s.  Nicholas Archer appointed from 20th August, 1997. He and his wife Susan had both managed banks in Leicester. (AR) Mrs. Warren appointed Subpostmistress on 30th September, 2004.

Office closed in December, 2012.

Office reopened on 9th April, 2013. A hosted outreach service is provided from North Somercotes in the Methodist Chapel Room. Hours of opening 10.00-12.00 Tuesday and Friday.

I also have some notes from P. Morris extracted from parish records to add at a future date.

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. AR Andrew Reynolds, 

GRANTHAM P.O.

POPULATION 1931 19,709

According to Post Office records the office opened in. 

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. T.S. Lawrence postmaster High St. letters from London, Stamford, and Colsterworth 6.30am, Newark and the N. 10am, Lincoln 5.55pm, Melton Mowbray 6pm, Stamford 4pm. letters out to London & Stamford 7pm, Newark and the N. 4pm, Lincoln 7.30am, Melton Mowbray 8.15am, Stamford 10am. Letterbox closes 1/2 hour before departure of each mail. Late fee of 1p up to time of departure - fees belong to the revenue. Registered letters to be given in at the window 1/2 hour before closing of box. Money orders paid and issued 9-5 M-F and from 9-5/7-8pm SAT. Letters by footpost to Somerby, Boothby, Ropsley, Bitchfield, Bassingthorpe, Westby?, Li & Gt Ponton, Harlaxton, Denton, Croxton, Barrowby, Sedgebrook, Allington, Gt. Gonerby, Foston, Long Bennington, Marston, Hougham, Gelston & Hough-On-The-Hill, Each Messenger leaves at 8am and returns 6pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office St. Peter's Hill G. Greaves Postmaster.

BRIDGE END ROAD

Opened by 1955. (S)Was sited in Finch’s Television shop on the west side of the road just south of McDonald’s. (A) Subpostmistress in 1992 was Mrs H. W. Carrington. The office closed on Wednesday afternoon and. (D) Mrs Carrington retired at age 85 and the office was offered for transfer. It had just been a Post Office only. The successful franchisee was Mr. Dipak Modi who transferred it to his business c1995.(M) The office was now located at 59 Bridge End Road, further south than the previous site and on the opposite side of the road.  The Post Office was located in a Happy Shopper convenience store acting as a newsagents, tobacconists, confectioner and off licence. Hours of opening were 09.00-17.30 Mon-FRI and 09.00-13.00 SAT.  Two position office operated by one person except Mondays. Standard range of services. The office was scheduled for closure on 14th April, 2003 as part of the Post Office reinvention programme to reduce the number of urban outlets.(A)

Information myself (A) POCL directory, (D)Mr. Modi, (M) Ken Smith from P.O. Records (S)

 

BROOK STREET

Transferred from North Parade on 1st May, 1977. (S) Located at 20A Brook Street on the north west corner of Brook Street and Swine Gate.(A) Site had been a butchers shop.(O)  Doug R. Hale was Subpostmaster in 1992. Closed Wednesday afternoon (D). Graham Wheat was also Subpostmaster here probably before D. Hale.  Michael (Mike) Kearney appointed February, 1996, taking over from Doug Hale. (K) He was also, by 2003, the Subpostmaster at Buckminster. Two position office offering the standard range of services. Shop was a wool shop but now offers confectionery, tobacco, cold drinks and stationery.(A) It was refurbished in September/October, 2005. It never offered car tax renewal Operated an Outreach Service for Ropsley. (K) In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme. (A) The office closed on 16th January, 2008. (K)

Information myself (A) POCL directory, (D) James Kearney son of MK (K) P.O. staff. (O) Ken Smith from P.O. Records (S)

 

CLIFT ROW

By 1840. Listed in Pigot’s Directory 1841, no further reference

 

DUDLEY ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office Dudley Road A. Allport DraperNo.146,

Re-Opened by 1946? (S) Closed 15/3/85 (O)

Information (O) O. D. Russet Hall,. (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records

 

DYSART ROAD

Opened in 1935 Money order and savings bank office (P). Mr. J. H. Foster was Subpostmaster prior to 1988 and also a councillor. His family probably ran it before that. (T).  Two position office with newsagents. (K)  Mr. Colin Thornton Subpostmaster from October, 1988 (T) Sited in 1992 at 157c Dysart Road. Closed Wednesday afternoon. (D) This site is probably the former site next to the COOP stores(A) This is now a butchers shop as c1992 office moved further south to the present site which was formerly a TV shop.(T)  By 2003 this site is now a three position office offering the standard services, located in a Londis convenience store.  It has an internal Link cash machine and has the National Lottery. Office opens at lunchtimes and closes at 13.00 Wednesday and 12.30 Saturday.(A)

Information  (D) POCL directory, (K) K. Adkins, (P) P.O. circular 6/2/1935 Ken Smith from P.O. Records

 (T) C. Thornton

 

EDINBURGH ROAD

Office opened 1960 (S).  Located in Edinburgh Road on corner, Harrowby Lane, opposite Byron Avenue. Closed 22/01/1992 transferred to Princess Rd. Site now occupied by Mark Jarvis Bookmakers.

Information (A) myself  (S) P.O. Circular 1/6/1960, Ken Smith from P.O. Records

 

HILL AVE

Opened in 1933 (S). Located at No. 26 on the S. E. corner of  Hill Avenue and Sandon Road opposite school (A). Subpostmaster in 1992 was J. A. Lang closing Thursday afternoon (D).  Jon Mallett was Subpostmaster there but not before Graham Taylor who was appointed in 2002 (T) Two position office offering standard services with a newsagents, confectionery and greetings card shop (A). In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Information (A) myself  (D) POCL directory, (S) P.O. Circular 12/4/1933, Ken Smith from P.O. Records (T) G. Taylor.

 

LITTLE GONERBY

Opened 1st July, 1887 with Money Order and Savings Bank services. Renamed North Parade 1st August 1899 (S).

Information (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

LONDON ROAD

Opened 1st July, 1887 with Money Order and Savings Bank services.(S) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel. Call Office London Road W. Dennis Stationer No.111. (D) Office closed between 1954 and 1955 (S).

Information (D) Directories (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

NORTH PARADE/LITTLE GONERBY

Opened 1st July, 1887 as Little Gonerby with Money Order and Savings Bank services. Renamed North Parade 1st August 1899 (S). Sited at N. E. Corner of North Parade, Nos. 1-3 and Broad Street (A).

Mr. Alfred Roberts appointed as Subpostmaster by 1925.  He had left school at 13 and worked as an assistant before commencing his own business.  The 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, Money Order & Tel. Call Office North Parade A. Roberts Grocer Nos 1-3,

 

A promotional flier for the shop describes it as a Grocer and Provision Dealer, noted for finest Danish bacon, tip top value in choice tea and coffee. QUALITY All our goods are of the highest quality at competitive prices VALUE orders delivered to all parts of the town SERVICE We are at your service all the time. Satisfaction guaranteed.  Post Office North Parade Grantham The shop for value. 

“It was a very good grocer, very good indeed, of high quality not just a sort of little corner shop.” (MW) “It was rather a high class shop for better class customers, selling quite a variety of different cheeses and coffees.” (NT)  “Mr. Roberts would be there perhaps slicing his bacon. He always seemed to be there with his white apron on, it was a shop that sold Huntley and Palmer and they were better biscuits than sold at the COOP which was at the bottom of the street.”  (MR) Mr. Roberts  was also a prominent Methodist Churchman and Independent Town Councillor.  So much is known about him because in 1925 his wife Beatrice gave birth to a daughter Margaret who was to attend the local grammar school, university and become well known to the British people as Margaret Thatcher Conservative Prime Minister and later Baroness Thatcher.  His wife Beatrice also served behind the counter and Margaret and her elder sister Muriel were also expected to assist in the business. He continued with the business until at least 1940.

The office was replaced by Brook St. from 1/5/1977.

Information myself (A), Margaret Wickstead – school friend of Margaret Roberts (MW),  Nellie Towers (NT), Mary Robinson (MR), Ken Smith from P.O. Records (S).

NEW SOMERBY

Office opened by December, 1884 and a rubber datestamp was supplied in 1891(S) probably to enable postal orders to be sold and issued (A). Range of services extended to include Money Order and Savings Bank from 1st June, 1892.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office. Office closed between 1941 and 1946 (S).

Information (A) myself, (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

PRINCESS DRIVE

Opened 11th March, 1992 with business transferred from Edinburgh Road which had closed at the end of January. Located in a COOP supermarket at 143 Princess Drive atthe corner of Harrowby Lane. The Secretary of the society is the nominee Subpostmaster. Office has three positions and is located in a separate section to north of main shop.  Office opens 09.00-17.30 daily, 09.00-13.00 Saturday (A). 

Information (A) Myself

 

SPITTLEGATE

Office opened December, 1852 when an un-dated circular datestamp was provided.  Services extended to Money Order from 1st October, 1867 and Savings Bank from 1st April, 1868. Closed 1918. (S)

Information (A) myself, (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

SPRINGFIELD ROAD

Office opened 1935 and closed in1973 (S).

Information (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

ST. PETERS HILL B.O.

Office opened (presumably transferred) here in 1918 and moved/closed 7/9/1921 (S). Branch Office is still at this location.

Selected as a office to sell Gold Medal Next day stamps and open 10.30-13.30 on Sunday for the three Olympic weeks.

Information (A) myself, (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

WESTGATE

Office opened on 1st December, 1891 with Money Order and Savings Bank services. Temporarily closed by 7th March, 1921 and reopened on 5th October, 1921 (S).

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel. Call Office

Office closed Wednesday afternoon. Subpostmaster in 1992 was Mr. J. H. Foster (D) who was also a councillor. Office finally closed on 12th January, 1993.

Information  (D) POCL directory,  (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

GRASBY

POPULATION 1921 338

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln S. Sumner Grocer. Final site in general stores premises built 1812 community office 5 mornings per week photo in Scunthorpe Museum, closed by 9/1998

 

GRAYINGHAM

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1891 census George Spacie - address the Post Office
Kelly's Directory 1892 - George Spacie, Postmaster & castrator.
Kelly's Directory 1896 - Charlotte Spacie, Postmistress  [wife of above] continued to 1905.
Kelly's Directory 1909 -John Creasey, Postmaster. (T)
P.O. closed before 2ww (M)

Information Barbara Tyerman (T) B. Moore (M)

GREAT CARLTON.

POPULATION 1841 280/352, 1851 342, 1861 338, 1871 276, 1881 261, 1891 245, 1901 237, 1911 212, 1921 187, 1931 182,

According to Post Office records the office opened on 28th February, 1850 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied. This, however, is thought to have been inscribed Castle Carlton. On 2nd October, 1850 another undated circular datestamp was supplied but inscribed Great Carlton and yet another undated circular datestamp was supplied on 20th August, 1858 again inscribed Great Carlton. The Post Office Guides refer to the office as Carlton between 1856 and 1880 and then Great Carlton by 1881.  Mail was received from and delivered to Louth. The White's 1855 Directory lists a Post Office offering basic services with George Borrill the Subpostmaster but the trade section lists Thomas Borrill as grocer, postmaster and tailor. The 1861 trade section lists George Borrill as grocer, postmaster and tailor so the 1855 Directory is either incorrect or George was taking over from Thomas in the mid 1850's. The 1876 Directory list George Borrill as grocer only, By 1882 Edward Stevenson had taken over as shopkeeper and Subpostmaster. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1887 probably to cancel these so this is probably the year they were first issued here. The 1889 Directory mentions that Postal Orders could be issued only. No Subpostmaster shown but Edward Stevenson is trade listed as shopkeeper carrier and post office. The 1892 Directory lists Edward Stevenson as a carrier to Louth WED and FRI. By 1896 Mrs Emma Jane Stevenson had taken over as subpostmistress, shopkeeper and carrier to Louth WED and FRI. (D) She was probably the wife of Edward (S)

By 1900 George Holmes Whitworth had been appointed Subpostmaster. He was an existing blacksmith and farmer.(D) The Post Office moved from the final site and was sited at Ivy Cottage opposite the entrance to the poultry farm and church. The local rector was of great influence and benefactor of the village and is thought to have helped Holmes set up the office. It was sited in a lean-to built onto the house and connected to the sitting room.(S) The 1905 Directory list the office also transacting M.O., S.B. & A.& I. but by 1909 reverted to P.O. Only so the 1905 entry may have been a mistake as the official records make no mention of this. Withern was listed as nearest Money Order Office. and George is just listed as blacksmith and farmer. (D) Florence Whitworth (nee Holmes), daughter of G.H.W. ran P.O. but she married in 1907 and moved to Legbourne. The Post Office then moved back to the final site possibly on her marriage.(S) Postman used to cycle from Louth before 1914. Postman was Percy Mee who was friendly with the family gave Miss Speed a ride in the basket on the front of the bicycle. The postman’s hut was sited on the left side of the road just before lane to Gayton map ref 422863.

By 1913 P.O. taken over by John Henry Walker, Subpostmaster, shopkeeper and carrier to Louth WED and FRI (D) Bessie Walker his wife died much earlier than him. Miss Speed used to bring him a hot dinner on Saturday cooked by her mother.(S) He continued to at least 1937. (D) He was Subpostmaster until he died, somebody looked after it for him in later life. Latterly Mrs. Annie Smith. Shop was a general stores, sold paraffin, candles, sugar weighed and bagged. Shop had run down by the time he died. Beautifully carved wooden cylindrical box with screw top and blade to cut string in lid used to be on counter. Mr. and Mrs. J.R. Welsh then owned it and Mrs. Smith continued to run it. Then a man from Yorkshire had it for a while before returning to Wetherby- Mr. Barker?(S) Mr. Barker Subpostmaster, bought in auction. Had arguments in P.O. with Mrs. Smith, who made eyes at all the men, Mr. Dale and an old boy who bought tobacco each week. He offered to sell his property to Mr. B. and a deal was struck and Mr. B. gave him £5. He later went back on the deal, had more stomach trouble and was in Mablethorpe by 1953 (Mrs.B). Then the French family had it.(S)John French appointed in 1974 (LL) Post office closed for 2-3 years (fraud closure French`s?) then Mr. Pierre Warren Subpostmaster from c1979 until it closed 1984/1985.(W) Entrance through middle door, P.O. counter at left, pillar box in left corner of wall. Petrol Pumps outside, Warren`s didn’t try very hard to sell it. (S)

Information Mrs Barker (B) Miss Speed (S) Mr Warren (W) Louth Leader (LL28/1/98)



GREAT CASTERTON

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1871.  Mail was received from and delivered to Stamford.

GREAT COATES

POPULATION 1921 493

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grimsby. Owner not listed. (D)

Office located in Woad Lane, North-East of Railway crossing on East side. Miss George was Subpostmistress in 1942. (C)

Closed by 4/1974

Information Miss Coates Healing (C)

 

GREATFORD

POPULATION 163

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Stamford Except Fletland Mill Nr Baston Letters Via Baston. Miss A. Pask Confectioner.

 

GREAT GONERBY

POPULATION 1921 1,279

Office probably opened on 25th September, 1846 when an undated circular datestamp was provided. By 1849 - P.O. Mrs. C. Seward Receiving house letters from Grantham in 9am out 5pm, Rubber datestamps were provided in 1886 and 1919. Then range of facilities was extended to include Savings Bank from 4th April, 1923 and Telegraph (Code GUU) by 1950 (S). 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Grantham E. Hutchinson Newsagent.  Office sited at 14 High Street in a former chapel. Mr. Ron Merrick was Subpostmaster followed by Mr. Tindall and Mr. Frank Shingler.  Mrs Joyce Whelehan was appointed c1980 and Mrs. Anne Durrands was appointed in 1995 (D).  Two position office. Together with her husband M. G. Durrands they also have a shop selling newspapers etc (A).

Information (A) myself, (D) A. Durrands (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records.

 

GREAT HALE

POPULATION 1921 583

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Sleaford Miss A. Ward Grocer. (D) This was Miss Annie Ward who was Subpostmistress for many years until c1942 at now demolished grocers shop at SE corner of Church St. and Little Hale Road. The office then moved to No. 21 High St. at NW corner. Mrs. Sharpe Subpostmistress by c1945/46 in front room of house. There was a big table in the room. The office then moved to present site on e side of High St. c1972. Office located in existing grocers shop. Run by Robinson’s, probably Vivian and then coloured people there in 1977 possibly also called Robinson, then two sisters (may have come first), Mrs. Hall and then Mr. M. C. Creamer from 1983. He continued until at least 1992. Half day closing was Wednesday. (C) Mr. Geoff Coolin probably took over from him about 1993.  He had a bungalow built behind the bakery next to the grocers shop and at some stage the Post Office was moved to its final site into the former bakery building. When Mr. Coolin retired about 2000 he retained the bungalow he had built. Mr. Percy Clarke was the next Subpostmaster.  In January, 2004 June Buckley was appointed and the office was closed, completely gutted and refitted to reopen on 22nd April, 2004. The office was fitted with the first combi-till in Lincolnshire (located in the middle of the store on the east wall), with a separate secure area in the N.E. corner. (B) By 2007 a Hanco Cash Machine had been fitted and the business operated as a general stores. Opening hours in 2007 were 08.30-12.30 13.30-17.30 MON-FRI 08.30-12.30 SAT. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme. It was considered that Heckington, now relocated to the east end of the High Street, was close enough to be considered as a suitable alternative facility. The planned closure date was 24th January, 2008.

 

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). Mr. Creamer (C) Mrs. Buckley (B)

GREAT LIMBER SEE LIMBER LIMBER

 

GREAT PONTON

390

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Edward Nixon appointed 1846. (POA)

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. E. Nixon receiver, grocer and draper. Letters from Grantham in 9.00am out 4.00pm.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office. Owner not listed

Closed 5/1//1990

GREAT STEEPING

POPULATION 1921 191

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Property was once a mill and bakery. Post Office was once in the other shop in the village.(L) was a mail office. William Codd Subpostmaster c1914-1960 had a horse & cart grocery round, later a model T (J GR),

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office. Letters From Spilsby. W. Codd Grocer.

 

Mr. Codd Subpostmaster by 1927 there for many years in shop, n. side of road, w. of village. Then John Hanson Subpostmaster in present site, then his son Roland. He not there for many years, had to sell business to split up estate to John's heirs. Roland Anson Subpostmaster to 1988, one of his parents was Subpostmaster?(B). Office was a mail work office and Hanson Family had business before 1940. Office sited on Firsby Road. Mrs. Maggie Lighten appointed Sub postmistress in June or July, 1987 on F/T basis. Following birth of a child she rented the business out to Mrs. Lesley Wood who became Sub postmistress c December, 1989 on a community hours basis.(L) She lived in France from November, 1992 and the Post Office was operated by Pat Booley. The Wiltshire family wished to increase the rent and she decided to call it a day.(W). Mrs. Lighten took over again in February, 1993 (L) closed 3/12/1996

info Mr. Brown Li Step (B),  Mrs. Lighten (L) L. Wood (W)

GREATFORD

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

GRIMOLDBY

POPULATION 1861, 321. 1871, 337. 1881, 363. 1891, 321. 1901, 301. 1911, 280. 1921, 278. 1931, 242

The Post Office probably opened on 27th November, 1846 when according to Post Office Records an undated circular datestamp was provided. By 1855 George Appleby was listed as providing basic Post Office services and also being a boot and shoemaker. Letters were dispatched from and delivered to Louth. George was still there 1868 but by 1872 Charles Forman took over. He was listed as a Farmer as well as running the Post Office so the location may have changed. By 1882 Forman was listed as a farmer, coal merchant, overseer and Post Office. The 1892 lists Forman as an Assesor, collector of taxes and Post Office. By this date Postal orders could now issued only, for which a rubber datestamp had been provided in 1887. In 1892 Henry Allen listed as farmer and coal merchant so may have taken over that part of the business.

A telegraph was installed on 21st February, 1905 (Code GMB) By 1905 the office was classified as Post. Telegraphic with Express Delivery & postal order office. By that date Postal Orders could be issued and paid. By that date Forman had been replaced by Snowdon Enderby who was also a grocer, farmer & Subpostmaster. (D) The office was located at the present site at 34 Tinkle Street by at least Edwardian times (PPC), It is sited in a c1750 formerly thatched building on the east side of the road near the church. The Telegraph was provided by the Post Office on condition that the church guaranteed to spend at least 1/3d per week (B). By 1913 Frank Harold Enderby (Snowdon’s son?) had taken over as grocer and Subpostmaster. By 1919 a Telephone Call Office facility had been provided and by 1922 a Telegraphic Express Delivery service was offered. The 1922 Directory lists Frank as a grocer, provision dealer & general stores but the 1926 Directory just mentions Grocer & Post Office. Between 1933 and 1937 the range of services offered was extended to include Money Orders. Frank was still Subpostmaster.

Subpostmasters appointed after that were Pearce who was the Son in Law of Enderby,  Pycock, Tiffins and  Bloomfield. (B&E) Cliff Pycock is thought to have been Subpostmaster from c1951 until he retired c1976. (E) Bloomfield was an artist and she used to buy things in Louth supermarket to sell in the shop at the same price. Office used to do mailwork but moved to Manby. Then Bryan Charlton from c1983. He was suspended in 1986 and office was closed for three months before Dennis Bath was appointed with his wife Muriel in August, 1986. Cash Account office selling YEB tokens in general stores with newspapers. Counter now situated in sorting office area. (B) MVL licensing offered from March, 2004. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Information Dennis Bath. (B), P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories,/P.O. records via Ken Smith/own information (D). Stan Edwards Manby  (E), Picture Postcard (PPC)

GRIMSBY

POPULATION 1801 1524, 1811 2747, 1821 3064, 1831 4225, 1851 8864, 1861, 11067. 1871, ?. 1881, ? 1891, 20238. 1901, ?. 1911, ?. 1921, ? 1931 92,463

By 1770 a post office had been opened and the office classed as a post town. Money Orders could be issued and paid from 1st October, 1792.

The 1826 Whites Directory list a Post Office sited in the Bull Ring. John Moody was the Postmaster. Mails arrived at 10.00 pm and were dispatched at 8.00 am. The North mail to Hull arrived and departed daily by sea according to the tide.

The 1842 Whites and the 1849 Post Office Directory  list GREAT GRIMSBY Post Office William Skelton was Postmaster bookseller, printer, stationer and bookbinder and also in 1842 a music seller, general newsagent and dealer in patent medicine. The office was located in the Market Place. In 1842 letters were dispatched at 10.00am. Letters from Hull and the North arrived daily 2 hours after high water and were dispatched three hours before high water. Letters from Brigg, Lincoln, Gainsborough etc arrived by mail cart at 5.45pm and were dispatched at 08.00am. In 1849 letters from London came by train from Hull (via New Holland Ferry) 9.29am delivered 10.30. Letters from Louth by train 3.54pm delivered 4pm. London letters out by Hull train 3.54pm box closes 3pm except Sundays 11am. Louth letters out 9.29am

An obliterator numbered 323 was allocated 1844. This was introduced to obliterate postage stamps on mail that had been introduced in 1840. By 1856 Skelton was also a distributor of stamps in the case revenue and excise stamps. The range of Post Office services was further extended on 18th November, 1861 by the introduction of the new Savings Bank. Between 1861 and 1868 Albert Gait had been appointed as Postmaster. The office was probably on the same site – Market Place, Bull Ring Lane. As well as Postmaster Gait was also a printer, bookseller, stationer and patent medicine vendor. In 1870 the new revolutionary technology of the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code GY). By 1872 Money Order and Savings Bank business was conducted 9.00am-6.00pm weekdays and in common with other office Insurance and Annuity business was also conducted. The telegraph was available from 7.00am-9.00pm weekdays and 8.00-10.00am Sundays. There were also telegraph facilities at the station open 8.00am-8.00pm. In 1872 Gaits Store is listed as 12 Market Place but the PO listed as Bull Ring Lane.

The 1882 Whites Directory list the Post Office as being located in West St. Mary's Gate with Mr. Powell Chandler as Postmaster (his residence was a 6 Macaulay Terrace). Mr. John Richardson was the Chief Clerk (his residence Georges Terrace, Hainton Street). By 1882 Money Order, Savings Bank business etc was conducted Weekdays 9.00am-6.00pm, Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. No mention is made of the office conducting telegraph business. By 1882 telegraph services had been transferred to a Chief Postal Telegraph Office in Victoria Street North. By 1885 and 1889 Kellys lists the Post Office hours as Weekdays 7.00am-8.00pm, Sunday 8.00am-10.00am, but later in the text states they were 8.00am-8.00pm Weekdays only. Between 1885 and 1889 Mr. Anderton Sharp Roberts was appointed Postmaster. By 1896 Telegraphed Money Orders and Express Delivery services had been introduced at the office. Telegraphs could be sent and received from the office 8.00am-8.00pm not Sundays.

By 1900 Richardson had been replaced by Edmund Montague Tilbrook as Chief Clerk. On Weekdays 7.00am-8.00pm the office was open for sales of stamps, money orders, savings bank, issue of licences and Insurance and Annuity business. Telegraphs could still be sent and received from the office 8.00am-8.00pm not Sundays. On Sunday 8.00am-10.00am only stamps and registration were dealt with. By 1905 Roberts had been replaced as Postmaster by Henry J. J. Melsom. He had previously been Postmaster at Greenock. A telephone call office facility had been provided. Melsom was not here for very long as by 1909 he had been replaced by A. Shannon. By then opening hours had been extended to 7.00am-10.00pm weekdays and Sundays 8.00am-10.00am and 5.00pm-7.00pm. Again by 1913 a new Postmaster had been appointed, a Mr. R. Featherstone. Sunday opening was altered from 8.00 to 8.30am. Telegraphs could though now be sent anytime the office was open. Big changes were made to the Post Office between 1909 and 1913. The office moved from West St. Mary's Gate to a new purpose built building in Victoria Street. The existing Victoria Street Branch Office appears to have been incorporated in this building. Again by 1913 a new Postmaster had been appointed, a Mr. R. Featherstone. Sunday opening was altered from 8.00 to 8.30am. Telegraphs could though now be sent any time the office was open. By 1919 the office had been designated as a Head Office, the named staff were R. Featherstone Postmaster and Walter Hawkins Superintendent. The opening hours had been altered to 9.00am-7.00pm weekdays, Sundays 8.30-10.00am for Stamps, registered letters and Telegraphs only.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Victoria Street Weekdays 8.00-8.00 Sun 9-10.30 For Sale Of Stamps Registration Of Letters & Telegrams.

Jack Richardson HPM at time of ceasing of telegram work. As a result his pay was frozen as his HPM grade dropped two levels as a result (BP).

HPM Grimsby Andrew W. Keir by Aug 1974. Replaced J.H. Richards (letter)

Office at corner of Victoria Street and Bus Station was refitted in November, 2008. Two Post and Go machines fitted at front of area in area formerly occupied by a retail counter. New lozenge fitted.

Selected as a office to sell Gold Medal Next day stamps and open 10.15-13.15 on Sunday for the three Olympic weeks.

BEDFORD ST.

The Post Office probably opened on 1st July, 1895 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1919 Directory lists a Money Order Office closing 1.00pm on Thursdays.

Closed about 6th February, 1929 (D)

Information Post Office Circular 6/02/1929 (D)

BRADLEY CROSS ROADS

According to Post Office Records the Post Office probably opened in May, 1930. Mr. and Mrs. Capes ran it and possibly their mother before. Site was two semi-detached houses, in the mock Tudor style. It was built to meet the needs of the large private/council estate built to the N.W. of cross roads by 1938. (A) 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only) Bradley Cross Roads. (D) The Post Office was in a VG Stores and adjoining house was a fish and chip shop. The small P.O. counter was on the right hand side. Mr. Jack Haines was then appointed Subpostmaster, he was also a local entertainer playing the banjo etc. c1972/1973 the two houses and site were sold to Tates to build a supermarket there. This was on condition that Mr. Haines retained the present freehold annex where the present P.O. is situated at 466 Laceby Road Grimsby. When Jack sold it to Mr. Ron Peart c1985 he was then able to quip that he was the only person to have sold his post office twice! Mr. Peart had owned 385 Pelham Road Immingham and moved here to have a mostly P.O. orientated business. Ken Adkins appointed Subpostmaster on 4/5/1989. After a lengthy experience of retail merchandising he was impressed with his work colleagues purchase of Dysart Road Grantham. Having spent some time working there to see what it was like he decided he didn't want much retail content in the business but wanted primarily just a Post Office. This office fulfilled the need selling only greetings cards and wrapping paper but having 3 positions and a parcel hatch and needing 3 serving and one other person in the office on Mondays and Thursdays it is certainly that. The office sells YEB tokens and private side sales of Gas/Electricity stamps. Richard Jackson computerised. The non-residential office has roller shutters fitted. Since being appointed Ken has been able to utilise his astute business experience to quickly rise to the Presidency of the Lincoln and Grimsby Branch of the NFSP. The Post Office here has grown considerably over the years but it now misnamed - the Cross Roads has long been replaced by a large roundabout!

Later the office was taken over by the Tates Group and then moved inside the Spar Shop.  The counter is at the North West Corner of the site.  Four position office with lottery, on demand currency and passport checking. Hours to April, 2007 08.00-17.30 Monday, 08.30-17.30 Tuesday, 09.00-17.30 Wednesday-Friday, 09.00-13.00 Saturday.  Hours from April, 2007 08.30-17.30 Monday, 09.00-17.30 Tuesday-Friday, 09.00-13.00 Saturday. (D)

Date stamps Two with stars E9/74 and a later addition with small letters. Pre SID use.

INFO (A) Ken Adkins.(D) Directories

CAMBRIDGE ROAD

According to Post Office Records the Post Office probably opened by September, 1958.

Moved to Cooperative Store in 2006

 

CENTRAL MARKET

According to Post Office Records the Post Office probably opened by July, 1913. The 1919 Directory lists a Money Order Office closing 1.00pm on Thursdays. Subpostmaster is listed as William Pulford who was a hardware factor at 15 Central Market and 284 Victoria Street. The 1919 entry makes no mention of the Post Office.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

Closed between 1957 and 1958

CLEETHORPES ROAD

The Post Office probably opened on 2nd September, 1895 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office.

The office was renamed CLEE PARK CLEETHORPES on 1st December, 1897.

See Clee Park Cleethorpes

CHIEF POSTAL TELEGRAPH OFFICE VICTORIA STRRET NORTH

By 1882 telegraph services had been transferred to a Chief Postal Telegraph Office in Victoria Street North. Mr. J. C. Linnington was the Superintendent and Mr. M. Martin the Clerk. Messages were received and transmitted 7.00am-10pm weekdays and 7.00am-10am, 5.00pm-6pm Sunday. In 1885 and 1889 the office opened 7.00am-10.00pm weekdays and 8.00am-10.30am, 5.00pm-6pm Sunday..

CONISTON AVENUE

According to Post Office Records the Post Office in 1966. (D)

Local knowledge is that the office opened between 1961 and 1965 but this may have just been the shop in view of the PO records. Sited at No. 17 Coniston Avenue, opposite road junction. Lock-up flat above, originally part of P.O. but now original stairs removed and rear access provided to increase storage space. Mr. Michael Pick first Subpostmaster having been a sales representative.(C) then Eric and Jean Page there 18 years to 27th October, 1993. Three part time staff assisted. Current Subpostmaster Mr. Len Wood who came from industry. Situated in a parade of shops with Spar shop to north now taking up space of 3 former outlets. One position plus second P/T position Cash Account office with rest of shop area selling confectionery, cards and news agency. No MVL, gas, YEB or datapost. One of the former P/T staff now has arthritis and only works if either of the other two are not available. On appointment Len had to provide a fascia board and install POPOS. He also moved things away from the windows and removed stickers from the windows to give a more welcoming retail environment. He finds his P.O. area claustrophobic and plans to reorganise it. By 2002 sold to C.O.O.P.

Info Audrey Cargill (C) Post Office Circular 9/11/1966 (D)remainder (W) Len Wood

CORPORATION ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists an office at 60 Corporation Road, Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays W. Pulford Tobacconist

closed due to shortages.

EAST MARSH

The Post Office probably opened on 1st August, 1885 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank were introduced at the office. The 1889 Directory lists the receiver as a Mrs. Ward. The range of services was further extended on 14th May, 1889 when the Telegraph was installed (Code GEO). The Post Office was located at 226 Freeman Street at the time of the census in 1891 and in 1901 the Ward’s lived at 241 Freeman Street where Ann Ward (49) is named as Sub Postmistress and her husband, William Ward (47) is named as Stationer, Shopkeeper, News Agent and Book Seller. Her daughter Alice (22), formerly Wright and renamed Ward, is described as Post Office Assistant. We have no other information about their lives except my father thinks William was connected to the Post Office at Louth. William Ward lived to a grand old age of 85 years and died in 1940 but I know little of his second wife, Ann/Anne/ or Annie nee Scoffield formerly Wright. (W) By 1896 the office was open on weekdays for stamps Money Orders, Savings Bank, Licences and Annuity and Insurance Business. On Sundays services were just sale of stamps and acceptance of Registered Letters. Telegrams could be handed in only and Telegraphed Money Orders were issued but not paid. The telegraph service was offered 8 am to 8 pm Weekdays only. The office was located at 241 Freeman Street and the Subpostmaster was William Ward who was also a stationer. By 1900 the office closed at 1pm on Thursday. By 1913 Telegraphed Money Orders could also be paid.

The office closed in 1913. (C) Riby Square Branch Office had been opened nearby in 1912.

Information Post office circular 29/7/1913 (C) (W) Christine Ward

ELSENHAM ROAD

The Post Office probably opened in 1910 when according to Post Office Records a rubber date was supplied. Basic post office services would have been offered including the issue and payment of postal orders. The office was though short-lived and closed between October and December, 1911. The site of the office probably moved to nearby Gilbey Road.

FILEY ROAD

According to Post Office Records the Post Office probably opened by September, 1958.

September, 2004 proposed for reinvention closure and closed on 8th December, 2004.

 

FISH DOCKS

The Post Office probably opened on 1st August, 1872 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order, Savings Bank and the Telegraph were introduced at the office (Code GEM). It was classed as a branch office from when it opened. Whites 1872 Directory refers to an office near the fish pontoon offering telegraph services between 8.00am-4.00pm on weekdays. By 1882 the office was open 7.00am-6.00pm Monday-Saturday. Also same in 1885. By 1896 and to 1900 Telegraph, Telegraphed Money Orders and Express Delivery services were offered. By 1919 the office was open for postal and telegraph services 7.00am-5.00pm with no attendance on Sundays.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Branch Post, M.O. T. & Tel Call Office Fish Docks 7.00-5.00 Not Sun. A telegraph boy who was working in 1946 remembered that the Post Office was located on a corner of the first dock road. It was bombed and damaged during the Second World War and was relocated to a wooden building until a new post office was built. (B)

Closure planned 14.1.1967, closed in that year (C)

Information Post office circular 8/2/1967 (C) Ex Grimsby telegram boy (B)

FREEMAN STREET

The Post Office probably opened on 1st August, 1872 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1882 Whites Directory lists a receiving office at 14 Freeman Street run by Mrs Mary A. Colton who was also a chemist. By 1885 the address is listed at 14A and 16A. In 1885 and 1889 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm and Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. Between 1885 and 1889 the office moved to 24 Freeman Street. John Arthur (Atkin incorrectly? In 1892 Directory) Moore was the receiver and the business was also listed as a chemist and stationer. By 1900 the office closed at 1pm on Thursday.

In July, 1913 the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code GEM) the facility being transferred from East Marsh Office which had closed. The 1919 Directory lists Freeman Street as a Money Order Office closing 1.00pm on Thursdays. Mrs. Annie Ward is listed as running a Post Office but no number is given. She had been involved with the East Marsh office which had closed so perhaps she took over from Moore at this office.

 

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only) Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays Tates Ltd.? Sited at No.92. (K)

By 1950 Harry Bromley was Subpostmaster and by 1971 he was replaced by Mrs. Tierney.  She had worked at Riby Square prior to purchase. (H) At some time the office moved South to No. 244.

Mrs. Janet Tierney Subpostmistress in 1984 (D). Subpostmistress on 26/3/1996 Mrs. Christine Harrison. On Wednesday 11th August, 2004 9.21 a man wearing a mask and a baseball cap aged c60 entered and placed a package on counter and demanded cash.  He ran off and police were alerted.  The Royal Logistic Corps were called and performed a controlled explosion.  The office reopened at 13.32. September, 2004 proposed for reinvention closure. Now closed.

Info (D) Doreen HLC, (H) June Hickling, (K) Kelly’s Directory, (R) A. Reynolds

 

GILBEY ROAD

The Post Office probably opened here by January, 1912 when according to Post Office Records Post, services were offered at the office. It was probably resited from Elsenham Road. Money Order and Savings Bank were offered from 2nd January, 1929.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

Subpostmaster on 26/3/1996 K. Morrill closed by 2002

HAINTON AVENUE

The Post Office probably by January, 1908 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. It replaced the office at Hainton Street which was closed in 1907. It appears to have just been renamed and remained on the same site. (D) This was on the corner diagonally opposite to Humber Cards. Premises built by Mr.Enoch Palmer as a chemists shop. Was Hainton St. then. Not sure when P.O. Opened but local knowledge tends to confirm Hainton Avenue Post Office replaced Hainton Street and on the same site. Harts then ran it and then Mr. Douthwaite Subpostmaster. Premises had a wash house and stable. (BP) The 1913 Kellys Directory confirms this and lists George L. Douthwaite as Subpostmaster, Chemist and Druggist. He is also listed in 1919 and No. 170 is quoted as the location.(D)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays. Reginald Clough Mathews Subpostmaster c1930. Still pharmacy. His wife made home-made sweets, box for each pensioner at Xmas. After visiting Authorpe they came back with bunches of primroses for customers. One amusing incident was that he was having a cup of tea and with the queue was having problems. He mentioned this in passing to a customer who took it into her head to stand at the door and tell others not to come in yet he's having his tea.

Mrs. Pounder his daughter took over as Subpostmistress in 1959 after her father died form an illness. The pharmacy closed and all the medicines had to be carefully accounted for especially the poisons, which had to be checked by the police. Half day changed from Thur Pm to Sat pm but then not long after this all offices closed half day Sat so they lost their half day. Shortly before the office closed they asked tongue in cheek for half day Fri. They think they were granted it so that the P.O. could see what effect it would have. Dole money was paid out in cash at dole office. Business increased when Green Giros commenced. There were some green drafts prior to this. A few fun and games in area with Giros. Many transients living in flats nearby, kids coming in for dads cheque cos he was at work, one spate of people signing their cheques over to someone else to cash and then claiming they hadn't received the cheque. Office lucky to be near Gas and Electric board offices. When they changed to National Girobank they became the offices where all the meter money was deposited. The foreman who was arranging the paying in at first went to Victoria St. by mistake. They attempted to tout for the Humberstone Road business but luckily the foreman realised he was at the wrong office and justice was done. Special scales had to be provided to weigh the £250 50p bags. Mr. and Mrs. Pounder had considered changing the SPM from Mrs. to Mrs. The HPM Jack Richardson dissuaded them from this. They later learnt that had notice been given the office would have been summarily closed as it was they were able to close under the voluntary closure scheme in FEB 1986 and receive compensation. (closed 28.2.1986 po notice), (BP)

Information Bill Pounder (BP)

HAINTON SQUARE

The Post Office probably opened on 1st July, 1879 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1882 Whites Directory lists a receiving office with William Bingham as receiver and also a chemist. He also had a chemist at 2 East Marsh Street. In 1885 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm and Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. The office then according to Post Office Records closed in 1885

HAINTON STREET

The Post Office probably opened on 1st May, 1890 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The office is listed in the 1892 Kellys but no owner is mentioned. By 1896 the Kellys Directory lists an office which was open on weekdays for stamps Money Orders, Savings Bank, Licences and Annuity and Insurance Business. On Sundays services were just sale of stamps and acceptance of Registered Letters. It was located at No. 170 and the Subpostmaster was Samuel James North who was also a dispensing chemist and proprietor of the Mella Rose Balm.

The office closed between 1907 and 1908 but Hainton Avenue then opened at about the same time so so it appears to have just have been renamed and remained on the same site as the 1909 Directory lists the site as at No. 170.

HUMBERSTONE ROAD

The Post Office probably opened in 1923 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. (C)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays H. Short Fruiterer and Grocer. Sited at No.84.  (D) This is at the North West Corner of the junction with Cooper Road. On 25th July, 1934 the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code GYU). 

Subpostmaster on 26/3/1996 G. Berrett. He retired with 25 years service in 1998. (R) He was replaced by Jim Wilton McConville (H) Later Alan Shepherd ran office as a temporary Subpostmaster and the office is now owned by the COOP who bought the premises about 2002.  Office opens 09.00-17.30 Monday to Friday and 09.00-12.30 Saturday and offers standard Post Office services (R)

Information Post office circular 2/5/1923 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D), June Hickling (H) A. Reynolds (R)

LACEBY ROAD

The Post Office probably opened in July, 1922 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. (C)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub­-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays Tates Ltd. Grocers

Closed between 1946 and 1947

LAMBERT ROAD

The Post Office probably opened by July, 1914 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. The 1919 Directory lists a Money Order Office closing 1.00pm on Thursdays.(D)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays H. Joys Newsagent. Sited at  No.65,

John Wright Subpostmaster with his wife Pauline there at least between 1981 and 1986. (C) Former Subpostmaster took to drink which led to shortages.(B Pounder)

Now closed

Info Audrey Cargill(C)

LITTLEFIELD LANE

The Post Office probably opened in 1935 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. (C)

Sylvia's mother had P.O.

Closed 31st May, 1991. (D)

Information Post office circular 9/10/1935 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D),

LOFT STREET

Loft Street was named in 1809 after John Henry Loft a MP who served the town. According to Post Office records a post office had opened here by 1852 with a straight line mark in use. The existence of the office is confirmed in the Post Office Directory of 1855. It states it was in Loft Street North with George Croft the Receiver and also a chemist and druggist. Henry Coft also operated as a chemist and druggist and Mrs Mary Croft a milliner and dressmaker from the same site. I have examined a map the the office was on the east side of the road right on the corner of Loft Street North and Cleethorpes Road. By the time the 1856 Whites Directory had been published the Road had been renamed Victoria Street North. A map I have examined shows the office to have been located on the east side of the road right at the north end at junction with Cleethorpes Road, about where the roundabout it now. (D)

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D)

NEW CLEE

The Post Office probably opened on 1st May, 1876 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1882 Whites Directory lists a receiving office at 22 Sunderland Terrace with Isaac Burt as receiver and also grocer and tea dealer. Burt resided at Albert House Cleethorpe Road New Clee. In 1885 and 1889 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm and Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. The 1885 Directory also lists William Burt as having a business located at 134 and 136 Cleethorpe Road. This location is much further west and nearer to Freeman Street than later site. On 1st May, 1887 the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code GNC) and by 1896 Telegraphed Money Orders could be issued and paid. The telegraph service was offered 8 am to 8 pm Weekdays only. By 1900 the office had moved and was run by C. White & Co. Grocers. Sited at 361 Cleethorpes Road. The business was a grocers and agents for W. A. Gilbey Ltd. wine and spirit merchants. Express delivery services were also now offered. Between 1909 and 1913 the Telegraph services were altered in that Telegrams could be handed in only and Telegraphed Money Orders could be issued but not paid. This may have been because Riby Square had opened as a new Branch Office quite close by.



1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only) Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays C. White & Co. Grocers. Sited at 361 Cleethorpes Road. Christmas White(D) This post office was located on the corner or Mangle Street and Cleethorpes Road adjacent to the Primitive Methodist Chapel. Later the Post Office was owned by Chritmas's son Lesley. The Post Office and Chapel were demolished about 1968/1969 and the first Asda Supermaket was built on the site. The Post Office was moved to the opposite (South) side of the road. And next to 360 Cleethorpes Road. The site had been Browns Sweet Shop before conversion. The Post Office counter was the the back of the shop and counters at front of the shop had marble tops. (G)

Office closed since 1977, Closed due to road widening (BP)

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D),Grimsby Telegraph archives (G) Bill Pounder (BP)

 

NUNSTHORPE

The Post Office probably opened in 1933 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. (C)

Mr. Steve Jaffray appointed 1994 (NFSP)

 Information Post office circular 10/5/1933 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D),

OLD CLEE

The Post Office probably opened in 1928 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. (C)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office Old Clee Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays (Location -Old Clee/Queens Parade? Miss L. Green Confectioner And Post Office 8 Taylor's Avenue- this section was listed under Cleethorpes and may refer to Queens Parade Office.

H. Ragg Subpostmaster (K.A.)

Latterly the office was taken over by the COOP. A two position office with the counter in the south east corner of the premises.  Office closed on 10th September, 2005 as the COOP was losing money operating the office and a new office was planned to be built in Convamore Road which would cover some of the existing catchment area.

 Information Post office circular 11/1/1928 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D),

OXFORD STREET

The Post Office probably opened on 1st July, 1895 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. By 1900 the office closed at 1pm on Thursday. The 1900 Kelly's Directory lists a Post Office with Mrs E. Doughty as Subpostmistress. The office was located at No. 53 and was also a fancy repository. This is I think "Oxford Street PO". However, That directory and the 1905 does also list a Robert B. Kettlewell as having a Post Office and grocers at 150 Oxford Street. By 1905 Doughty had been replaced by Mrs Elizabeth Trafford at No. 53. As the initial is the same Doughty may have remarried. By 1913 Mrs Sarah Elisabeth Jary is listed as Subpostmistress and stationer at No. 53. She also had a newsagents at 329 Cleethorpe Road.

Closed between April and June, 1905. (D) Office re-established in 1929 (C) But appears to have continued after 1905 according to Directories.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office. C. Middleton Shopkeeper. Sited at No.63, Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

Sited on corner No45, threatened with closure c8.1978 but reprieved and resited? 10.1979 (GT)

September, 2004 proposed for reinvention closure and stated to close 10th January, 2005 . Now closed.

 Information Post office circular 6/2/1929 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D), Grimsby Telegraph (GT)

PARK STREET

The Post Office probably opened by July, 1905 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. It is listed in the 1909 Directory but no owner is indicated. The office closed at 1pm on Thursday.

The office was transferred to CLEETHORPES by 1941.

See Park Street Cleethorpes

PORTLAND PLACE

The Post Office probably opened in 1932 when according to Post Office Records Post services were offered at the office. (C)

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town SubPost M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only). Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

closed c September, 1977.

 Information Post office circular 3/8/1932 (C) P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D),

RIBY SQUARE

This new Branch Office was opened in 1912 with full Post, Money Order, Savings Bank and Telegraph Office (Code GP) facilities. Technically although some distance away it replaced the Branch Office at Victoria Street. (P) The office opened 8.00am to 8.00pm weekdays and had a Telephone Call Office facility. By 1919 the opening hours had been altered to 9.00am to 7.00pm weekdays for postal and telegraph services with no attendance on Sundays.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Branch Post, M.O. T. & Tel Call Office Riby Square 8.00-7.30 Not Sun or Bank Holidays. (D)

Purpose built Branch Office. From 12th August, 1989 regraded to a modified sub post office, Mr. Hardiment MSubpostmaster father Subpostmaster . Moved in 2005 to top end of Freeman Street.

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D), Post Office Circular 8/10/1912 (P)

RIPON STREET

The Post Office probably opened in 1910 when according to Post Office Records a rubber datestamp was issued The 1913 Directory lists the location as No. 1 Ripon Street with the Subpostmaster as John Robert Plaskett who was also a grocer. Basic Postal services were offered at the office.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays A. Ward Grocer sited at N0.1,

Marilyn Bradley Subpostmistress in January, 2002

SCARTHO

POPULATION 1921 744

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office. Letters From Grimsby. Owner not listed.  Office was classed as rural at this time.

P.O. with greetings cards etc and confectionery present site in Pinfold Lane since c1960/1961. Previously sited in No.21 Waltham Road (south side to west of roundabout, now a wedding cake shop, Scarthoe to 1959, Scartho by 1963 (datestamps NSB book)

THE WILLOWS

VICTOR STREET

The Post Office probably opened on 1st May, 1888 when according to Post Office Records Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1889 Directory lists a Mr. Webb as receiver. In 1889 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm and Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. The 1892 Kellys list the receiver as Joseph Webb at no 239 and also a grocer. By 1896 the site included 237 and 239. By 1900 the office closed at 1pm on Thursday. The 1919 Directory lists a Money Order Office closing 1.00pm on Thursdays.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post & M.O. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays Office located at Webbs Stores Grocers Nos.237 & 239. Miss Webb was  Subpostmistress possibly after 1933, followed by Peters. Mr. Alf Scaife Subpostmaster from c1973. Subpostmaster appointed on 1/7/1987 Thomas Sloane (family name) Spenser. A two position office stretched to three at busy times. YEB tokens, gas keys and phone cards sold. Shop counter where the P.O. counter used to be. Business has increased following closure of Park Street six months prior to visit. They sold to the Lincolnshire C.O.O.P. and managed it for them for a period. In October, 2005 the C.O.O.P.  relocated the office to a purpose built supermarket  in Convamore Road a few yards to the south of the previous site. A three/four position counter was provided in the northern section of the building.  Hours of opening in 2007 were 09.00-17.30 MON-FRI, 09.00-12.30 SAT.  A link non self fill ATM has been installed.

VICTORIA STREET BRANCH OFFICE

The 1885 Kellys Directory lists a Branch Office in Victoria Street. This appears to have replaced the receiving office at Victoria Street North. Post, Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. In 1885 and 1889 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm Monday to Saturday. In 1896 the office was open 7.00am-10.00pm, Sunday 8.00-10.00, 5.00-6.00pm including the telegraph service. By 1900 J. Frisby was Superintendent. By 1905 a telephone call office facility had been provided. Sunday opening was extended an hour to 7.00pm for sale of stamps only. (D) In 1912 the catchment area of the office was mainly replaced by the new Victoria Street Branch Office but this office was technically moved to a new purpose built office in Riby Square. (P)

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D), Post Office Circular 8/10/1912 (P)

VICTORIA STREET NORTH

Formerly known as Loft Street until it was renamed shortly after a visit by Queen Victoria to the town and Royal Dock in 1854. I have examined a map the the office was on the east side of the road right on the corner of Victoria Street North and Cleethorpes Road. The 1856 Whites Directory lists a Post Office with George Croft as Receiver and also a chemist and druggist. According to Post Office Records it was probably renamed on 12th September, 1856 when an undated circular datestamp was issued. The range of services was extended from 1st July, 1859 when Money Orders could be issued and paid. By 1861 the Post Office Directory lists that the office had been re-designated as a Sub-office. As well as a chemist and druggist George was also a smack owner and proprietor of diving apparatus for working at wrecks etc underwater. Mrs Jane Croft was a grocer, Mrs Mary Croft a dressmaker and William Croft a smack owner at the same site. The range of Post Office services was further extended on 10th March, 1862 by the introduction of the new Savings Bank. In 1870 the new revolutionary technology of the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code GP).  The 1872 Whites Directory list Croft as a drysalter, chemist and druggist with the office being located at No. 402. Mrs Mary Croft is also mentioned but not a grocery business. By 1882 business just listed as a chemist. By 1885 this office appears to have been replaced by Victoria Street Branch Office.

VICTORIA STREET 284

1933 Kelly’s lists an office at 284 Victoria Street, L. Wragg Grocer 205 Carr Lane.  This office may have been called another name. Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

 

WELHOLME ROAD



The Post Office probably opened about January, 1907 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. It is listed in the 1909 Directory but no owner is indicated. The office closed at 1pm on Thursday. The 1913 Directory lists Miss Mary Dickinson as Subpostmistress and also a stationer. The office was located at No. 202.



On current site by 1919. The Place family ran and later Miss Place who was born at the site in 1919 was Subpostmistress. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Can Be Handed In Only) Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays G. Place Cycle Agent No.196,

Arthur Tonybee was later Subpostmaster from c1957 to at least 1974, having been a P.O. Messenger and postman prior to war service RECEIPT 11/5/1977 S. J. Smith.  September, 2004 proposed for reinvention closure. Now closed.

WEST MARSH

The Post Office probably opened on 1st January, 1880 when according to Post Office Records Money Order and Savings Bank services were offered at the office. The 1882 Whites Directory lists a receiving office but no details of the location. The 1885 Kellys Directory list the receiver as a Mr. Gee. In 1885 and 1889 the office opened 9.00am-6.00pm and Saturday 9.00am-8.00pm. No name of receiver listed in 1892, 1896 or 1900 Kellys. The 1905 Kelly's lists Robert Wilkinson as Subpostmaster. The business located in Yarborough Street was a grocers and agents for W. A. Gilbey Ltd. wine and spirit merchants. By 1909 the location had moved to 84 and 86 Corporation street but unless I am mistaken I think Yarborough Road was renamed Corporation Road about this time. The 1919 Directory lists a Money Order Office located at 60 Corporation Road. John Wales Prior is listed as Subpostmaster and grocer.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office West Marsh, Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays

Closed 28/02/1970

 WYBERS WOOD

First site now a hairdressers to east of present site. Prior to 1988 owned by Fourbuoys, later TM Retail, later renamed McColls. Now located in units 4-8 Michaels Drive.  Convenience store with National Lottery and external cash machine.  Euro’s on demand from 13th July, 2007. Opening hours in 2007 09.00-17.30 Monday-Friday, 09.00-12.30 Saturday.

RECEIPT 27/5/1981, 31/5/1983,16/6/1984,3/1/1985 Fourbuoys Ltd.

YARBOROUGH ROAD

1933 Kelly’s lists a Town Sub-Post M.O. & Tel Call Office Office Closes At 1pm On Thursdays, No Attendance On Sundays Or Bank Holidays, J. Prior Grocer

Alan Shepherd appointed Subpostmaster July, 1994 (NFSP) Joyce Paddison appointed Subpostmaster July, 1997 September, 2004 proposed for reinvention closure and stated as closing on 11th January, 2005. Now closed.

GRIMSTHORPE

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Bourne Owner not listed.

 The old post office cottage is located on the south side of the A151 just west of Little Close.

GUNNESS

POPULATION 1921 102

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office Letters From Scunthorpe Via Burringham H. Hall Grocer.

Lottery office, one position, added to MVL network, February, 2004.

Information Christine Smith

RECEIPT 5/7/1976 A. Edwards

HABROUGH

POPULATION 1841 334, 1851 368, 1861 364, 1871 394, 1881 391, 1891 343, 1901 344, 1911 396, 1921 411, 1931 408.

According to Post Office records the office was opened in 1869. White’s Directory of 1872 lists a basic Post Office with the Subpostmaster as Mr. Thomas Boynton, who was also a grocer and draper. Mail was delivered from and dispatched to Ulceby.  However, by 1876 Kelly’s Directory still lists Boynton as draper and grocer but the Subpostmaster was George Dann who was also a grocer.

By 1882 George appears to have been taken ill or died as the Subpostmistress is listed as Mrs Mary Ann Dann who was presumably his wife.  Again the office holder changed as by 1889 Mrs. Dann was just listed as a shopkeeper but the Subpostmistress was Mrs. Annie Humphrey who was also a stationer.  Presumably the location of the office changed each time between Boynton, Dann and Humphrey. Between 1892 and by 1896 Mrs. Annie Donovan started to be listed and as she was a stationer it is probably the same person who remarried? On 1st July 1892 the office had been redesignated as a Sub Office (S.O.), which meant that sealed bags of mail would have been sent directly to and from the office.  Also by this time Postal Orders could be issued but not paid.  This first started probably in 1890 as a rubber datestamp was supplied to the office in that year which would have been used to issue the orders. A further extension of facilities was introduced on 8th November, 1898 when a telegraph was installed (Code HGU). By 1900 an Express Delivery service was also offered. Unlike many other S.O’s Habrough did not become a T.S.O. but instead on 1st September, 1902 mail began to be delivered from Grimsby. By 1905 most offices that issued postal orders could also now pay them and Habrough was no exception. From 1st December, 1914 the status of the office was upgraded to a post town and again sealed bags of mail would be delivered to the office from all part of the country. By 1919 Miss Phoebe Priscilla Donovan had been appointed, presumably the daughter of Annie.  By 1922 Phoebe had married a Mr. Brown and a telephone had been installed Immingham 90.  She continued to at least 1937 and probably until at least 1945. (D)

Mrs. Vera Gillies remembers that at some time the office was located in West End Road and then at the Garage in Station Road. Then Browns, sited at the corner of Station Road and Cravens Lane. Then from c1945-1958 the office was sited in Immingham Road. The office was then located c1958-1963 and another site in same road. Mrs. Vera Gillies was then Subpostmistress herself and the office was moved to the south side of Chapel Lane. She ran the office from c1963-1988. During her day mail Bags delivered by railway (similar arrangement to Ulceby) until it became One Man Operated. At one time mail used to be despatched from Habrough to Keelby, Limber, Kirmington, East Halton, Killingholme and Immingham.(G)

The office then moved to be sited in Moseys general stores in north side of Station Road adjoining the Station P.H. from September, 1988. Elizabeth Mosey Subpostmistress. (M)  Steven and Maureen Powers took over from the Mosey’s and ran it for 1 or two years. Roger Bentley appointed as Subpostmaster. Worked there with Teresa. Business ran into financial difficulties and closed after less than a year (M).  After a period of closure Paul Chatterton appointed by May, 2001 at a new site - The Stables Village Shop Ltd. situated on the north side of the road behind the Station P.H.  On reopening the office was open on Wednesday afternoon. Opening hours were altered on 7th May, 2003 to Mon, Tue, Thur, Fri 09.00-17.30, Wed 09.00-12.30, Sat 09.00-12.30. From 16th February 2004 the hours were altered to Mon 09.00-12.00 13.00-17.00, Tue-Sat 09.00-12.00.  The counter is located at the western end of the building and the shop is a general stores with newspapers, tradicraft goods.  Hot drinks and a dry-cleaning service are also offered. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme. It was considered that Immingham, now concentrated at the west end of the High Street, was close enough to be considered as a suitable alternative facility. The planned closure date was 31st January, 2008.

 

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (D), Andrew Reynolds (AR), Mrs. Gillies (G), E. Mosey. (M)

 

 HACKTHORN

POPULATION 1921 285

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Estate village P.O. building owned by estate. 1900 Richard Moore Subpostmaster. Mr. Taylor Subpostmaster by 1928 he was a small holder. P.O. at present site in centre of village on amin street. Mr. Taylors daughter Ethel ran the P.O. Mr. W. Drakes Subpostmaster by 1933. He was also a small holder. Office had telephone exchange and delivered telegrams and mail to village and Cold Hanworth. Separate telephone exchange built c1939. Drakes retired and c1954/1955 Mrs Zealand Subpostmistress and Mr. Zealand delivered mail until he died. Mrs Zealand still Subpostmistress in 1963 and probably served c10 years. Mailwork still conducted until at least 1963 but later transferred to Welton and Moped provided to cover existing round and out towards Scampton. By 1975 Mrs. Cynthia Margarve Subpostmistress and remained until 1982 when she became manageress of the coop supermarket P.O. at Nettleham. Tony Kerry Subpostmaster from 1982-1984. As business his sole income he found it hard going financially and dreaded balancing the P.O. Newspapers and a small shop. Trevor Allan Subpostmaster for 6 months until jailed for child molestation. Estate covered P.O. until Mr. Alexander appointed he lasted until December 1987 when Mrs. Jenkinson became present Subpostmistress. Edward VII letter box with metal plate "LETTER BOX" at entrance to P.O.

HACONBY

POPULATION 1921 324

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Bourne R. Spratling Grocer.

closed 1972

 

HAGWORTHINGHAM

POPULATION 1921 321

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

From 1910-1951 Ernie? Dracass was Subpostmaster in same row as later P.O. in Church Street but at the northern end. Was also a general stores and did deliveries. Delivered telegrams to Stainby. 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From  Spilsby C. Dracass Grocer. Mr. Dracess died and Mrs Dracess ran business for a while. Post Office was moved to southern end of row, which had been the pot shop part of Dracass's business. Mrs Dyson was Subpostmistress from 1951-1971. She had worked in Oakham P.O. as a P.O. teleprinter operator during the war. Mail from Spilsby, her husband delivered mail from the office until he died in 1966. Mailwork ceased on her retirement.(D) A general stores was operated. The four years between 1971 and 1975 are not entirely clear. Mrs. Barker (& husband(DD))followed Mrs. Dyson and lasted less than a year.(D) Slaithwaites had it for a short time(D) Haughton's -an ex service man and his school teacher partner had it for 2 years and then Mrs. Pemberton ran it while her husband went out to work for two years until she became ill and passed it on to Duwick(DD) Mrs. Dora Duwick Subpostmistress from 1975-1988. The shop was altered to sell sweets, groceries, tobacco and cooked meats. Office was Savings Bank and Girobank. The closure of the village primary school in 1982 hindered the business as mothers had to travel with their children and started to shop and do post office business elsewhere. One amusing incident was that there was a dog rail outside the shop. One day a very large do tied to the rail was started and pulled away the rail and the window frame with it. Then post office was closed for 6 months. It then reopened at the Murco Petrol Garage on the south side of the road to the east of the village. Bob Peart and Angela ran it for 2-3 years but it was closed due to accounting irregularities.(DD) Jane Pickwell ran an existing cafe business sited on Main Road/High Street and S. G. Pickwell became Subpostmaster? c1993. Brian Kelsey appointed Subpostmaster on 3rd June, 1996 at Kelsey Cafe and Shop.(BK)  John Redman appointed Subpostmaster in February, 1999. Dora Dewick assists him as manageress and the business is known as JJ’s Café. (DD)  Community Post Office open 10.00-12.00, 14.00- 16.00 MON, TUE, THU since 1996 and probably since 1989. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

INFO Mrs. Dyson (D), Mrs. Duwick (DD), B. Kelsey (BK)

HAINTON

POPULATION 1921 252   

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 - P.O. T. Parker receiver, shopkeeper and tailor. Letters by messenger from Wragby in 12am out 2pm, PO appointment records list that Thomas Bolding was appointed on 11th May, 1853.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln J. Lee & Sons Grocers, Boot & Shoe Dealers

 

HALLTOFT END

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

P.O. in Jolly Farmer pub?

HALTHAM

After closure of Kirkby P.O. closed until moved to the nearby village of Haltham. Mr. Michael Gardener appointed Subpostmaster on 29th January, 1998 at the existing Haltham Garage, Main Road, Haltham. Cash Account office, open 1200-1400 Mon-Fri but service available when garage open. Purpose built brick counter with flat glass screen fitted in north west corner of public area. Premises are a petrol and repair garage with a shop selling confectionery, drinks, ice cream and some food items. Originally the Subpostmaster and his wife were trained and an assistant ran the post office. She left early in the summer of 1998 and the new assistant had to learn the post office work as she went along. ( New post office to replace Kirkby-on-Bain. Opened 13/11/97 info J. Roebuck ) In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

HALTON HOLGATE

POPULATION 1921 341

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Spilsby E. Baker Grocer.

When office was audited a large surplus was found. The Subpostmaster used to just keep putting deficit in each week rather than trying for a correct balance. (DC) info DC

 

HARLAXTON

POPULATION 1921 356

Office opened in 1861 and a rubber datestamp was provided in 1897 (S) probably for issuing postal orders (A). Was located at 9 Church Street with Mrs. Gibson as Subpostmistress.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grantham J. Dimmock Shopkeeper.

Office moved to current site at 36 High Street at the corner of Pond Street about 1978. It is sited in a converted cowshed adjoining a farmhouse. The Subpostmaster was Gene --- who was also a hypnotist. Mr. G. Vic Oliver was appointed c1984. Marion Webb was appointed in 2000 (W). Office opens 09.00-13.00 14.00-17.30 MON-FRI except WED 09.00-13.00 and SAT 09.00-12.00. One position office offering the standard range of services plus National Lottery Instants.  Also has a shop business.  

Information (A) Myself, (S) Ken Smith from P.O. Records, (W) M. Webb

 

HARLEY

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed 1882 nr Newton On Trent

HARMSTON

POPULATION 1921 301

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Miss M. Long Grocer

Closed soon after 1/4/90 business community charge too expensive Jenny Scott last Subpostmistress (Subpostmistress Coleby) reopened 1997 closed by 2000.

HARRINGTON

According to Post Office records the office opened on 1st August, 1844 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.n.  Mail was received from and delivered to Spilsby. The 1849 Post Office Directory P.O. E. Waite receiver. Mail by footpost from Spilsby, received 9.30am, dispatched 4.30pm.

Post Office transferred to Brinkhill in 1881

HARROWBY CAMP B.O.

Operated 1916-1918

HATCLIFFE

POPULATION 1921 157

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grimsby Owner not listed.

Sited on the east side of the road south of the Old Chapel, with a stream in front.  Mrs. Shucksmith ran it in 1963.  Fisher family replaced her until closure (18).  Closed 31/05/1983 building now known as the Old Post Office.

Information 18 –Resident no18 Beelsby. 

 

HAXEY

POPULATION 1921 1,944

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. G. Durrand. Mail from Bawtry received ?, dispatched ?. (D)

When the office was a telegraph office (early 1900’s?) it was sited in the first house on the North side of the road at the western end of the village.  Then it moved to a cottage, now demolished, sited in the garden of the King’s Arms.  The office then moved in the 1930’s to the present site at 37/39 High Street which has been converted from a Wesleyan Chapel. (H)

The 1933 Kelly’s Directory lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Doncaster owned by E. Eyres  who was also a Shopkeeper. (D) This may be the current site? Jack and Peggy Hall ran the office until 1977.  Prior to them Peggy’s Auntie held the appointment.  In 1977 Anthony Haywood was appointed and works with his wife Gwen.  The office undertakes mailwork, with three rounds in the village.  Datapost Office and reset franking machines until the system changed. (H) Shop sells greetings cards and stationery etc.  Opening hours 09.00 to 17.30 closing 13.00 to 14.00 for lunch and 12.30 for the day on Tuesday and Saturday. Motor Vehicle Licensing work has been authorized at the office sometime after 1993.

 

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories,/P.O. records via Ken Smith/own information (D).  Mr. Heywood (H)

 

HAXEY CROSS

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed c1898

HEALING

POPULATION 1921 746

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Formerly in front part of 61 Station Road, the end property of a row.(P) Mabel Beel was operating the post office here by the 1930’s and she continued until 1950 and possibly until 1960. The 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Miss E. Beel Grocer.  It had a telephone exchange in those days and conducted mailwork. Part of the premises was used to enable a doctor to conduct a surgery certain days of the week.  Mrs Beel was a very short lady and one day suffered a robbery with the culprit escaping on a motorised bicycle but dropping part of the money he had stolen on the way. (B) Office now situated in an Edwardian shop building built c1900 offering CTN, stationery and off licence This shop has been there since at least 1949 (but the Post Office probably moved to this site at a later date). Mrs Lucas ran shop and made ice cream on site.  Her daughter Dorothy married Karl Peterson. They ran the shop and he became Subpostmaster, probably when Miss Beel resigned. They had the Post Office here in 1961 (C) Conducted mailwork for the village, until work concentrated to Immingham. The Mr. and Mrs. Haswell and Mrs. Stringer there.  (S) Mr. Gordon Hibbett then became Subpostmaster with  his wife Jenny. They were were there by 1967 and held the post for at least 10 years. (C) M. R. Parker was the Subpostmistress. (P) Mr. Ahmed El Hadidi appointed by September 1993.  The counter was on the N.W. wall and he moved it to a new counter on the N.E. wall. National Lottery office by 1993.

Information  Mr. Beel (B) M. R. Parker (P) Miss Coates (C) Mrs Savage (S)

HEAPHAM

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1900 Post Office George Major Subpostmaster & Wheelwright mail from Gainsborough in 8.20 out 4.50 week days only. Postal Orders Issued only. Sited in end room of painted red brick house S. of w. "t" junction at w. end of village. Post Office continued there to 1930's.

info Mrs. Hill

HECKINGTON

POPULATION 1921 1,573

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. Holmes Postmaster and butcher. Mail from Sleaford, received ?, dispatched ?.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Sleaford Mail To Asgarby & Howell

Office was located at the western end at 36 High Street from before 1940. Mr. P. J. Mallett was Subpostmaster in 1992. (D) In the last few years at this site it was taken over by the COOP. Office moved 24th August, 2006 to Cooperative Store at 1 High Street located on the south side of the road at the junction with Station Road. A two-position counter is provided on the west side of the building, near to the N.W. corner and next to the COOP cash machine. Offered Euros on demand from February, 2007. Four self-inking datestamps are used so each clerk can have an individual stamp.(S)

 

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). Counter Staff (S)

 

HEIGHINGTON

POPULATION 1921 689

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office. Letters From Lincoln G. Robinson Grocer. (D) In 2008 Nicola Briscoe was Subpostmistress. She rents part of the premises to a baker so she can offer fresh bread to customers. (SU)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D). Subspace PO information (SU)

HELPRINGHAM

POPULATION 1841 763, 1851 829, 1861 912, 1871 911, 1881 941, 1891 758, 1901 767, 1911 732, 1921 733, 1931 737.

In common with many other offices Helpringham opened following the increase in mail usage following the introduction of the universal 1d postage in 1840. The office probably opened on 21st July, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was provided to datestamp outward mail. The office was served by Sleaford. The 1849 P.O. directory does not mention a Post Office but the 1855 Directory lists Mr. William Morriss as the Postmaster at the post office with mail arriving from Sleaford at 11.30 and being despatched from there at 2.30pm. In addition to acting as postmaster Mr. Morriss also ran a shop selling grocery and ironmongery. By 1861 the mail was being despatched at 3.30pm. By 1868 control of the office was transferred to Mr. Robert Ellis Watling who was listed as a receiver, grocer and draper so the location may have changed as well. By 1872 mail is shown as arriving at 09.30 with the afternoon despatch varying from 3.45 to 3.50 depending on which directory you consult. In 1886 a rubber datestamp was provided to datestamp the postal orders introduced in 1881. By 1889 Mr David Taft became the receiver and grocer but he may have died quite quickly after appointment as by 1892 Mrs Martha Taft was Subpostmistress, grocer and draper and would either have been the wife or possibly the daughter of David.

On 1st May, 1891 Heckington became a Railway Sub Office/Post Town which meant that it received it's own bags of sealed mail from all over the country rather than just from Sleaford. On the same date Helpringham also started to receive it's mail from Heckington with mail arriving at 09.15 with the afternoon despatch varying at 4.45 (altered to 9.00 and 4.40 by 1896). Also by 1896 customers could also buy stamps with an additional charge and post letters in the travelling post office which arrived at the station at 7.00pm towards Spalding and 8.39pm towards Sleaford. By 1900 mail receipt times had again been altered to 8.20am and it is specifically stated that there is no delivery of mail on Sundays. By 1905 George Borman had been appointed and was still also a grocer and draper. Mail was received at 8.20am and 3.15pm and despatched at 8.10am and 5.15pm not Sundays. Also the facility to cash as well as sell postal orders had been extended from a limited number of offices to nearly all including Helpringham. Up to now telegrams could be sent from the station and delivered from Sleaford but from 11th December, 1906 Helpringham became a telegraph office in it's own right (code HPZ) and telegrams could be accepted and sent from the office. Also from 3rd February, 1908 mail was again delivered from Sleaford arriving at 7.40am and 3.15pm and despatched at 6.55am and 5.15pm week days only. Also by 1908 the range of services at the office was also extended to include Money order and Savings Bank business. By 1913 mail times had again altered to arriving at 7.40am and 3.30pm and despatched at 6.50am and 5.30pm weekdays only. George continued as Subpostmaster until at least 1922 before being replaced by 1926 by Percy Bird whose shop was just now a grocers. Telegrams could also now be despatched and accepted by Express Delivery. By 1933 the office had a telephone for calls to places within a limited distance. Mr. Bird was still in office in 1937 and the office telephone number was Heckington 203.

No further information known except that the Subpostmaster voluntarily converted to community office status from 10/7/89 opening MON, TUE, THU, FRI, SAT AM THU PM. When I visited in May, 1990 I was unable to obtain any further information as the Subpostmaster was ill. (AR) The former owners were Pete and Paula bird who were replaced by Peter and Ann who now own the post office. That’s who it is run by but I’m not sure of their surnames  (G) By November, 2002 Stephen Robert and Jane Marie Bamford in charge and office located at 22 High Street.  In June 2003 they applied for an off-licence

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. AR Andrew Reynolds, G Gemma-web contact

HEMINGBY

POPULATION 1921 263

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office (Telegrams Despatched But Not Delivered). Letters From Horncastle. Mr. Gibbings had P.O. for quite a long time. Mrs. Campsill Subpostmistress from c1960. In front room of house opposite telephone box with free standing P.O. box outside. Closed September, 1989.

 

HEMSWELL

POPULATION 1921 290

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 P.O. Mrs. L. Smith postmistress letters from Spittal in 12am out 3pm. Early site of P.O. was in a single storey building in Weldon Road at the bottom of the hill. A team or horses came down the hill and went into the front of the building severely damaging it.(P) Mr. John Wray Subpostmaster here until he got his money mixed up (T) P.O. sited at 8 Church Lane. Mr. Herbert Baggley Subpostmaster from 1926. (probably first at this site?) (T). 1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Lincoln with Mr. Baggley described as a confectioner. (D) Mr. Ronald Tointon Subpostmaster for c 5 years, there in 1958/1959. He also had a grocery shop there. He was not a well man. Mr. Ian Redpath then appointed Subpostmaster, there 2 or three years. P.O. then situated at 6 (&8) Brook Street. This building has a lot of character with pleasant windows and a circular brick decoration above them. Mr. Atkin moved it here having had the shop from 1955. Mr. Atkin Subpostmaster from 1973(T). Mike Scattergood Subpostmaster (later at Metheringham) c1972-1978.(P) He extended shop area by building on east side and moving entrance door from between the main front shop windows to the east side. Mr. Leslie Bunting Subpostmaster from c1978/79-1985. Then Mr. Derek Pacey appointed Subpostmaster in October, 1985, runs general stores with his wife Jenny. Apart from a bakery they are the only shop in the village. They are an off license, deliver newspapers and sell bottled gas, coal, sticks etc. Office opens 09.00-17.30 with a half day Tuesday (but usually stays open) and Saturday. Cash Account office, mail from Gainsborough. Rem came from Lincoln in 1985, then from Grimsby until 1990 and now from Sheffield. Sells YEB tokens. Mr. Pacey a keen sweet pea grower since 1978. In 1992 he entered the National Sweet Pea Society's contest and came first of 1400 entries. This attracted a lot of visitors. Datestamp E 12.43

info from Directories (D) Derek Pacey(P) and Jack Thacker and Brother (T) 

HEMSWELL R.A.F.

P.O. built in 1938/39 by Mr. Herbert Baggeley Subpostmaster at Hemswell. 2 ladies ran it when he retired from here and the village. Mr. Baggeley there in 1958.(T) Then Cliff Lacey ran it in the 1960's. He was Subpostmaster in 1963 when the camp closed.(T)

Built 1939 when R.A.F. camp constructed. (W) According to official records the office opened on 2nd June, 1940 as Hemswell Aerodrome. Mail was received from and delivered to Lincoln. Then on 1th January, 1944 it was renamed Hemswell R.A.F. Station and the post town was altered to Gainsborough. (D) The camp closed after the war but reopened to handle U.S. missiles before closing again. Some of the accommodation is still used for army staff who man the base at Kirton Lindsey. P.O. dependent on these people and passing trade on main Gainsborough Road as there are few other residents, though a community called Hemswell Cliff is gradually evolving. Mr. Moss was a recent Subpostmaster, then someone from the N.E. before Mrs. Francis Wood appointed c1988. General stores including newspapers. Francis is a nurse and her husband Richard runs the Post Office. F/T Cash Account office selling YEB tokens out of hours. Mr. Wood has extended premises at front and now has an appealing and large shop area. P.O. open 09.00-17.30 with half day Wednesday and Saturday. Finds it difficult to persuade the locals to use the P.O. and is frustrated that despite doing everything he can to improve business little changes. He is fed up telling his customers that he can't do MVL licences or passports. (W) Mr. & Mrs. Graves were appointed from April, 2002 having previously lived on the Isle of Wight. Lunch break between 12.00-14.00. (D)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D), Jack Thacker and Brother (T)  R. Wood (W)

HIBALDSTOW

POPULATION 1921 870

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1882.  Mail was received from and delivered to Lincoln.

P.O. situated on the same site on the East side of the southern end of Redbourne Road for over 90 years. P.O. counter in N.W. corner i.e. to the left as you go in. Mrs. Sinderson Subpostmistress for c30 years then her daughter Georgina Harrison Sub postmistress for c 30 years. 1933 Kelly’s confirms a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Brigg Mrs. G. Harrison Shopkeeper. Reginald J. Harrison (son of Georgina) Subpostmaster with his wife M.C. Harrison since 1963/1964. Shop extended into the rear living room and now a non-residential office. One position Cash Account office now selling YEB tokens. Mail from Brigg, not a mail office in last 30 years except at Christmas. General stores of the old fashioned type.

INFO Mrs. Harrison

HOGSTHORPE

POPULATION 1921 511

According to Post Office records the office opened on 22nd January, 1845 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied. Mail was received from and delivered to Boston.

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. Mrs E. Brown receiver. Mail arrangement had been altered and it came by footpost from Alford, received 9.30am, dispatched 4.00pm. On 1st April, 1873 the range of facilities offered was extended to include Money Order and Savings Bank Business.

On 4th August, 1908 a Telegraph facility was provided at the Post Office (Code HPG).

From 1st May, 1931 mail arrangement were altered and mail was delivered and dispatched to Skegness.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Skegness G. Young, no other business mentioned. (D)

The office was located at a site in the High Street 200 yards south of the final site. Mr. V. Gray assisted by his wife, opened a Post Office at their existing shop site c1989/1990. (H) The shop was a general stores with news agency delivery rounds. He was certainly the Subpostmaster by December, 1992. (D). Mr. Tom Hedges was appointed in December 1994, assisted by his wife and his young daughter Becky. The lottery was introduced that year but it was some years before the office gained a terminal. (H) In May, 2011 an audit revealed some serious financial discrepancies and the Post Office appointed an agent to manage the office. (E) The office closed by 14th September, 2011 but may reopen as a Post Office Local outlet. (D)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D), Lincolnshire Echo (E)Becky Hedges (H)

HOLBEACH

POPULATION 1921 1,042

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. & M.O.O. E. Smith Hoff Postmaster and merchant. London Mail via Wisbech, received 8.00am and 6.00pm, dispatched 4.30pm. Box closes for London at 4.00pm but accepted until 4.15pm if fee paid. Mail from Boston received 12.00, dispatched 6.00pm. Money Orders Issued and paid 9.00am to 6.00pm not Sunday.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. The office was located at  Barrington Gate and B. Pullan was Postmaster And Stamp Distributor

 

HOLBEACH HURN

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office. Letters From Holbeach. Mrs. C. Hickson Post Office only.

 

HOLBEACH MARSH

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed 1870 renamed  HOLBEACH ST. MARK'S?

 

HOLBEACH ST. JOHN'S

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office. Letters From Holbeach C. Bacon Shopkeeper.

P.O. on north side of road just west of corner. House called Annfield. Office closed c1995

 

HOLBEACH ST. MARK'S

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Holbeach. J. Tegerdine & Son Boot & Shoe Dealers with the office located at  Holbeach Marsh

 

Office closed by 2003.

 

HOLLAND FEN

POPULATION 1921 508

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed  but also a Holland Fen Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln C. Johnson Grocer

Situated in Spar shop since c1930 post office section resited and improved by locating it in former stockroom at the back of the shop in 1989. Prior to 1930 situated in brick house opposite bailey bridge at southern end of village, there since P.O. opened.(AR) Mr. Dunmore was Subpostmaster prior to final Subpostmaster. Mail work was transferred to Billinghay.(HB Tattershall) Office closed following Auditors visit.5/3/1993(AR)

HOLTON LE CLAY

POPULATION 1921 347

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Grimsby Owner not listed

Pre war original early P.O. was in a wooden hut. Mrs Garrett & Miss Sinclair ran it. Then one little shop with brown fittings built. Mrs. Crawford took over as Subpostmistress. (Mr) & Mrs Morgan Subpostmistress from 1953 (M) until 24th January, 1996 when Anna Morgan became Subpostmistress. Mrs. Morgan died in August, 1996.(A) Old kitchen and dining room taken in and shop gradually extended. Spar shop from Spar's inception. Population rose during 1950-1990 from c400 to c4000. Two positions when necessary 6 staff to cover at various times. Open each afternoon. Originally opened WED pm for Nickersons seeds but now most of their operations at Rothwell. Mailwork office 3 rounds at first in village and up Tetney Road to Fords Yard. Start sorting at 7AM. Now 4 rounds, one lady with a trolley and three on bikes. Now start at 6.45 to speed up sorting and some mail brought in previous afternoon. Some mail delivered by an extra girl when available as a 'runner' to improve delivery times. Provided with a uniform chosen from a book provided with measurements.(M) Mailwork ceased in April, 1996 though some pouches are still left at the office and P739 Notice Left items are handled. Lottery office from January, 1996. New self-inking datestamps, electronic scales and 2000 screen brought into use in November, 1996(A). On Demand Euro Dollar currency transaction offered. At that time the Subpostmistress had to invest a sum in advance refundable if sufficient business resulted.

Business sold to Tates Limited in November, 2011.

info Mrs. Morgan (M), Anna Morgan (A)

HOLTON-LE-MOOR

POPULATION 1921 218

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed

Sited in general stores and off licence since c1934. Front shop windows removed to extend frontage. Estate village P.O. sited in semi-detached Edwardian building and called Askew - one of the houses of Caistor Grammar School. Formerly sited in the southern section of Salisbury Cottages the next semi to the south. Was a mailwork office until 1960's? Mail collected from Holton Station.

HONINGTON

POPULATION 1861 157, 1881 177, 1891 183, 1901 ?, 1911 ? 1921 159

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1865  Mail was received from and delivered to Grantham. The 1872 Kelly's Directory list that a Post Office offering a basic range of services was being operated by Mrs Eliza Wright the wife of a carpenter. White's 1882 Directory lists the Subpostmaster as William Wright who was also a joiner, and wheelwright. I am not sure if Eliza died and he took over or he was Eliza's son. By 1892 William was also listed as an assistant overseer. 1881 saw the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. 1891 was probably the year that Postal orders were first issued here as a rubber datestamp was supplied in that year. The 1896 Directory refers to postal orders being issued but not paid. The 1900 Directory lists his trade as that of a carpenter but he was still an assistant overseer to at least 1905. In common with most offices by 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid here. Between 1905 and 1909 Mrs. Mary E. Kelham was appointed Subpostmistress. Her husband John Matthew Kelham was listed as a wheelwright so the business probably remained in the same location. In common with many rural offices a Telephone Call Office facility was provided by 1926 which was earlier than many others. Mary is listed as Subpostmistress in 1926 but no owner is listed in 1930. She continues as a shopkeeper to at least 1937 but sometime between 1930 and William Edwin Palmer was appointed and the location of the office would have changed as he was a Butcher and had been so since 1930. The telephone number was 211. 1937 is the last date I have a record for Palmer so don't know how long he continued after that or of any additional information. The office closed on 17th March, 1987.(D)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D)  

HOP POLE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

closed by 1980. Was sited opposite the telephone kiosk. Last Subpostmistress Mrs. Chapel, preceded by Mrs. Vamplew. Mailwork office.

HORBLING

POPULATION  1921 360, 1931 375

According to Post Office records the office probably opened on 8th April, 1844 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied . Mail was delivered from and dispatched to Falkingham. The 1849 P.O. Directory lists a basic Post Office with William Worth Dean as Postmaster, draper and grocer. By 1861 he was also an insurance agent for Provident Life.  By 1868 he had been replaced by Henry Glenn who was also a shopkeeper so the location probably didn’t change as the 1882 Directory also list him as a grocer and draper. In 1890 a rubber datestamp was issued probably to enable postal orders to be datestamped on issue.  By 1900 mail was being received from Folkingham in the morning and Billingborough at 2.30 and dispatched to Folkingham in the evening. Between 1900 and 1905 Mrs Mary Ann Watson was appointed. She was also listed as a shopkeeper so location probably didn't change. In common with many other offices by this date Postal Orders could be issued and paid. Between 1919 and 1922 Mary was replaced by Lawrence Henry Harris. From 14th June, 1920 mail was delivered from and dispatched to Billingborough only but in 1922 the office closed.  Harris is still listed as a shopkeeper until 1937. According to Post Office records it was re-established by June 1938(D).

Local knowledge is that by 1937 Mrs. Harris was Subpostmistress in Old Post Office Farm just south of Spring Lane. The building has an interesting clock still on the outside wall. Then Mrs. Cox Subpostmistress (probably followed on) at 3 High Street, just north of school. Her husband was a painter and decorator. She was Subpostmistress for c32 years. Then Mrs Wilkinson Subpostmistress for 6-9 months in lean-to built onto house at back of the shop which is now Rivendel to the north of Spring Lane. With two small children, another baby on the way and problems with balancing the books decided her to give her resignation. There was then no Post Office in village for 5 months. Then in November, 1987 Mrs. Pauline Pulfree reopened it as a community office, open 5 mornings per week, in her house in 2, Sandylands Close. Council estate originally built under covenant on land owned by the Crown. Many houses had since been sold under the right to buy scheme but the covenant had to be renegotiated and a fee paid to be able to run the business. Still restrictions on what can be done on site, milk or bread cannot be sold for example but sweets, stationery, cards, firelighters eggs etc sold. Office situated in a 2'X1' area with the post office area in the original front hall and the customer area in an adapted front porch. Special woodwork made to hold the glass screen and provide an opening window to accept parcels. Pedestal Post box provided at front of house after opening. Not a mails office (P)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D) Mrs. Pauline Pulfree (P)

 

HORKSTOW

POPULATION  1861 245, 1881 274, 1891 243, 1901 193, 1911 207, 1921 196, 1931 198

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1874 but it is not listed in the 1876 Kelly's Directory. Mail was received from and delivered to Hull. White's Directory of 1882 is the first listing. A Post Office offering a basic range of services was being operated by Mr. Thomas Hodlin an existing bootmaker. 1881 saw the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. 1897 was probably the year that Postal orders were first issued here as a rubber datestamp was supplied in that year. The 1900 Directory refers to postal orders being issued but not paid.

By 1900 Thomas had been replaced by Mrs. Anne R. Hodlin who was probably his wife. In common with most offices by 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid here. By 1909 Charles Hodlin is listed as Subpostmaster. The business was almost certainly on the same site as he was also a bootmaker and most likely the son of Thomas and Anne. From 22nd March, 1920 mail delivery arrangements were altered and mail was received from and delivered to Barton Upon Humber. The 1926 directory does not list Charles as a bootmaker but lists Mrs Annie Hodlin as shopkeeper. By 1930 Annie has been appointed Subpostmistress. In common with many rural offices a Telephone Call Office facility was provided by 1933. Annie was still in post when the 1937 Directory was published but I have now information after that date. The office closed on 4th February, 1978.(D)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D)

HORNCASTLE

POPULATION 1801 2,015, 1841 4,516, 1851 5,017, 1861 4,944, 1881 4,818, 1891 4,374, 1921 3,496

According to Post Office records a Post Office with the status of Post Town was operating in Horncastle by 1705.  The facility to issue and pay Money Orders was introduced here on 1st October, 1792. Between 1800 and 1840 the population of the town more than doubled.  By 1826 the Post Office was located at Waterside with Mr. Richard Babington acting as Postmaster. He continued to at least 1842. When the largest 1,000 Post Offices were given numbered postage stamp obliterators in 1844 Horncastle was allocated number 378. By 1849 Henry Boulton had replaced Mr. Babington and the office had moved to High St. As well as the Post Office Henry was also a newsagent, bookseller, stationer, patent medicine vendor, agent for the County Fire and Provident Life Office.  He also operated a registry office for servants.

The Webster family worked at this office from the 1850’s to the 1920’s.  Does anyone have any information about them for a contact?

By 1861 Henry is listed as having moved the office to Market Place and the business now just a Sub Distributor of Inland Revenue Stamps and agent for County Fire, Provident Life and Clerical Medical and General Life Assurance.  The Horncastle and Kirkstead Railway opened on 12th August, 1855 but did not result in any change to the mail collection arrangements.  The range of Post Office services was though further extended on 18th November, 1861 by the introduction of the new Savings Bank.  By 1868 this also included Government Insurance and Annuity Business. In 1870 the new revolutionary technology of the Telegraph was introduced at the office (Code HC).  Whites Directory of 1872 lists the hours of business as Money Orders and Savings Bank 9.00am-5.00pm and Postal Telegrams 7.00am-8.00pm.  The address of the business is given as 2 Market Place but the Post Office is listed as 14 Bridge Street so the office probably again relocated about this time. The 1882 directory confirms the move to 14 Bridge Street.

By 1885 the Monday to Saturday opening hours for Postal and Telegraph business had been extended to 8.00am to 8.00pm. The location of the office had though again moved to High Street.  In 1883 a Parcel Post Service had been introduced to most Post Offices including Horncastle. On Sundays no Money Order or savings Bank business was conducted but letter registration, stamps and Telegraphs were available for 8.00am to 10.00am.  Between 1885 and 1889 Thomas William Smith had been appointed and was still a Sub Distributor of Inland Revenue Stamps. The issuing of Gun and Game licences were mentioned as additional services.  By 1896 Telegraphic Money Orders and Express Delivery Services had been added to the list of services offered.  Robert Chandler had taken over as Postmaster. The 1900 Kelly’s lists the office at 21 High Street and opening 7.00am to 8.00pm, telegraphs from 8.00am. On Sundays telegrams were received and dispatched between 8.00am and 10.00am. By 1909 Telephonic Express Delivery was also being offered but the counter did not open until 7.45am.  Telegraphs could still be sent 8.00am to 8.00pm (still 8.00-10am Sundays) but a telephone was also now available.

By 1913 Herbert Cater Coman had taken over as Postmaster.  The office was open for 8.00am to 8.00pm for all services with a continuous service for telephone subscribers. The office was regarded from a Head Office to a Salaried Sub Office on1st December, 1917. By 1919 Wilfred Hewood had been appointed Postmaster. The hours the counter was open were 9.00am to 7.00pm. A continuous service was provided for telephone subscribers except between 12.30 and 1.30pm. The Directory also notes that between these times general office works, telegrams and telephone services would only be received at the side entrance. On Sundays Telegraphs were only dealt with between 8.30 and 10.00am. The 1926 Kelly’s lists the Postmaster as George Onn and the office had moved to its present site in the Market Place.  The counter was open from 8.00am to 7.30pm and on Sundays Telegraphs were only dealt with between 9.00 and 10.30am. On a date unknown the office was regarded as a Branch Office, possibly by 1930 as the 1930, 1933 and 1937 Kelly’s do not list an owner.

By 1991 the office was regarded from a Branch Office with salaried Crown Office employees to a Modified Sub Post Office.  (D)

HORNCASTLE POSTMEN

Frederick Milns bn. 1865 in Horncastle, md Cariline A. Firth in 1888 they lived at 10 Mill Lane ( called Water Mill Lane in 1891& 1901 census's) till he died in 1949. Two doors away at no. 6 in the 1891 census lived another postman James P. Belton. Frederick's parents lived in the house between these two (no.8), these houses still exist today. (L)

Information Directories/own information/information from P.O. records by Ken Smith (D) Terry Levett (L)


EAST STREET

According to Post Office records a Post Office also offering Money Order and Savings Bank facilities opened on 1st April, 1898. The 1900 Kelly’s Directory locates the office at 55 East Street with W. Tayles the Subpostmaster at his Grocery business at 55 and 57. By this time Annuity and Insurance and Express Delivery Services were being offered.  However, the 1905 Directory lists the office as being relocated at 75 East Street.  William Abbott was the Subpostmaster and also baker. By 1909 Mrs. Florence Lea was the Subpostmistress and also baker.  As the business was listed as Abbott and Lea Florence was probably the married daughter of William Abbott. By 1913 Mrs. Eliza Abbott had taken over as Subpostmistress and she continued to at least 1919. By 1922 Mrs. F. Lea was again listed as Subpostmistress but I am not sure if this is the same person who ran it previously.  The office closed in 1923 (P.O. amendments Apr. 1923)

HORSINGTON

POPULATION 1921 242

According to Post Office records the office opened in .  Mail was received from and delivered to .

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed.

Post Office was sited in a 4 bedroom detached house with the front door in the middle to two bay windows.(AR) Mailwork transferred to Woodhall Spa. (HB Tattershall)

HOUGH-ON-THE HILL (pronounced Hof)

POPULATION 1921 390

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 - P.O. Directory P.O. W. Crow receiver and shoemaker letters from Grantham by footpost in 12.00am out 3.00pm,

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. Office Letters From Grantham Mrs. S. Nicholson Grocer

Village owned by Brownlow Estate Mrs. Morris Subpostmistress and her aunt had it before her Then Ann Cresswell Subpostmistress c1976-1983 June Bellamy Subpostmistress for 10 months 1983/84 Mrs Ethel Meale Subpostmistress since 1984. Cash Account office in general stores, mail to Grantham. Closes Tuesday 12.00 and Saturday 1pm. Mail work? certainly not since 1976.(EM) Office closed in 2001 (G)

Info from (EM) E. Meale, (G) T. Gardner

HOWSHAM

POPULATION 1921 447

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Lincoln Owner not listed

temporarily closed 21.8.89, RECEIPT 5/7/1976 N.T. Fowler

HUBBERT'S BRIDGE

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Boston Owner not listed.

P.O. in spar shop until c1992/1993 (HB Tattershall)

HUMBERSTON(E)

Humberston is now spelt without an "E" at the end but the 1900 and the 1909 to 1933 Kelly's directories spell the name of the village as Humberstone. Mr. Lofthouse considers that the "E" was dispensed with to avoid confusion with Humberstone in Leicestershire. In 1891 the population of the parish was recorded as 254 people. Postal-wise Humberstone has always looked to Grimsby for it's mail services and the mail was handled from there. By 1900 there was no need for a post office or even a shop in the village and letters were brought by foot post from Grimsby. Mail arrived at 10.00am and the wall letter box was emptied at 4.50pm. In 1881 Postal Orders were introduced and in 1883 the inland Parcels Post Service was commenced and by 1900 most offices could also pay postal orders as well. According to Post Office records the post office at Humberston opened on 10th July, 1900 and a rubber date stamp of the type provided to offices to date stamp paid postal orders was provided at that date. In 1905 Wright Collinson was Subpostmaster and shopkeeper and the Post Office was a Post and Postal order office only, i.e. it didn't conduct Savings Bank or Money Order Business. Mail arrived at 9.20 a.m. and was still collected at 4.50 p.m. It is likely that Collinson was the first Subpostmaster and that he felt that by 1900 the village could support the new Post Office and shop venture. By 1909 Collinson was still listed as a shopkeeper and Parish Clerk but the details of who was Subpostmaster were left blank in Kelly's indicating that Collinson was no longer in charge. Mail now arrived at 7.05 a.m. and dispatched at 5.50 p.m.. It is probable that Collinson's Shop and Post Office was located in Church Road. A map of 1907 shows it on the north side of Church Road (now Church Walk) opposite a road junction and travelling from the church past the next right hand bend after the smithy and chapel. Eric Croft's P.O. book then pictures the Post Office in Walk Road in a semi-detached thatched cottage now demolished on the N.W. corner of Walk Road and Tetney Road. The picture is thought to date circa 1910 indicating that the Post Office probably moved after Collinson ceased as Subpostmaster. By 1913 Mrs Mary Anne Cheeseman was Subpostmistress but did not also run a shop. A local resident remembers it being just a table in a room covered with green baize, a cupboard for the money and stock etc and a post box in the house wall. She continued until at least 1926 but after that Kelly's do not list the actual incumbent in 1930 or 1933. By 1919 a telephone had been provided and the Post Office also operated as a Telephone Call Office. The population of Humberston altered from 234 in 1901, through 388 in 1911, and 609 in 1921 to quadruple its original size to 1096 by 1931. (The population in the 1990's is over 8,000). This is reflected in the fact that by 1937 the Post Office had been able to also act and a Telegraph and Telegraph Express Delivery Office. Harry William Kennington was the Subpostmaster and also acted as Parish Clerk. His telephone number was 86. He was the son in law of Mrs. Cheeseman and was a postman until taking over the office when she died. I am not sure when the Post Office moved to it's present site at 71 Church Avenue, Humberston. The map of 1932 shows the location of the Post Office at Walk Road and it probably moved between then and 1940. Mr. George Tasker followed him, also serving as a parish councillor.(L) Mr. Alan Hodgson was Subpostmaster from 1966(L)and the Subpostmaster since September, 1980 is Keith Lofthouse who serves with his wife Tina.(L) It is Three position office with the counter from north to south in the north east corner. The entrance is from the side road. Greetings cards, stationery and packet confectionery also sold. The shop did though once extend into part of the present living space and was also a general store. The Richard Jackson Computer system is used and a Lottery terminal was installed in 1996. The Office has a quantum gas terminal and an APT since November, 1998. For the size of office the APT should have been fitted previously and it wasn't until permission was refused for the current terminal that it was found that Head Office thought Humberston already had one terminal and that they were requesting two. Office is also an "on-demand office" for insurance. (L) Not data post. Office moved to a new parade in March, 1999 and is now located at 51 Fieldhouse Road.  The reason for this is that if it were offered for sale would have to relocate and compete with other outlets to take over the office. One of the original offices to offer the lottery which is situated behind the P.O. Counter.  By 2004 a Hanco ATM machine had been fitted and currently the retail side offers stationery, greetings cards, confectionery, soft drinks cabinet and cigarettes. By 2008 Hanco ATM machine had been replaced by an external A&L ATM.

In January, 2009 Corrieanne Wrigley appointed Subpostmistress assisted by her mother Linda Wrigley. In August, 2009 Corrie was suspended following the discovery of accounting irregularities and Tony Beatty of Cleethorpes supplied staff to maintain the counter service.

Three date stamps in use two from the county alterations of 1974 and a second double ring from c1994. New SID datestamps provided in 2010.

Information by compiler except (L) Mr. & Mrs. Lofthouse.

Compiled by Andrew Reynolds, Post Office North Somercotes. Copyright,. Many thanks and acknowledgements to P.O. Archives, Post office, Kelly's and White's Directories of Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire Post Offices-Eric Croft and Ken Smith Post Office researcher.

HUMBERVILLE

Renamed Immingham East in 1913.

HUNDLEBY

POPULATION 1921 434

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

At No 30 main road. 2 people said Holmes family early owners. By 1930 J. Walton Subpostmaster, bachelor, thought to be a relative of Holmes, ran P.O. to 1943. This is confirmed by the 1933 Kelly’s Directory which lists a Post & Tel Call Office, Letters From Spilsby  and owned by J. Walton Grocer. Then Mrs. Nelson took over, she found it hard at first to balance up and thought about giving it up. Aged 31 or 32 when she took over. Portable building used as a store room. Later adjoining house bought to live in. In 1943 P.O. had a public telephone just inside post office. After call made operator contacted for details of charge which was then logged. Mrs. Nelson ran P.O. to c1973 and then moved to P.O. at E. Kirkby. One of the longest serving Subpostmistress in area 1943-c1978. (N) P.O. open to 6pm for evening collection, not a mails office. Then Mr. Bates Subpostmaster and then possibly The Sandersons until Mr. Colins appointed. He wasn't suited to the job, liked his drink and was there for 18 months. Mrs. Moxon was then Subpostmistress from November, 1983. She extended shop into rear storeroom, which was originally a living room in Mrs. Nelsons day. (M) She also purchased a self-inking datestamp.  From May, 1998 Susan Hendy was appointed Subpostmistress.  She and her husband continue to operate the business as a stores and post office. (2004) (H) In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Information Mrs Nelson (N), Mrs. Moxon (M), Mrs. Hendy (H)

HUTTOFT

POPULATION 1841 515, 1851 586, 1861 710, 1871 651, 1881 597, 1891 535, 1901 469, 1911 468, 1921 458, 1931 461.

According to Post Office records the office opened on 22nd January, 1845 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.   Mail was received from and delivered to Alford.

The 1849 Directory lists a Post Office offering basic services in the charge of J. Clark Receiver, who was also a grocer, draper & druggist. Between 1861 and 1868Clark was replaced by David Herlock. He was also a grocer and draper so the office probably remained on the same site. The 1872 White's Directory also lists activities of wine merchant and agent for the Royal Assurance Co. The 1882 Directory incorrectly lists him as Harlock(?) but also adds general dealer and dealer in patent medicines to the list of activities. 1881 had seen the introduction of the still familiar Postal Order. They were similar to money orders but designed for lower monetary values ranging from 1/- to 21/-. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1888 probably to cancel these, although the 1896 Directory is the first to mention that they could be issued but not paid. In 1893 the status of the office was altered to railway sub office, which meant it received bags of mail directly by train from different parts of the country rather than from the head office. On 11th December, 1894 the status was altered to Sub Office. I am not sure how this differs from R.S.O. As I thought S.O. Succeeded R.S.O. To further confuse things the office status was re designated as R.S.O. On 1st July, 1900. Between 1896 and 1900 William P. Cash replaced Herlock although Herlock is still listed as a grocer and draper. This possibly mean't that the office changed location, but as no other activities are listed for Cash he may have been in the process of taking over when the Directory was compiled as the 1905 Directory lists him as a grocer. The range of services were extended on 4th March, 1902 when a telegraph (code HFT) was fitted. The 1905 Directory indicated that Telegraphed Express Delivery could be offered and in common with other offices Postal Orders could now be issued and paid. (D)

Local knowledge is that Mr. Cash was Subpostmaster in 1900 and for many years. The Post Office was sited in a grocers shop and general stores at the S.W. corner of Mumby Road and Alford Road. © The office was re designated as a Sub Office on 1st August, 1905 and from Janaury, 1908 the office lost it's independent mail status and was again controlled from Alford. The 1909 Directory the retail activities as General Dealer in all kinds of drapery, grocery, provisions, clothier and hardware dealer. (D) The final 1937 Kelly’s still lists W. Cash as the owner and the telephone number was TN1. (D) Not sure when he died but Mrs. Cash became Subpostmistress and continued business aided by her daughter.

Circa 1948/1949 Mr. Fred Hoyes took over shop and his brother Burt Hoyes became Subpostmaster. Mr. Smith delivered the village mail with a bicycle working from 6.50 to 12.30-14.30 depending on the volume of mail. In 1956 Burt "blew his rag" with a balance and in the spur of the moment tendered his resignation. This was accepted by the Post Office and he later regretted it. As a consequence Post Office moved to north end of the village in the other grocers shop on the west side of Sutton Road. Mr. John Tomlin became Subpostmaster and the later Subpostmistress, Mrs. Chatterton assisted working full time at first and later part time. Mail work continued until c1965 when it was concentrated on Alford. In 1969 Mr. Tomlin moved the Post Office to Church View Bungalow on the east side of Mumby Road opposite the old post office. A bedroom of the bungalow was converted into the P.O. and he continued the office until he retired at 70 in 1984. The Post Office then moved to the north side of Alford Road to Crisjoy Bungalow. The bungalow was built in 1956 and a purpose built Post Office area has been added at the front to house the Post Office. Mrs. Joyce Chatterton was appointed Subpostmistress. One position Cash Account office under N.E.R. Closed Wednesday until balance day change and now closes Thursday. Sells home help, TV and gas stamps but not YEB tokens. Only has parcel and airmail scales. Also sells greetings cards and stationery. Datestamp was replaced in 1993 following complaint from a NSB customer who took her book to London and the office couldn't read the impression. In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme. An outreach service was introduced serviced by North Somercotes.

1849 Letters from Alford in 8.00am out 5.00pm.

Information: Own information, P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (D).Mrs. Chatterton (C)

HYKEHAM MOOR

Population see North Hykeham

Situated at 310 Newark Road, North Hykeham, Lincoln, LN6 8JX and thought to have been on same site since opening, probably in 1912 when a rubber datestamp was supplied. The first Subpostmaster was Charles Thomas Macrill as he is listed in the Directory for 1913.  He was also a grocer.  Mail was dispatched from and delivered to Lincoln. By 1933 the office was also a telephone call office. Macrill was Subpostmaster until at least 1937.  The office was originally classified as rural but between 1964 and 1966 it was reclassified as a Lincoln Town Sub Office (D). The next Subpostmaster for which I have any information on is N. F. Taylor who was Subpostmaster on 10/01/1988 and 26/3/1996 (R).

Simon Clarke appointed July, 2000 assisted by his wife Maria moving from Leicester where Simon had worked for National Westminster Bank for 21 years. Simon has been the Secretary of Grimsby and Lincoln NFSP since 2001. Office opens 09.00-17.30 Monday to Friday and 09.00-12.30 Saturday.  Two positions are offered and the business has a retail side. (AR 2003)

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (D). NFSP receipts (R), Andrew Reynolds (AR)  

 

IMMINGHAM FORMERLY IMMINGHAM EAST

POPULATION 1921 2,150

1933 Kelly’s lists an Immingham East Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Grimsby owned by J. Franklin Photographic Dealer, Tobacconist and Stationer. Located at Market Buildings.

Office sited at 64 Pelham Road in parade of shops. Mr. Cook later of Keelby ran this office. He was replaced by a Mr. Vernon took over from him. Mailwork was conducted until the new sorting office at Immingham was opened. Prior to that mail had been sorted at the rear of the present site, then in a garret above the present site and lastly in a garage a few door away. C1989 Mr. Davis from Lincoln was appointed. He bought at the top of the property price market and was unable to sell his house in Lincoln. He was dismissed in 1992 with the P.O. being taken over by the lending bank and Crown Office Staff providing a counter service.(MC) So Mrs. Doreen Clafton wife of Subpostmaster at Barton-On-Humber appointed on 18th May, 1993. Office is a three position Cash Account office and was a P.O. only until 1993. Since then some purpose built greetings card stands have been fitted and a sweet counter with a till. Office does MVL's, Grimsby Bus tickets, British Gas Quantum and has 3 YEB imprinters. Used a Richard Jackson computer. Office stated as closing as part of reinvention programme on 15th January, 2005.

IMMINGHAM DOCK

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O. & Tel Call Office owned by E. Rutter Postmaster & Steamship Manager The Docks.

Originally sited at the north eastern corner of Alexandra Road. Building now occupied by Interseas. It was run c1950's by Mrs. Hewitt, wife of the ship's chandlers on the site. Then in the 1960 the site moved further south down the road to a GKN owned building. The post office was run by D.M. Hewson and was also a general store. Then in November, 1986 it moved again to present site in a new building called Neptune house. The P.O. has its own separate area next to the GKN Seamans shop and Marine Shop. The Sub Postmistress since 11/1986 is Mrs. Dogos. The P.O. is sited actually on Immingham Docks and deals with business from the dock area. The vast majority of the business is therefore postage and it is also a Datapost Office. No YEB or franking machines reset. Now closed.

387 PELHAM ROAD IMMINGHAM formerly IMMINGHAM WEST

1933 Kelly’s lists an Immingham West Post Office F. Hunt Stationer. Located at 379 Pelham Road.

Mr. Ron Peart Subpostmaster to c1984, moved to Bradley Cross Roads (K. Adkins) RECEIPT 12/6/1985 Palmer & Harvey. By 2004 an individual Subpostmaster had again been appointed.  Two position office with lottery.

INGHAM

POPULATION 1921 483

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Lincoln W. Trevor Farmer

Jack and Alice Wilson ran P.O. at 18 The Green by 1938 to 31/10/1968. Mrs. Wilson Subpostmistress? She 'wouldn't let you in (children) with mucky boots'. Elsie Dickinson was post lady there for many years. One round in village, 5.30am start and also afternoon delivery. Then the P.O. moved to present site in a general stores and newspaper shop at 24 The Green. Edgley family ran it. They didn't want the mail work when they took over and it was transferred to Scampton resulting in the loss of the afternoon delivery. The Edgleys were 2 brothers and they both died and one or both of their wives and the Subpostmastership passed between them. They were there from 1/11/1968-c1970/71. Then Mr. Isherwood Subpostmaster c1970-1972/73. Then Mr. Sloan Subpostmaster c1972-1978/79. Then Mrs. Porter Subpostmistress c1979/80-Feb 1982. Mr. & Mrs. Dodds then had business from FEB 1982-1/10/1984 when Mr. Bernard Solly took over(ED). He was replaced in March, 1993 by Steven Whittle a former TV enquiry officer. By 1999 the second general stores in the village closed helping to boost sales and allow transfer of off license. (W) In December, 2007 the office was earmarked for closure with an outreach replacement service as part of the 2,500-closure programme.

Info from (ED) Mrs Elsie Dickinson and shop asst. (W) S. Whittle

INGOLDMELLS

POPULATION 1921 262

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Skegness B. Pimperton Grocer, Draper. (D)

The Pimpertons are thought to have operated the Post Office for at least three generations. The original door was into the High Street. They were probably still in charge in 1969. John Pimperton who was also a Methodist Minister may have been the final appointee. Derrick Butler was Subpostmaster and probably followed the Pimpertons. He also owned Seathorne Skegness Post Office. MVL discs were issued at this office probably prior to 1970. Ann Ward took over as Subpostmistress assisted by her husband Brian. They extended the shop but retained the existing entrance. They also took on a Mace franchise. In 1983 John Banks was appointed Subpostmaster and ran it with his wife Barbara. The altered the franchise to Spar. Later they extended the shop further north to it's present size with the main entrance door facing east. Half day closing was Wednesday. A lottery scratchcard verification machine was fittted at the outset of the National Lottery but six months after launch the full lottery was installed. In October, 2006 they sold to Sanjit Singh known as Sunny. He introduced a Premier franchise and was asked to open on Wednesday afternoon. He installed an Alliance and Leicester external ATM by closing the corner High Street Door and also building an office in the area. Late in 2007 Sanjit was suspended from the Post Office and New Rose Personnel took over the operation from 21st January, 2008. (B) A two position office with three horizon terminals is operated. The usage is very seasonal with a large influx of holiday makers to the various caravan sites etc and Butlins in the summer months.

Information: Barbara Banks (B), Own information, P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (D).

INGOLDSBY

POPULATION 1921 239

According to Post Office records the office opened on 5th September, 1846 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied.  Mail was received from and delivered to Falkingham. The 1849 P.O. Business Directory list a Post Office offering basic services with  J. Mallard as receiver. By 1855 Grantham replaced Falkingham as the mail delivery office and J. Alexander had replaced Mallard. Between 1861 and 1868 T. Richardson replaced him. By 1872 R. Sutton had been appointed Subpostmaster and was also tailor, draper and parish clerk.  By 1876 John Sutton (R’s son?) had taken over as tailor and draper.  The 1876 P.O. Business Directory and the 1885 Kelly’s Directory both list Mrs. Ann Sutton as receiver/Subpostmistress.  The 1882 White’s Directory lists John as running the Post Office.  The likely explanation is that he ran the business but Ann ran the Post Office.  A rubber datestamp was supplied to the office in 1886.  This would have been used to daterstamp postal orders on issue and the 1892 Directory confirmed this service.  From 1st February, 1901 the range of services was extended as the office was authorised to conduct Money Order and Savings Bank Business. This would have included Annuity and Insurance Business and the 1905 Directory also specifically mentions parcel post.

An elderly resident - Mrs E. Clark (born 1895) remembers when she was young the Post Office was sited in Back lane. Two shops adjoined, one the bakers and one the tailors. Mr. and Mrs Bartle had the bakers and are thought to have run the P.O. Mr. Sutton was a learned man, a Clerk of Works and employed 3 tailors. His speciality was hunting clothes. Mrs. Sutton was unstable in her later years and although Mrs. Clark’s aunt closed her in the back door she managed to leave by the front. She was found frozen to death in a dyke. Miss Bartle daughter of Mrs & Mrs. Bartle and niece of Mr. & Mrs. Sutton eventually became the SPM at the site of the tailors. She was Subpostmistress by 1910 (C). The Business Directories confirm that a Miss E. Bartle was appointed between 1901 and 1905 (D).  She was there many years until she died (C). The Directories list her in 1926 but the 1930 to 1937 Directories do not list a specific person so there was probably a new Subpostmaster by then.  By 1937 a Telephone Call facility had been installed. (D).  A hut for postman from Grantham was provided to enable them to wait in the Rectory yard. Mrs. Clark remembered walking with her aunt who was a post lady on the round to Hanby and Hunby. Some of the letters were sorted out at Hunby Hall. Another round went to Lenton. The rounds (crossed/finished?) at some point and she remembers a stone would be left on the fence to let the other know they had got there and not to wait if the other had been late. Mr. Britain took over from Miss Bartle at Back Lane but then moved P.O. to present general stores site in East End. Mr. Park who had a smaller shop in a tin shed adjacent to the garage then did a swap with Mr. Britain and the P.O. moved there. Mrs. Daisy Britain who mainly ran the P.O. was dismissed c1937 following irregularities and a police/audit enquiry ("The pitcher going to the well was broken".) The village had thought something was amiss some time prior to that as people would send money in envelopes that Mrs. Britain knew about and it failed to reach the destination. P.O. staff  were then sent from Grantham to cover for 3-4 months. Mr. Park was not interested in running the P.O. but fortunately was on the point of selling the general stores. Mr. Brocket bought it and agreed to move the P.O. back to its present site. He was Subpostmaster from c1938-c1949/1952(1956?). Then Mr. Finch succeeded him and ran P.O. for c16 years. Mr. Stanley Bath was appointed Subpostmaster in October 1970 and together with his wife  run the P.O. and general stores since then. Mr. Bath came from a retail family and they had had considerable retail experience owning a "Beer Out" in Nottinghamshire for ten years prior. Their experience shows, as an impressive stock is held and all cleverly displayed. Neat bundles of packs of firewood. A pile of boxes of tea from counter to ceiling with the quip "This tea is so strong it holds the roof up". People come in and are bedazzled by the vast range of items on show, the cans of soft drink for example looked unusual and exotic. A traditional counter serving arrangement is maintained like an old fashioned shop but one to appeal to people who enter. A full Cash Account P.O. is operated closing Thursday pm. Mail work was conducted to c1985 with Mr. Bath doing the village round and a girl doing a cycle round to the outlying areas of Lenton, Hanby and Humby. New HPM at Grantham "motorisation mad" and swept all the village rounds away. Used to empty the telephone box. Customers come as much from out of the village as the village itself. The village is a closely interrelated one an even after 20 years they still feel outsiders. The village for its part had seen people buy up the P. O. make their money out of the villagers and then go. At least one villager boasts not having needed to enter the P.O. for 30 years and despite being ill and unable to go far has no intention of starting now. Delivering the mail wasn't easy with many names the same. Mr. Bath clearly remembers even brother and sister living opposite would bring mail back to the P.O. for delivery the next day rather than put it through the correct door. Counting out the pensions has also not been without its pitfalls. One man busily talking to Mr. Bath's young granddaughter had his money counted out to him and then unknown to either dropped £20 on the floor which his son later found. The man though later came rushing back in insisting he had been paid short. Another lady rang up furious that she had been paid short, later found £2 in the lining of her coat. Like all village shops and Post Offices the loss of mailwork and the abolition of resale price maintenance/growth of the supermarket has made trading conditions more difficult. As Mrs. Baths says at one time your personality and ability to sell counted far more in determining where people shopped, now it is mainly determined by price. Mr. Bath hoped that the Poll Tax would bring increased business but the local council spent £60,000 on a security van, which comes to the village once a month to collect it (B). I visited in August, 1990.  Alas trading conditions probably worsened as the office closed on 4th July, 1991.

 Mrs. Clark had postmarks of INGOLDSBY GRANTHAM (normal S/R) dated between 1905 and 1916 timed 4.30pm stamp cancelled at Grantham 6.30pm.

 

Information: S. Bath (B), E. Clarke (C), own information, P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith (D).

 

IRBY

POPULATION 1921 119

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Burgh J.Jackson Grocer

Mr. C. M. Webbe Subpostmaster. Community office situated in village shop and model kit makers and moulders Post office at this site since before 1939, shop on this site since before 1889 was also a wheel wrights and undertakers, date stamp at least pre 1957 not a mail office, mail from Burgh. contact Mr. Jackson white house 2 from P.O., (W) Then Mrs. Catherine Heywood appointed and ran the business as a stores. Business became run down with little on the shelves. In January, 1995 the Post Office closed the post office when it was found that £7,000 was unaccounted for and Mrs. Heywood was given a prison sentence. The Post Office was closed from January to April but was then reopened with Mrs. Atkinson running it in the hope that the Post Office would allow Mrs. Heywood to continue to be responsible for it. While Mrs. Atkinson was being trained hardly any Post Office customers were coming in so it was difficult to train her. The Post Office was closed in June and transferred to Thorpe St. Peter.(TA)

info TA T. Atkinson

IRNHAM

POPULATION 1921 276

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. S. Healey receiver at “Cliffords Arms” Mail from Colsterworth, received 11.00am, dispatched 3.00pm.

Post office probably on same site all through it's history, certainly there before 1914. Situated in a small estate village owned by Sir Simon Benton Jones.(B) In 1920 Mrs. Crowson Subpostmistress, may have been preceded by Cox family. (P). By 1933 her brother in law H. Salmon had been appointed and was also Shopkeeper. (D) His wife Mrs. Salmon acted as Subpostmistress and continued until c1960. Mr. Harry Salmon her husband delivered mail by bicycle.(P) Jim Baxter Subpostmaster from c1960 until he died in 1965 to be replaced by his wife Betty. Betty away for a couple of weeks when we visited in May 1991. As only about 10 pensions and 4 allowances paid, office only opened on Thursday morning 'by local arrangement'. Mrs. Dorothy Pell comes to serve. She used to deliver the mail in the village and to the outlying farms for 25 years, until it ceased c1987 (see Grantham Gazette?). There used to also be a shop in the P.O. but this closed about 1989. Postbox is unusual as it has no cipher and is just a lockable metal door set in the wall. There used to be a phonebox outside the P.O. but Baxters had it moved away.(B)

Information from Phillip Baxter, Mrs. Peasgood.

KEADBY

POPULATION 1921 681

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office Letters From Scunthorpe owned by  P.Snow J.P. Stationer

An early site for the Post Office was in a yard at the riverside.  It was a small premises and Mr. & Mrs. Joe Pont ran it. The office then moved to a stand-alone lock up site at Lock Hill, Trent Side, in front of the Barge Public House.  This site is on the west side of the road just north of the waterway lock. Mr. Harry Bansal, an Asian gentleman, fond of cricket, was appointed Subpostmaster there c1993.  Christine Smith was appointed in August, 1999. Her husband and daughter assist her. In June, 2003 the Post Office was moved to a newsagents shop she had taken over at 49 Station Road.  This site is on the west side of the road but more in the centre of the village. The current site comprises a newsagents and convenience store with an internal ATM machine.  A two-position counter is provided in the rear S.W. corner. A normal range of P.O. services are provided, though Christine was surprised that the Travel Insurance facility was withdrawn from the office and that in February, 2004 she was not one of the additional offices selected for MVL work. North Lincs. Homecare stamps were withdrawn in April, 2004. Two SID datestamps were purchased in 2001.

Information Christine Smith

 

KEAL COATES

POPULATION see West Keal

The 1872 Whites Directory list a post office with the Subpostmaster as Mr. English Rhodes Shaw who was also a grocer, draper, wine, seed and oil merchant Mail is shown as being delivered from Boston. The office may have been transferred from West Keal.  Official records show the office as being opened in 1877 with mail being delivered from Spilsby.  However, again the 1876 directory also agrees with the 1872 Directory that a Post Office existed at Mr. Shaws shop prior to that date, with the business being that of a grocer and agent for W. A. Gilbey wine and spirit merchants.  However. By 1882 the office was being run by Mrs. Lavina Shaw who may have been his widow, though she did run the office for many years. In 1893 a rubber datestamp was provided probably to datestamp postal orders issued at the office.  The Directory of 1896 mentions this service being available.(D) Mrs. Ball thought the premises in use in the 1990’s had been built c1895.(B) It has a Victorian letter box so whether a new building was built on the existing site or the office was moved I am not sure.(AR) By 1905 Postal orders could also be paid as well as issued.  Between 1922 and 1926 Fred Shaw who was also a grocer was appointed, possibly Lavina’s son.  The Shaw family continued to run it for many years with the business still trading as a grocers. By 1933 a Telephone has been provided TN E. Kirkby 201. (D) Official records show that the office closed between 1939 and 1941 and reopened in 1947 (P).  Possibly the shop continued but Fred fought in the war as Mrs Ball thought the Shaw’s ran it, possibly from opening to c1975. Not sure who followed them but Mr. Allum was Subpostmaster 1986-c1988 then Mrs Ball c1988-. Mrs. Ball has old photos. (B) By 1995 the office had closed but then reopened on 15th April, 1996 (D) in a private house further south but on the same side of the road.  Later the office was again moved to the public house.

Information (D P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (AR) Andrew Reynolds,  (B) Mrs. Ball, (P) Post Office Circular 9/7/1947,

 

KEELBY

POPULATION  1841 713 1851 859, 1861 842, 1871 837, 1881 742, 1891 702, 1901 658, 1911 667, 1921 635, 1931 674,

The Post office probably opened on 16th December, 1847 when an undated circular datestamp was supplied. The 1849 - P.O. Directory lists a receiving house run by Mrs. S. Gibson who was also a shopkeeper. Mail was delivered from Grimsby  From 6th October, 1851 this was altered to Ulceby. Between 1856 and 1861 William Wright replaced Mrs. Gibson.  He was also a shoemaker so the location of the office may also have changed. By 1872 he had been replaced by William Wright Junior, presumably his son. Like senior he was also a shoemaker and senior appears to have continued to be involved with the business.  The post office and shoemaking business probably needed two people involved by then as on 1st December, 1874 the range of services was extended to include Money Order and Savings Bank business.  The range was further extended when a telegraph was installed on 7th December, 1886 (Code KLB) and in common with other Savings Bank Offices Annuity and Insurance business was conducted by 1889. By 1892 W. Wright senior was no longer listed and on 1st July of that year the despatch for mail to Keelby was altered to Brocklesby. By 1896 in common with other Telegraph offices Telegraph Money Orders and Express Delivery was also offered. By 1905 the business was listed as a Post Office only and between 1905 and 1909 William Wright was succeeded by William Borrill.  He was listed as Subpostmaster until 1926 but the 1930 Directory does not mention anybody specific. From 1st December, 1922 the despatch for mail to Keelby was again altered, this time to Habrough (D).

The office was located on the west side of South Street, 3 buildings North of King Street. The location has also been described as the second house to west opposite Spar shop.   The office later moved c1935 to the S.W. side of Yarborough Road opposite Roxton Avenue (AR).

Originally Post Office was in South Street but moved to Yarborough  House, Yarborough Road when Mr. Borrill died, the daughter did not want to carry on with it so it was taken over by Mr. & Mrs. Brown in 1937. They turned their kitchen into the Post Office being lucky enough to buy a lot of equipment from an office that was closing down in Brigg – counter, grills and all the lot.  Browns had the office right through the war.  They had a telephone switchboard and they had an awful time.  There weren’t many telephones but the army was here and so they had to take it in turns with one upstairs in bed and the other lying downstairs ready to see to the switchboard.  They really never got their rest. We took over the Post Office in 1951.  There were two postmen.  The main one was Mr. Lofus.  He used to have to go at 6 o’clock to Habrough to collect the mail.  Then it was brought back to the office and sorted. My husband, Will and Mr. Lofus used to do the deliveries and then in the afternoon the postman from Habrough used to bring a delivery but he only did the main streets – Yarborough Road and South Street.  He didn’t go anywhere else.  There were always a lot of pensioners and also a lot of children in Keelby so although it was a small village it was a busy office.  We used to take all the telegrams which were numerous in those days.  On Wednesday Limber closed their office so we used to have to take the telegrams to Limber and the surrounding places by bicycle.  On Saturday afternoon Limber used to deliver ours.  In those days the Subpostmaster was something of a king-pin in the village.  If anyone wanted to make wills or wanted any sound advice they used to come to my husband (Edna Hughes)(C).

 

Between 1952 and 1954 mail started to be delivered from Grimsby (D).  Later the office was just in sorting office part of current site (by 2003 this had been converted into a lounge). By the 1980 3 rounds were still delivered within the parish boundaries, Mr. Cook was Subpostmaster in 1986.  Mailwork ceased between 1986 and 1999. At least one other appointee before Ian Greenwood became Subpostmaster by 1999 to by 23rd January, 2002. Kate Drury Subpostmistress until 2004 with her husband Keith.  Both have owned businesses in the past and Kate has had banking experience. Two position office including DVLA work, also sells greetings cards and stationery. (AR) Betsy and her husband were then appointed. They were replaced in July, 2008 by Paul Davies assisted by his wife Clare. Sadly Betsy died of cancer not long after the office was transferred. Paul and Clare formerly worked for Royal Mail in Swindon.

Information: (D P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. (AR) Andrew Reynolds,  (C) Edna Chapman born 1915 Keelby Remembers.

 

KELSTERN

POPULATION 1921 165

According to Post Office records this office opened in 1898 and a rubber datstamp was supplied to the office in 1899. This was probably to enable Postal Orders issued at the office to be datestamped. The 1900 Directory list a basic Post Office with William Rowe as Subpostmaster, wheelwright and shopkeeper.  Mail was received from and dispatched to Louth. By 1905 Rowe had been replaced by Roger Smithson who had the same business, presumably at the same location.  In common with other offices by 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and paid. By 1919 Smithson was also offering a carrier service to Louth on Wednesday’s. By 1922 Sidney Ward had been appointed, he was just listed and Subpostmaster and Grocer.  In turn by 1926 he was replaced by Harry Wright.  The 1930 directory list him as Subpostmaster but the1933 and 1937 editions just mention him as a grocer although he was almost certainly also still Subpostmaster. By 1937 a telephone Call Facility had been installed. I am not sure if Harry continued to 1948 or whether someone else was appointed.

 

The final and probably only site was at the post box in the nearside of two cottages, now converted into one house. Mrs. Rands was the last Subpostmistress did the normal basic services. She was appointed by 1948. The Post Office closed on 20th January, 1971.  Mrs. Rands didn't like the idea of running a P.O. using decimal currency.

KEXBY (Upton Parish)

POPULATION 1831 227, 1841 269, 1851 323, 1861, 272, 1871 301, 1881 324, 1891 314, 1901 300, 1911 325, 1921 320, 1931 283,

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

By 1882 P.O. sited in the existing grocer business of John Gibson (Bros) (no mention of Bros in 1885). Mail from Gainsborough in at 9.00 (10.10 by 1885) and out at 4.20 (3.15 by 1885 and described as week days only). By 1889 P.O. run by Westoby Platt Shopkeeper and Subpostmaster. By 1900 Post Telegraph and Express Delivery Office services offered, mail in at 8.35 and out at 5.10 WDO. By 1905 Postal Orders could be issued and cashed here. Mail now in at 8.15. By 1909 Mr. Jonn William Curtis Subpostmaster and shopkeeper - probably taking over on existing site from Mr. Platt (not listed). P.O. was located at two sites in Westgate. Earlier site in stone building, there in Edwardian times and then moved about 2 buildings west to brick house where shop fitted into west end. Mail times altered by 1913 to 8.05 in and 5.15 out WDO. By 1919 Telephone call facility installed. P.O. & TEL office c1920-1960 run by Curtis Family. (HJ). By 1922 Post Telegraph and Telegraphic Express Delivery Office (available for calls to places with a limited distance). By 1930 John's sons involved in the business and by 1933 William Marshall Curtis had taken over as Subpostmaster. Then Dixons took over. (HJ)( after 1937). Dixons was grocers then Mary Mann took over and P.O. only. She just decided to pack it up closed c1980 (CS Upton) Thus the larger village in the parish with the more extensive post office service eventually ended up with no service at all.

INFO (HJ) - Harold Jubbs &(CS) Upton

KINGERBY

1844-1857

 

KIRKBY-CUM-OSGODBY See Osgodby

 

KIRKBY LAYTHORPE/KIRKBY-LA-THORPE

POPULATION  1841 213, 1851 235, 1861, 208, 1871 230, 1881 256, 1891 257, 1901 234, 1911 229/292*, 1921 228/294*, 1931 206/295*,  *ecclesiastical includes Asgarby and part of Howell

 

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1869 as “Kirkby Laythorpe”.  Mail was received from and delivered to Sleaford. Kelly’s Directory of 1872 list a Post Office offering basic services being run by an existing blacksmith Mr. John Thomas Knight.  By 1882 an existing shoe and boot maker Mr. William Johnson  had been appointed as Subpostmaster.  Knight though continued as a blacksmith.  The office probably moved location on takeover. By 1889 the Official Post Office Guide lists the office as “Kirkby-La-Thorpe”. Between 1885 and 1889 Johnson was replaced as Receiver and shoemaker by William Coxell; probably at the same location. The 1892 White’s Directory lists him as William Frederick Coxell but by then Subpostmaster only with a W. Connel now the shoemaker. In 1899 a rubber datestamp was supplied  probably to issue Postal Orders which could now be sold at the office. By 1905 as with most office orders could be issued and paid. By 1913 Mrs Mary Ann Coxell had been appointed Subpostmistress. Presumably the widow of William?

 

Between 1919 and 1922 Miss Sarah Ellen Twells replaced her as Subpostmistress.  She was the daughter of Charles Twells who was an agricultural implement maker so possible the Post Office moved back to the original site? By 1933 a Telephone Call Office facility had been installed and the1937 Kelly’s lists Mrs Sarah.Ellen Twell (error for Twells?) as Subpostmistress and Grocer. Not sure if there was a further change of hands before Mrs. Ransome or if Twells Office was located in Church Lane (D).

 

Local residents remembered that the Post Office had been sited in Church Lane for many years (C.W). Mrs. Ransome was Subpostmaster in 1962, later dying in service. Mrs. Christine (F) Tutty then took over until she too died in service (C). She was Subpostmistress in March 1965(P). Shirley Britton then became Subpostmistress c1985. She had formerly been a GPO telephonist (C). Her husband was a postman. Shop declined somewhat during her time there. Mrs. Britton was Subpostmistress for 12-13 years (F) (1978- 1990??). Mrs. Annette Frost Subpostmistress for c18 months

 

Mrs. Pearl Watkins Subpostmistress from April, 1991. Community Cash Account office open 9.30-12.30 MON, TUE, THUR and actually open 9.30-5.30. Shop trades as a general stores, the shop area is small but it is well stocked and Pearl has resisted the temptation to knock walls down and fit larger front windows(W). The building therefore has retained it's character and the Post Office has much charm (D). The building is listed and unusually for a rural P.O. has been a lock-up for many years, the adjacent cottage having the use of the bedroom above the shop. Premises are leased from Bristol Estates the old Directories refer to the Marquis of Bristol (C). Most of the previous Subpostmistresses have lived elsewhere in the village and Mrs. Watkins travels each day from nearby Cranwell. This is not usually a problem except in bad weather, though she clearly remembered one day being unavoidably delayed by unexpected road works and though only a few minutes late was greeted by an irate lady waiting to draw her family allowance! (W)

Information P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith and own information (D). Mrs. Carroll (C) Mrs. Gilda Panton (P), Mrs. Fielder (F)  Mrs. Watkins (W),

KIRKBY-ON-BAIN

A HISTORY OF KIRKBY-ON-BAIN POST OFFICE

In the 18th Century such mail as would have been sent from Kirkby would have been handled at Horncastle, which had a Post Office in 1705. The introduction of the universal penny postage in 1840 resulted in a large increase in the number of letters sent and many more post offices were opened. Kirky-On-Bain was one of these and according to Post Office records the post office was opened about 1847 when an undated circular date stamp "KIRKBY" was issued to the office (see the accompanying letter sent in 1849). The level of activity at this time would have been low with the Receiver (Subpostmaster) at the office probably doing nothing more than accepting the mail when it arrived from Horncastle for later collection from the office by the villagers, and accepting mail from the villagers for stamps to be affixed if the letter was prepaid.

The parish of Kirkby-On-Bain is really two separate areas. Kirkby itself and Tumby separated from Kirkby by the Old River Bain/Horncastle Canal. In 1841 the population of the parish was recorded as 680 people with 336 residents in Kirkby and 344 in Tumby. Postal-wise Tumby has always looked to Boston for it's mail services and the mail was handled from there. Although having as many people, Tumby has no central township and has never had a Post Office and has relied on Mareham le Fen, Coningsby and to a lesser extent Kirkby.

The first name that I can link with Kirkby Post Office is Joseph Holmes. According to the Post Office Directory (later Kelly's) he was Parish Clerk by 1867 and by 1868 the first directory entry shows him as the Parish Clerk and Receiver at the Post Office. Mail was then arriving at 11.30 a.m. and being dispatched at 2.45 p.m.(2.30 by 1872). By this time the mail would now be delivered to each home. An oddity in the Original Post Office listings of Post Offices is that Kirby was then referred to as "Kirkby-super-Bain" in both 1875 and 1878. Mr. Holmes was replaced by 1882 by Robert Marshall who was listed as a joiner, wheelwright, grocer and Subpostmaster. Mail now arrived at 10.30 a.m.(11.00 c1885-92). Kirkby remained as just a Post Office and did not take on any of the other services such as the Savings Bank, Money Orders and Telegraph, now offered by many offices. In 1881 Postal Orders were introduced and in 1883 the inland Parcels Post Service was commenced and Kirkby would have been included in the scheme. Some alteration to the facilities may have been necessary and parcel scales would probably have been provided. The business directories only refer to Kirkby issuing postal orders by 1900 and both issuing and paying them by 1905.

The coming of the railways or the growth of Woodhall Spa as a town (possibly both) eventually resulted in the mail arriving from Lincoln rather than Horncastle. By 1899 mail arrived at 9.20 a.m. and was dispatched at 10.30 a.m. and 2.40 p.m.. It also states week days only (i.e. not Sunday) which may indicate that until that time mail was handled daily. Robert was not the only Marshall in Kirkby as there was also a John Marshall. He is listed as being a Grocer draper and carrier. He possibly operated from the same site as the post office and was a close relative of Robert who as he got older passed on some of his activities to his younger brother or son? Mrs. Underwood could remember that the Post Office was sited in a red tiled cottage to the north of present site. She was told it was there by 1908 and the business directories confirm the Post Office changed hands by 1905 but probably before. Two cottages together are now known as East and West Cottages, the P.O. was in the East one. At that time it was known as Glebe Farm. The Subpostmaster was William Roberts Marshall "Billy Bob". His business is listed as a farmer and Post Office and mail arrived at 8.30 a.m. and dispatched at 10.30 a.m and 5.05 p.m.. What relation he was to Robert and John Marshall I am not sure but it was probably close. By 1915 Woodhall Spa has grown to the extent that it was given Post Town status and about that time took over the responsibility for dispatching the mail to Kirkby. Once it arrived Mrs. Marshall did the post round with her dog Rover. She used to come to the back door of the present P.O. house but the cat used to chase the dog out so in the end letters were delivered through the front window. Mr. Herbert Charles Leach, listed as a shopkeeper and Post Office in 1933 became Subpostmaster c1929. Mrs. Leach though ran the business from East Cottage for a while before moving it to the house on the corner, a bit further up the road, now called Middlebrook House. By 1937 in common with many offices the office was provided with a public telephone and was reclassified as a Post Office and Telephone Call Office.

The village was blitzed during the war and the Post Office and Wesleyan Chapel were bombed. Mrs. Leach received a shrapnel wound in her right arm in May 1941 and was taken to hospital. Miss Phylis May Spikings (later Mrs. Underwood) took over. It is not certain when Kirkby started doing Savings Bank transactions. It did not appear to be in 1937 so it may have commenced as part of the war effort. From 1941-1946 the P.O. was in the front room of Lockwoods Farm. Miss Spikings became Sub- postmistress in June 1945 when it was clear Mrs. Leach would be not be resuming her duties. Miss Spikings married Mr. Underwood, a pig farmer, and the P.O. moved to his lifetime home at the present site. The salary in 1941 was £4 3s. 4d. per calendar month. The Post Office was in a lean-to at the back of the house. Mrs. Underwood started to sell groceries etc.. In 1960 an extension was built to the house comprising a purpose built shop & P.O., rear living room and two upper bedrooms. The council insisted that a small porch be provided with an exterior door to separate the P.O. from the living room. Needless to say the outside porch door is no longer used. Mail work was conducted from the office until c1971. Mrs. Underwood used to employ a girl in the Post Office and do the round herself. A uniform was provided and the p/t round was from 8.00-10.30 a.m. delivering mail on a bicycle to the outlying farms. She also used to clean and empty the telephone box outside the Post Office and at Roughton. After the mail work was withdrawn to Woodhall, she continued to work p/t at Woodhall Spa. Mr. Underwood, a man of jovial personality and liking a leg pull, always helped with the balance and since he passed on his pig farm at 80 to his two sons had helped more with the P.O. If not a memory for names he had a excellent memory for figures and can remember what people's pensions are without looking at the book. In the late 1960's the office was included in the National Girobank network, the first major change to the services offered by the office for many years. The current date stamp was made in 1976 replacing one of 1930's vintage. Prior to the Sheffield era Kirkby looked to Lincoln for REM requirements and Grimsby for value stock needs. When I spoke to Mr. and Mrs. Underwood in April, 1991 they were getting ready for their "surprise" party in the village to commemorate Mrs. U's 50 years of P.O. work. Sadly Mr. Underwood died in September, 1991 no long after completing the balance. By 1997 Mrs. Underwood has reached another milestone having been a Subpostmistress for over 50 years. She retired on Friday 30th May, 1997 and the office was "temporarily" closed.

Mr. U did though have to ask his wife for some more pocket money one day and his docket got left in the book. Jokingly Mr. U. feels his wife paid the money and should have taken the docket and Mrs. U. feels he should have taken the docket out before starting to pay the money! Girobank office, mail comes form Woodhall Spa, cash from Lincoln, stock from Grimsby and Stores from Sheffield.

KIRKBY UNDERWOOD

POPULATION 1921 129

According to Post Office records the office opened in 1883.  Mail was received from and delivered to Bourne.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office Letters From Bourne Miss M. Marshall Shopkeeper

The office was sited in one storey cottage (demolished) on E. side of Aslackby Road. Then it moved to be sited in 3 Tuns and Stainfield Road. It then moved to a shack at W. end of a row of 4 bungalows to S.E. of 3 Tuns. The closed about 1979, having been finally moved to a house now called the Old Post office to S.W. of site of 3 Tuns P.H.. 

KIRKSTEAD

Mailwork transferred to Woodhall Spa (HB Tattershall)

KIRMINGTON

POPULATION  1851 379, 1861 405, 1871 419, 1881 401, 1891 427, 1901 420, 1911 377, 1921 391, 1931 393,

The office is thought not to have opened until 1886 which is late compared with many other villages of this size. A rubber date stamp was provided in 1888 probably to issue Postal Orders. The Kelly’s of 1889 records that an existing grocer, draper, chemist and druggist had been appointed as Subpostmaster. Mail was delivered from Ulceby and Postal Orders could be issued. By 1892 the office had moved from Ransome’s to Mr. Joseph Blanchard’s Tailor’s shop. From1st July, 1892 mail was delivered from Brocklesby. 

From 9th May, 1899 a Telegraph was provided (Code KRM) and from 2nd October, 1899 the office was further upgraded to a Savings Bank and Money Order Office. By 1900 Thomas Beverley  had been appointed Subpostmaster.  He was also listed as a bricklayer.  The services offered were Post, Money Order, Telegraph, Telegraph Money Order, Express Delivery, Parcel Post, Savings Bank and Annuity and Insurance.  By 1905 Thomas was listed as a bricklayer but the Subpostmaster was Edwin (his son or brother?) who was also listed as a bricklayer.  Presumably the female part of the family actually operated the office.

By 1919 the job had passed to Frederick E. Cross who was a Subpostmaster and grocer.  Presumably this meant a move to a new site but possibly also back to the original site.  This site is thought to be the final site of the Post Office.. From 1st December, 1922 mail was again delivered from Ulceby.  By 1926 a telephone had been provided TN1.  Mr. Cross continued until at least 1933.

The Subpostmistress was suffering from illness when I visited in the early 1990’s. The office closed on 12th November, 1997.(AR)

Information: P.O., Whites and Kelly's Directories, P.O. records via Ken Smith. AR Andrew Reynolds, 

KIRTON

POPULATION 1921 2,700

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. R. Dickenson receiver, grocer and draper. Mail from Boston, received ? dispatched ?

Present site built in 1904 as a post office. It was on main road opposite church prior to that.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. Letters From Boston. Owner not listed

P.O. business only with MVL. Full datestamping mail office to December, 1985. 3 postmen delivering in village and Kirton End, wall postbox into sorting office replaced by freestanding QEII box when sorting ceased. Office probably changed hands in 1992.

KIRTON END

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

Closed May 1989, community office for one year in the one village shop. Situated in centre of village opposite telephone box quite a few years at last site.

KIRTON HOLME

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post & Tel Call Office. Letters From Boston Via Kirton. Owner not listed.

Present site was a blacksmiths and Public House, 'The Nags Head'. Became the post office in 1957 owner thought that at that time there were only two P.H.'s with S.P.S.O's. in the country. When husband died Postmistress also became the publican and had to run post office and general stores. Now pub closed, shop sells sweets and packet groceries and is a community office open five mornings per week. Mailwork office to c1985, one lady postman delivering in village. Originally mail had to be picked up in Kirton by bicycle. current site in Kirton End Road at south west corner of T junction in village. Former site in end house of row at northeast arm of T junction. prior to that in demolished cottage in road going east out of village,

KIRTON LINDSEY

POPULATION 1921 1,651

According to Post Office records the office opened in.  Mail was received from and delivered to

(OB459 KIRTON-IN-LINDSEY KIRTON-LINDSAY 1874)

1849 Post Office Directory P.O. J. From Postmaster, The Green, letters from the S. via Lincoln in 9.00am out 4.00pm. letters from North in 6.00pm out 7.00am. Letters forwarded by messenger to Messingham, Scotter and Scotton at 9am.

1933 Kelly’s lists a Post, M.O., T. & T.E.D. Office. Owner not listed.

Mr. O. Moore's (Willoughton) father was Subpostmaster until he died then Robin (nickname) brother or Ormund took over. He was Subpostmaster until c1978. 2 Owners since then(M) Mailwork office, Mr. A. Vaux Subpostmaster in 1992 (AR)

info Moore Willoughton (M)

BELOW HILL

March Street/TORKSEY STREET Kirton Lindsey

Originally sited at the corner of Torksey St. and St. Andrews St. opposite the church, now Perres shop. Sited there on 11/5/1928, moved c1940-1945. Two post offices in town because of steep hill. Temporarily closed 8.8.89, On this site by 1955. Post office with cards only at end, had been a grocers shop until c1981/1982. Had been a drapers and seed merchants before P.O. sited there .

Knaith Park - had a post office when?

KNIPTON (Leics)

Go to letter L

Email to SONIA-AND-ANDREW-REYNOLDS@bigfoot.com

return to start

or Royal mail contact address

return to address.